? 6/1: Sammy - AMPS 87; +2 66; PMPS 128; +2 90; Am I crazy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sammy had a really nice run in the 50's last night, and then I missed his +6 snack. I slept right through the alarm, or maybe I turned it off and fell directly back to sleep. Oops! I was able to get up for the +8 test and ended up putting out both the +6 and + 10 snacks so that I didn't have to get up again. All the food was gone this morning, and I am sure he at some of it very close to AMPS this morning.

Although, there is a good possibly that he ate close to AMPS this morning I am still a bit nervous about the rising AMPS readings. Yes, they have been BEAUTIFUL, but it makes me nervous that he is one that crazy wonky rise again. When he had those couple of BLUE BGs the other day I was really getting worried, but then last night the great run of 50's made me a little happier.

Yesterday, marked day 7 on the fat .25 unit dose. I am wondering if I should try to decrease back to .25 unit or if I should continue to hold this dose. I know protocol states that 14 cycles in good numbers you can try a decrease, but I am wondering if it is the best option.

What would you do in the same situation? Would you try the reduction or would you hold this dose for a bit longer and hope to have a forced reduction with a low? Now understand that if I hold the dose I would be shooting for the 3 under 50 or 1 under 40 rule. So far he has only dropped under 50 once and that was in the first day or so of this dose.
 
Morning Tina :coffee::coffee::coffee:

I am no dosing expert by any means, but I think I'd try the reduction. Sammy has had a week of great consistent BG's. If it doesn't work you can always go back to the current dose. It is such a guessing game. The current dose does seem to be a good one, but one, and the kitty, has to work so hard with forced reductions, and I'm not always so sure that is the best option for a kitty that has such good green BG's currently. Just imho. Good luck with whatever you decide.
 
If it was me, I'd try the reduction and keep a close watch. You can always go right back up. Good luck with your decision.
 
I agree with Michelle and Carla. I'd try the reduction and see how he does on it. Good luck.
 
This afternoon looks like almost an identical rerun of 5/30. Hopefully he will drop back down in the next couple of hours. He didn't do well with the auto feeder the other night so I am trying to figure out what I am going to do tonight. I won't necessarily need to get up several times tonight, at least based on the current numbers. If he is trending lower than two nights ago then I will still check him over night, but if he is higher or running about the same then I think I might just leave out food for the night. Sammy tends to graze most of the time anyway, although that is during the day. And I will be here if he gets hungry and there is no food left. He will definitely wake me up. My biggest concern is that he will eat too much and then his AMPS will be higher because he was eating more than he has been eating.

It seems like the consensus is to try the reduction and see how it goes. Because he was higher at PMPS I did stick with the fat .25 u, but if he gives me a better AMPS tomorrow then I will try a reduction tomorrow morning. I would just hate to see the numbers go up again. But maybe the rise today is small bounce from last nights run of the 50's. But if that was the case where did the numbers from 5/30 come from? On the 29th, he had a super flat cycle both in the morning and the evening.
 
Last edited:
Sammy's numbers are up a bit this evening and he hasn't come down as much as I had hoped by +2, but still doing great. I am starting to wonder if it is the Boar Freeze Dried treats that we are putting on his food. I had stopped giving him the Boar flavor for a couple of days because we had two other varieties open and I was trying to use them up first, but then in the past 24-36 hours or so, Sammy stopped wanting the other ones and I had to open the boar treats. Unfortunately, I threw out the other flavors yesterday because I figured he wouldn't eat them any more. I am going to pull back and not put any "sprinkles" on his food for the next day or so and see if his numbers don't come down a bit by morning. Or at the very least by Wednesday morning.

If I see and AMPS in the morning that is under 80 then I might go ahead and try the reduction, but knowing me if it is again higher than this morning's AMPS I will probably stick with the fat .25 unit. Am I crazy?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top