6/1 Simon PMPS 332

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday, Simon's numbers were actually pretty good for being on the prednisolone. He even saw some nice blues. My question is this: I have increased him by .25 since he first started on the pred a few days ago. If his BG continues to be HI or higher than normal, is it ok to increase his dose now rather than wait the 6 cycles? I know nothing about pred and how it fits in to the protocol but I am thinking that if after even 1 cycle he is still very high, I need to increase. I gave him a tiny bit more this morning (fat dose) and am going to recheck his BG before I go to work. I will also come back at lunch to check on him.

Simon got his B12 injection last night. He is still showing interest in everything and likes to snuggle and wants to go out on the front porch to check on the squirrels. His legs are the biggest problem. They are very weak and sometimes he has trouble standing and walking. DH and I carry him up and down the stairs although he still is able to do it on his own, but with trouble. He can also still go up and down the cat stairs onto the bed.

Hope everyone has a nice day. Will check back later on in the day.
 
A little lower before I have to walk out the door. I hate seeing HI because you don't have a clue what the number is. Now, I at least know he is in the 400's.
 
Morning Georgia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I too know little on the pred. I do believe it can cause higher BG's, but by what I have no clue. The HI's are so difficult. I still think I'd wait the 6 cycles. Does your vet support the use of R? Maybe that would help when numbers are so high? I was wondering too what Simon's potassium levels were. Mannie had rear leg issues too, he was very wobbly, with not alot of leg strength, his issues were related to low potassium. Once we corrected that things improved. I cannot remember if there was another known reason in Simony's case. I hope the B12 helps too, that too made a difference for Mannie.

Have a good day today, hope all goes well.
 
Unfortunately I don't know about the pred and fast-tracking increases either, but I'm glad Simon did come down from that HI. Sending prayers that he continues to feel better, and hugs for you, Georgia!
 
I think I would wait more than one cycle to increase but if he's above 300, you could either increase by 0.5u or increase after 4 cycles.
Liz
 
Ok, he is coming down a little.
Michelle, his potassium is ok so not sure what is up with the legs except that it is related to the probable intestinal lymphoma.
Liz, I will most likely wait another cycle or 2 unless this 321 is the lowest of the day.
 
I went up rather quickly (.25 U every 4 cycles) with Tarragon when he went on the prednisolone since I was worried about DKA. It is up to what you are comfortable with though. I knew Tarragon was going to be on it long term and was just getting over Pancreatitis and DKA at the time.
 
I would agree that you need to give it more than one cycle as it could still be settling in.....I know there has been a lot of talk about fast tracking lately, and I am pretty sure when they talk about that they are talking every 4 cycles as Melissa talked about....
 
Melissa and Molly, thanks for your replies. I will give this dose 4 cycles and will then increase. Like Tarragon, he is going to be on this long term.
 
Am really pleased to hear Simon is showing an interest in things again. Sorry to hear his back legs are still a problem. Does he have a nice warm bed? I bought Sheba a self warming bed when she was bad. It is a bed that has the space blanket in it and when the cat lies on it, it warms it up. Sheba loves hers.
 
Bron, Simon does have a self warming bed and he used to really love it. He rarely sits in it right now and prefers a regular kitty bed. It probably is because it is getting really hot and humid here and he seems like he feels warmer, although he does not have a temp.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top