Re: 6/2 Poe AMPS 335
KarensPoe said:
Am I safe to think that the testing is to determine how the Lantus works for him? Does it give some idea of predictability? I was just wondering the significance between say the +2 or a +5 or a +11 in the cycle
Thanks
Yes, the testing is to help determine how the Lantus is working for Poe. ECID (every cat is different) so we need to test to see how Poe reacts.
We ask for the +2 tests to help us determine if this is going to be an active cycle or not. If it does look like it will be active (similar to PS or much less than PS), we will have you get more tests if you are home or we will suggest you leave out some extra food if you will be away at work.
We ask for the +5 to +7 tests to find Poe's nadir, or low in the cycle. The low is used to base dosing changes on. The nadir can also give us an indication if those later numbers we see in a cycle are "bounces" from the body "panicking" and dumping hormones to raise the BG's back to what it has gotten used to as normal ranges. Without those mid-cycle tests, we can only guess how low he went and guess how much or even if a bounce is occurring.
We ask for the +11 test to find out if the PS (pre-shot) tests are a rising or falling number. If the number is still falling between +11 and PS, then you may need to wait on the shot and food for 30 minutes to an hour and retest at 30 minute intervals to determine if you want to shoot, if it is safe to shoot and leave for work for the day. If the number is rising between +11 and PS, then it is usually safe to shoot if you're at or near your shoot/no shoot threshold.
For example, say your +11 this morning had been 140 and your AMPS had been 175. This is a rising number so I would have suggested you go ahead and shoot. The number will rise a bit more with food and the Lantus insulin doesn't onset or take effect for a couple of hours after a shot, usually onset is not until +2, closer to +3.
Over here in lantus land, we have a shoot/no shoot threshold of 150. You do not have a lot of data yet on Poe, so we may have that threshold a little higher for now, more around 200. As you gather more data and learn how your cat reacts to insulin and food, we drop that shoot/no shoot number down. Another of our mottos is 'Shoot low to stay low' BUT you need the data first to shoot low.
Hope that helps to give you a little bit of understanding why we ask for the various tests. Please, keep asking all the questions you want. That is how we learn.