? 6/1 Walter AMPS 277, +3 275, +8 345 - Need help with vacation dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Sending lots of light and healing vines to @Lydia & Rosie & Basil(GA) and to everyone else that is going through a tough time and taking care of a sick loved one (2- and 4-legged). There has been so much sadness on the board lately that it is hard to even get upset about a vacation dosage. It doesn't mean that I am not worried about leaving Walter and the rest of my furry crew (and, trust me, I am), but it just puts things into perspective.

Thankfully, Walter has been doing very well lately. He is happy, active, has a great appetite and is a proud member of the CPC (anti-jinxes). So here are my thoughts for a vacation dosage:

1. I will be in Germany from Saturday, June 4 until Wednesday, June 15.

2. Even though his numbers have been a bit higher the last few days, he has surfed the 60s on this dose three days ago. I don't think he will need a drastic reduction, but I am planning on reducing him to 1U tomorrow.

3. My pet-sitter knows my animals well and will be hanging out with everyone for a few hours every day. She is able to test and give shots, but she would much prefer to not test constantly (and is still really nervous about hurting him). She will do the regular T/F/S routine in the AM and PM and feed mid-cycle snacks.

4. I was thinking of 150 as a no-shot number. If Walter is between 150 and 200 for a preshot, I will ask Linda to get a second test at +3 (and feed MC food if he has dropped below 80 by then).

Does that sounds like a realistic (and, most importantly, safe) plan? Linda can call/text me at any time if she has questions and she volunteers at the same shelter that I do, so she has plenty of experience taking care of animals (mostly dogs, but still). I also have two friends who are vet techs and they are my back-up (even though neither one knows much about diabetes).
 
It sounds like you have a good plan in place. I'm sure someone with more experience with vacation doses will let you know if they have any other ideas. I'm glad Walter is doing so well.
 
Even though his numbers have been a bit higher the last few days, he has surfed the 60s on this dose three days ago. I don't think he will need a drastic reduction, but I am planning on reducing him to 1U tomorrow.
Sounds pretty good to me too and like the idea of reducing him tomorrow. Walter likes to play tricks so it will be good to drain the depot a little ahead of time.
 
You are so right about putting everything in perspective when there are sick kitties and bean but that said, the safety of Walter while you are gone is a huge concern. Good luck with the vaca reducie. Your plan sounds like a safe one and I like the idea that your pet sitter will be there for mid-day and can grab a test for you.
 
Your plan is well thought out. I hope you have a great trip. Try not to worry. It sounds like your sitter will be just fine. I bet she even gets caught by the test bug.
 
Apparently, Walter has been following his condos and thought it would be funny to throw me a pink mid-cycle number as soon as I mentioned the reducie. :oops: Seriously, Walt? I was hoping for you to run a bit higher, but pinks sure aren't necessary at all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top