Thank you...no he's never had a DK or a hypo.
He was a bit sluggish when I was testing him...he did not flinch at all with the poke..usually he gets kinda frisky and will swat a bit...but this time he just sat there. He may be getting use to being tested. Once you have the treats, you can shake the treat bag to teach him to come running for those 'test and treat' times.
I got the strips because the vet found traces of ketones when I took him in and got the official diagnosis. If he had traces before, you want to keep a close eye on the ketones. It's a safety check, to make sure the ketones don't get too high and cause a problem.
I will be getting the +2 from this dose (although I don't know how to record all this on my spreadsheet now), and every 2 hours after that up until PMPS. She told me that at PMPS, if he is above 300, to go ahead and do another .5 dose. If Poe is lower than 200, delay the shot, delay the food. We want to see a rising number before you feed and shoot. So post here and ask for advice.
I am sooo scared sometimes...afraid to leave him alone...afraid to go to sleep at night...afraid I will shoot him with a dose of air instead of insulin..afraid that while half asleep I didn't put enough in or put in too much...Oh sweetie, you are like all of us here. We were so scared at the beginning of this sugardance, all the same fears you have. As you learn, you will become more confident and know more what to expect. The first couple of weeks are the hardest. It does get easier.
I need to get to the store for the freeze dried chicken treats and the 1/2 unit syringes.