? 6/10/2015 Dino AMPS=248 /PMPS=330.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here is a link to your previous post, so people can go back to look at it if necessary


If I had to guess, I would say that Dino is bouncing from the low numbers he has had the past few days.....when a cat is diabetic, they get used to having the higher numbers. When they start having lower numbers their body is not used to that so it panics and releases "stuff" (others know the more technical terms), that shoots their numbers up. The more time Dino spends in lower numbers, he will get used to it and then ideally not bounce as much......
 
It's possible he went low again today on the AM dose which caused him to "bounce" tonight...Bouncing happens for several reasons, like getting a number that's too low (like the 28 and 49 he's gotten the last couple of AM cycles) which causes the liver to release stored sugar and hormones to bring them back up to a safer number. Also just going lower than the cat is used to being at can trigger a bounce. The 3rd reason is if they drop quickly....like over 50 points an hour is too fast of a drop and can trigger a bounce.

What concerns me is that you shot the 1U tonight...1U already took him into the 20's once and the 40's once so it's probably too much insulin for him. You need to drop him back to at least .75 and HOLD that dose for at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless he drops below 50 again which would mean he may need another reduction.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, so it's important not to react to a high Pre-shot and give more just because of it

It's also important for you to get at least a "before bed" test every night. Most cats do go lower at night, so getting that test before bed can let you know if it's safe to go to sleep or if you need to set an alarm and get up again to get another test in.
 
I see you shot 1 unit tonight. Please go back to .75 units tomorrow. The 1 unit dose got Dino into some low numbers and we dose Lantus on how low the dose cat take the kitty. A reminder from what Julie said in your previous post:
While you're right that high numbers are a concern, low numbers are the most important numbers. Lantus dosing is based upon how LOW the dose can cause the cat to go. So you don't want to repeat a dose that gets a cat under 50 - not a newly diagnosed cat like Dino, at least.

Try to ignore those high numbers you see at preshot. As Molly said, this is probably a bounce which is a temporary condition.
 
I see you shot 1 unit tonight. Please go back to .75 units tomorrow. The 1 unit dose got Dino into some low numbers and we dose Lantus on how low the dose cat take the kitty. A reminder from what Julie said in your previous post:


Try to ignore those high numbers you see at preshot. As Molly said, this is probably a bounce which is a temporary condition.
Alright, I'll go back to the lower dose. Thank you for your feedback.
 
It's possible he went low again today on the AM dose which caused him to "bounce" tonight...Bouncing happens for several reasons, like getting a number that's too low (like the 28 and 49 he's gotten the last couple of AM cycles) which causes the liver to release stored sugar and hormones to bring them back up to a safer number. Also just going lower than the cat is used to being at can trigger a bounce. The 3rd reason is if they drop quickly....like over 50 points an hour is too fast of a drop and can trigger a bounce.

What concerns me is that you shot the 1U tonight...1U already took him into the 20's once and the 40's once so it's probably too much insulin for him. You need to drop him back to at least .75 and HOLD that dose for at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless he drops below 50 again which would mean he may need another reduction.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, so it's important not to react to a high Pre-shot and give more just because of it

It's also important for you to get at least a "before bed" test every night. Most cats do go lower at night, so getting that test before bed can let you know if it's safe to go to sleep or if you need to set an alarm and get up again to get another test in.
China is so cute. ❤️
 
I suggest you set an alarm and get a +6 or +7.... see how it's going ....
just in case Dino decides to drop low again so soon, better that you catch it and give him food.
 
It's possible he went low again today on the AM dose which caused him to "bounce" tonight...Bouncing happens for several reasons, like getting a number that's too low (like the 28 and 49 he's gotten the last couple of AM cycles) which causes the liver to release stored sugar and hormones to bring them back up to a safer number. Also just going lower than the cat is used to being at can trigger a bounce. The 3rd reason is if they drop quickly....like over 50 points an hour is too fast of a drop and can trigger a bounce.

What concerns me is that you shot the 1U tonight...1U already took him into the 20's once and the 40's once so it's probably too much insulin for him. You need to drop him back to at least .75 and HOLD that dose for at least 3 days (6 cycles) unless he drops below 50 again which would mean he may need another reduction.

Lantus dosing is based on how LOW it takes them, so it's important not to react to a high Pre-shot and give more just because of it

It's also important for you to get at least a "before bed" test every night. Most cats do go lower at night, so getting that test before bed can let you know if it's safe to go to sleep or if you need to set an alarm and get up again to get another test in.
I just tested again at +3 and he is at 301. He's lower but still high. What should I do now?
 
he's not dropping too fast... that's nice. I would still set an alarm and try to get something like a +8.
The data is helpful as you learn his patterns. And that way you make sure he's still doing okay....
you can feed him anytime except try not to give anything 2 hours before test/shot time. A larger gap is okay.... but you want that preshot
test to not be a food influenced number.
 
he's not dropping too fast... that's nice. I would still set an alarm and try to get something like a +8.
The data is helpful as you learn his patterns. And that way you make sure he's still doing okay....
you can feed him anytime except try not to give anything 2 hours before test/shot time. A larger gap is okay.... but you want that preshot
test to not be a food influenced number.
Thank you. I'm so glad you're still up to help me. I will set the alarm.
 
I agree with Rhiannon....it looks like he's dropping slow enough to be safe overnight, but if you can grab a test overnight at any time, it'll really help

We think of our spreadsheets like a puzzle....If you only have the edges filled in, it's impossible to tell what the picture is, but if you have pieces (test results) sprinkled throughout, the picture becomes clearer
 
Unfortunately I slept through my alarm last night so no test. Tonight he's really high but I still only gave him .75 U. Hope that was OK.
 
I know what that's like....
I've taken to sleeping on the couch because I might get up from there..... but if I get in bed, I miss it all..... too comfy I guess.
 
I'd stick to .75U for at least 6 cycles, unless you spot something below 50. Getting a second test somewhere in the cycle will tell us how this dose is doing. He could be doing a little bouncing, that's OK.
 
there's a ton to learn about Feline Diabetes - fortunately, this site has a lot of information and people will help you find the information you need at the point where you need it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top