6/1 Minnie AMPS 90 +2 253 +5 305

Looks like I over-compensated based on +2 reading :) but I'm ok with that after starting to mix up some karo+a/d for the road. At least I won't have to worry about hypo en route!
 
I don't blame you for the reduction this morning. Minnie went pretty low yesterday and had a higher AMPS than today. Hope everything goes well at the vets!
 
Happy to be back. Nothing to report til get results of urine culture and bloodwork tomorrow. Ultrasound showed not constipated "bladder huge" but she's "hard to palpate because of her rounded tummy". Said to give 1/8tsp miralax in food if stooling is an issue (which is a new occurrence in last 2 days after all that diarrhea! Is the boulardii working too well?)

I got them to put on the Libre so I can give her ears a bit of a break. Poor little girl, all sticky from the ultrasound and leg bandaged from blood draw and now wearing kittykollar and Libre. She ate a/d but turned away from other stuff. Not surprised her BG high. Will revert to 5.5u at PMPS.

Question - if she is >300 at PMPS, how bad would it be to give her 0.25u R as well?

I know guidelines say no R with a new dose but this is a new downward dose from 6u and she was short-changed this morning. Afraid this may have delayed progress but preferable to having her drop like yesterday while in the car.
 
Sigh. She got the sensor off. No idea how, when I went to scan it wouldn't beep then I looked and it was sitting on her ruff like a pendant on the kitty kollar. Didn't even get 1 reading.
 
You already know what my answer would be about the R, and you know that I am a wild indian so don't try to read my mind! Here's a compromise position (which is not great on a p.m. cycle). You can wait until Mid-cycle to see if you want to add the R. I agree with you about the dose though... you did a temporary reduction for going to the vet... now you are back "up" to your reduced dose (that you had reduced after the lows she had.) Am I rationalizing?

And Minnie... oh Minnie... how did you get that Libre off? Can she have kicked it off with her back leg? Cats are so clever!

I came here specifically to see what the vet said about Minnie today... I hate to wait... but the ultrasound? What was that for? To tell us she had a large bladder?
 
Am I rationalizing?

And Minnie... oh Minnie... how did you get that Libre off? Can she have kicked it off with her back leg? Cats are so clever!

I came here specifically to see what the vet said about Minnie today... I hate to wait... but the ultrasound? What was that for? To tell us she had a large bladder?

Your rationalizing is the same as mine! After your and @Wendy&Neko comments (thank you!), I'm feeling better about giving R with tonight's 'regular' 5.5u dose. I am now wondering about going rogue and giving the R now at +10. Just back from taking a friend to the airport and she's at 325. If I ponder long enough it will be shot time anyway though.

Funny how numbers like this are nowhere near as stressful when you know likely causes...and I have many to choose from today! Bounce from yesterday, low dose this AM, stress from vet (tenuous with her I think but possible), generous with the MC a/d.

Ultrasound - got that explained from the invoice. Ha, was a relief that it was only a 3 digit number. She had an Ultrasound guided Cystocentesis.

Oh no! Ruby has done that. So frustrating! Can you go and buy another one and apply it yourself since she's got a shaved patch now? Last time I got the Libre I was lucky with the pharmacist and got it for $35. You need the skin glue tho.
Long-ish story. Thought we were done with the Libre after January sensor #10, vet and previous IM thought she was allergic to the adhesive - she got terrible marks. The new IM said she's heard that before but believes it's really allergy to the skin glue, not adhesive. So...don't want to use skin glue. Also in the past I considered applying myself - vet let me watch via Zoom and it was a 2 person job, so that's out.

She's such a minx, she's got one off before THROUGH pyjamas - yes, all 4 legs - I could NOT find it until I removed the pj's and it fell out of a sleeve! I think today she whipped it off with a hind leg high kick, surprised it didn't ricochet out and hit me in the face to really let me know her displeasure. She'll just have to put up with more pokeys. It's very hot here right now, so she probably is happier w/o the kitty kollar.

OH. I feel better about my pilling difficulties - I got them to give her this morning's ondansetron, and the tech said she was difficult! She pulls her head back and then spits it out!
 
I gave Neko R at +10 or +11, but she took a lot longer for her R onset and nadir than most cats (had to be different!), so it ended up lining up nicely her Lev.
 
Sigh. She got the sensor off. No idea how, when I went to scan it wouldn't beep then I looked and it was sitting on her ruff like a pendant on the kitty kollar. Didn't even get 1 reading.
Oh I am sorry. Djoko did that to me before. In order for him to keep it for 14 days, he needed to wear a baby pj (you create a whole in the pj for his head). He was fine with wearing a pj...
 
Hi! Popping in here trying to get to know people - what is R? And my oh my 0.1 unit increments? How is that do-able? My eyes would hate me!

I hope Minnie has a good day coming up!
 
Hi! Popping in here trying to get to know people - what is R? And my oh my 0.1 unit increments? How is that do-able? My eyes would hate me!

I hope Minnie has a good day coming up!
Hi there. Novolin R is a short acting insulin that a few of us use who have high dose kitties or kitties that are prone to ketones or have had a DKA before. It is used as a supplement to the longer-acting insulins. R lasts about 4 hours. The purpose of using it is to help lower your cat’s BG by no more than 100 points. Usually it is given at the same time as the long-acting insulin and it helps in the early part of the cycle to bring the BG down so that when the long acting insulin onsets, it has a lower BG to work with. By +4 the R effect has worn off. It can be tricky to use. Does this make sense?
 
Ultrasound - got that explained from the invoice. Ha, was a relief that it was only a 3 digit number. She had an Ultrasound guided Cystocentesis.
That explains the ultrasound and their only comment about a large bladder. I'm surprised since she did have so much urine in her bladder that they needed the ultrasound at all to guide them. This vet hospital must have all the bells and whistles.
 
Hi there. Novolin R is a short acting insulin that a few of us use who have high dose kitties or kitties that are prone to ketones or have had a DKA before. It is used as a supplement to the longer-acting insulins. R lasts about 4 hours. The purpose of using it is to help lower your cat’s BG by no more than 100 points. Usually it is given at the same time as the long-acting insulin and it helps in the early part of the cycle to bring the BG down so that when the long acting insulin onsets, it has a lower BG to work with. By +4 the R effect has worn off. It can be tricky to use. Does this make sense?
Thank you! Yes, I hadn’t heard of it referred to as R yet and interesting technique!
 
Back
Top