6/1 - Shakespeare - Neg ketones!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Ok so I got a test in and he is Neg ketones...
I upped him to 1.5 yesterday...but I am not understanding his cycle
I have not done a full curve
But last night and today his +4 is higher than his AM andPM numbers?
Is that common for levemir
His amps was 356
+4 was 391
pmps - 376

hope all is well out there

Denise andShakes
 
Right now his numbers are basically flat. I wouldn't worry about a few points higher being significant right now. It's when you get 100s and PS and 300s in the middle that you have to look at what is going on.

Now, as you increase the dose, slowly, the whole curve should start to come down. At least that is the way it is supposed to work.
 
Hi Denise

I think you increased the dose too soon because of the fur shot. While it is good to be a little more aggressive with a kitty who is moving from one insulin to another (e.g. I would have increased his dose by .5u after four consecutive cycles at 1u if his nadirs were greater than 300), when you have a fur shot, skip a shot, stall, shoot a BCS, etc. the cycle counting starts over. Here's some great info regarding that concept: Counting Cycles.

Since you had the fur shot, you should have given him four more cycles at 1u and then increased either .25u if nadirs were less than 300 or .5u if they were greater. But then you had the a.m. cycle of 5/31....It doesn't say "no shot" but I'm assuming he did not get insulin on the a.m. cycle of 5/31? So that threw you off again. By not counting the cycles properly, it puts kitty at risk for being overdosed.

At this point, since he is at 1.5u, I'd go ahead and hold the dose and then increase after six cycles based on where his nadir is.

Good luck and I hope he likes lev. It is an awesome insulin! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top