6/1 Rover AMPS 153 +2 121 +5.5 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllenandRover

Member Since 2011
Was 168 AMPS and gave the usual 1.0.

Could someone please look at his spreadsheet and give some thoughts? Reduced shot, certainly. How much? I'll be home tonight to monitor if needed.

Thanks in advance.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

What do the F's on your SS stand for?

Would you please do another test to see if that is a rising or falling number.

Have you fed him in the last 2 hours? Since that last test.

I'm thinking you need to skip the shot tonight. Monitor to see how low he goes.

Do you have some high carb (HC) food to feed him, something with gravy would be good to have on standby.

ETA: Have you printed out the post on dealing with numbers?
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

The "F" means "food".

I just retested - 45 minutes after the 115; he is 114.
Edited to add - he last ate at +9.5 so he hasn't eaten in just over 3 hours now. I usually give him 1/4 can of low carb FF around 10 pm eastern.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

You do not have a lot of numbers on Tabby yet. Safest route would be to skip the shot tonight.

You have had diabetic cats before. Another option would be to give a reduced dose and stay up on hypo watch tonight. Friday night pajama party!!! ;-)

Do you have plenty of test strips >20, karo syrup or other simple sugar, high carb wet food, able to stay up for several hours or all night to monitor?

I think you want to reduce the dose to 0.5U for tomorrow morning.

Please print a copy of the how to shoot low numbers doc: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147 for reference.

I've been having problems with my internet connection today. Lost it twice already. I can stay up to support you on a hypo watch but want to get someone else over here in case my internet goes flakey again.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

Thanks a lot Deb. Yes, I have about 70 test strips so I'm good.
And yes, I have what I need in case of low numbers. Lantus is new to me so I want to make sure I do it right, but I like to be safe too. :)
So far no shot for now. I'll check him again in a while.
Going to the store to get some ingredients for a salad I need to make for a garden party tomorrow. Tabs will stay put until then. :)
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

Ok so now at +14 he is 154, moving up since 114 at last reading about 75 mins ago.
He is due to have his evening snack in about an hour.
I could give him .5u and test in 2 hours (11:30 eastern).
Or I could skip entirely?

Any thoughts, Deb or anyone else?
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

Ok, shoot 0.5U, test at +2 sounds like a reasonable plan. That BG number rose nicely and I think you want to get some insulin into Tabby so you don't lose momentum with the dose.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

And at +2 he is now 244. And that means I can go to bed.
All very useful data ....
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage with AM update

This morning his AMPS is 184 but he is only +9.5 from the previous shot.
Will go try to find previously written guidelines on what to do. Certainly will test again before shot .... Back before then.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

Went with .5u at +12, reading is @ 153. Will get "second" breakfast (as we like to call it) in 60 minutes as usual. And will check around +2.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

A lot of folks here call that second breffis. :lol:

After that +2 today, I love to see a test somewhere between +5 and +7 , to see how low Tabby is dropping.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

I think that is a Lord of the Rings term (second breakfast), however you spell it. I got it from my kids. :)
+2 is 121. I will be here to get a +5.
Thanks.
 
Re: 5/31 PMPS 115 Need advice on dosage

Would you go back to your very first post in this condo and change the subject. 6/1 Rover AMPS 153 +2 121

As you get each test number for the day, we edit that subject in the very first post of the day. That way, people can take a quick look at the board and see at a glance what is going on with the various kitties. It helps to know who might need some assistance, even if they have not put the question mark icon on their post.

Tomorrow, we'll have you start a new condo and link in the previous days condo at the beginning. That is so people can review the history by clicking on the link.
 
I am using One Touch Ultra.
His early number were with Alpha Trak; I did one side by side comparison when I used the last Alpha Trak strip - One Touch Ultra measured a full 40 points lower than Alpha Trak at the same time.
 
Would you please put the meter you are using in your signature? user control panel, Profile tab, Edit signature from left hand column, add the meter, click submit to save the change.

Thanks.
 
No, 43 was not alpha trak. We finished up Alpha Trak strips last weekend. I think it was 223 (alpha trak) to 183 (one touch ultra) on the comparison.
 
Ok cool but Rover still earned a dose decrease. (whenever you go under 50). tonite you will probably see a high bounce since he was nice and green today but dont worry - the bounce will pass.
 
;) expect a big bounce tonite and maybe into tomorrow. Give the new dose some time for the depot to build up - 6-10 cycles before you make a change again (3-5 days). Unless he drops under 50 again and then you get another decrease.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top