6/1 Fred AMPS 442 Rabies Vaccine concerns

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
Well, we made it through my couple of days away. Numbers and dose adjustments all over the place. Hopefully, we can get back on track, though I have yet more days away in June.

More pressing to me right now is that Fred is scheduled for a check-up and his annual rabies vaccination next week. Rabies is required by law in my state, though there are certain medical exceptions. Diabetes does not seem to be one of them, and they will not accept titers as proof of protection. Rabies is the only vaccination I give Fred at this point, and each time it's due, I cringe and worry. However, I do live in a heavily wooded area, and though the cats are strictly indoor, we have had instances of flying squirrels making their way in. (in spite of me sealing up every nook and cranny) I have to acknowledge that it's for his protection as well.

My vet only uses the Purevax 1 year. Historically, Fred is punky for a day or two after the vaccine, but that was before diabetes. He is obviously not regulated, so I'm very concerned this will throw him for a loop or cause something else to go wrong.

Any experiences with the Rabies vaccine here? I know this has been asked in the past, but it's hard to find people's clear-cut experiences.

Thanks!
 
I have both vaccinated and unvaccinated cats. Tripper my 18 yr old is not vaccinated now. We are in the woods also. Last year a snake got in. We have deer, turkey, possums, bats, coyote (which have turned up positive for rabies and distemper). So just in case one gets out they are vaccinated. And over the years remodeling where workers leave doors open. Even though cats were closed in other rooms you never know. In addition should there ever be a fire and they get out, at least they are vaccinated. My vet won't vaccinate if animal is sick at the time. He thinks 16 yrs of vaccinations are enough.

However, if not vaccinated, ER will not admit them for hospitalization. And then to vaccinate when sick in order to admit, I'm so against. I could never board them (I don't anyway). Also have to consider the consequence should your pet bite a petsitter, friend or family if they are visiting.

Smokey was medically exempt for his diabetes and age. Olive had the 3 yrs vaccines before she got here, then was just to sick to chance after that. Tripper is now 18 and was last vaccinated 2 yrs ago. She is having issues now so I won't do them.

You have to weigh everything and decide what is appropriate for what your life has going on.
 
https://catinfo.org/vaccines-for-cats-we-need-to-stop-overvaccinating/

I have linked Dr. Lisa Pierson's post about overvaccinating cats. Fred is protected. The vaccines last waaaayyyyy longer than a year (or even longer than 3 years). The vet does not have to do it. Anyway, it's in the article. There are others that I could link, but most people around here seem to be familiar with Dr. Lisa, so I thought I'd link that one.
 
I have linked Dr. Lisa Pierson's post about overvaccinating cats. Fred is protected. The vaccines last waaaayyyyy longer than a year (or even longer than 3 years).
I've read this, yes. I actually started reading her years ago. It's what got me on to raw feeding in 2004. People thought I was insane, back then. Now it's all the rage! ;-)

I think I will ask to speak with the vet before making a definitive decision on the vaccination. I don't even know if we're allowed in the building, yet. I know what she's going to say...that he'll be fine, etc. *sigh*
 
I've read this, yes. I actually started reading her years ago. It's what got me on to raw feeding in 2004. People thought I was insane, back then. Now it's all the rage! ;-)

I think I will ask to speak with the vet before making a definitive decision on the vaccination. I don't even know if we're allowed in the building, yet. I know what she's going to say...that he'll be fine, etc. *sigh*
Is she the kind of vet who would allow you to do a titer? They cost more than a vaccine... that's what most vets try to say to persuade us to go ahead and vaccinate. I actually choose my vets based upon their stance on vaccinations. If they are going to insist that I vaccinate my animals all the time, then I am going to find another vet. In fact, the mobile vet around here gave me such a hard time about vaccinating a cat of mine that I have never called her back since. I haven't seen her in years now... which is a shame because I like her a lot in other respects (she's too hard to get an appointment with anyway... like 2 weeks if you have a sick animal just isn't going to cut it.) I just wasn't going to be lectured or told that "next time we won't be able to see this cat because it's not up to date on its vaccines!" I had a consultation with Dr. Lisa about 2004. It was great and I learned a lot and enjoyed her very much, well worth the money. Unfortunately, she's not doing them anymore... I am sure she's just too much in demand.
 
I've read this, yes. I actually started reading her years ago. It's what got me on to raw feeding in 2004. People thought I was insane, back then. Now it's all the rage! ;-)

I think I will ask to speak with the vet before making a definitive decision on the vaccination. I don't even know if we're allowed in the building, yet. I know what she's going to say...that he'll be fine, etc. *sigh*



New York has similar rabies laws. My neighbor brought her cat for a check up and he bit the tech. As his rabies vaccine was out of date, he had to “quarantine “ at home for a week with no exposure to other animals. It was no big deal but I’ve seen cats rescued from NYC ACC that had bites of unknown origin with 1 to 2 month quarantined. All the holds were in a rescue or home setting.
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't worry about his glucose levels, but I am always concerned about over vaccinating.
My vets are very pet specific when giving the yes or no talk concerning rabies vaccination.
It is unfortunate your vet won't allow a titer test as sufficient proof. I don't even know if mine would.
Each state is specific on their laws too.
Thankfully TX has the 3 year purvax.
Tina had her rabies vaccine 4 yrs ago. Her doctors are very comfortable with her gentle behavior every time they have seen her and have done "things" to her. As long as she could not bite a visitor, or have access to raccoons, etc., she is FREE of ever needing a rabies shot again.
Now - if visiting ER . . . Better look that up. Gee. Maybe a titer test on hand?

Best to you on the appropriate decision!
 
I used to worry about vaccinations, especially for rabies, but we went ahead and had them since they were required and never had a problem with either of our diabetics (Rusty and Stu). Rabies is a horrible disease. In my opinion it is "better to be safe than sorry".
 
I used to listen to the vets about this too (years ago before it was well known that vaccines provide protection that lasts for years.). Dr. Lisa Pierson talks on her site about her cats 18 and 19 who had never been vaccinated after receiving their initial series of kitten vaccines and how she took titers on them before they died at these advanced ages — and they still had immunity to those diseases.

I will say also that I have never forgotten watching my dear friend’s cat, Louie, experience a vaccine site sarcoma — and have surgery and radiation and chemo — and it still came back and they tried again and he still died — and it broke their hearts. Louie was only about 4 years old when he died.

In addition, do some reading about the link between vaccines and kidney disease in cats. I get my cats their initial series of kitten vaccines and their boosters one year later — and that is all. Of course my cats are indoor cats. I lost a cat to complications from Lyme disease many years ago and that was it for me.
 
I will say, many Northeastern States started cracking down on vaccinations /disease control when rescues and shelters started transports from other states/international rescues. While reputable transports complied with the vaccination protocols, there were a few bad apples that did not. Puppies came into JFK with infected with rabies and Connecticut had disease outbreaks tied to transports as well. There are good reasons these protocols are in place.
 
Ugh. It's such a confusing and hot issue. As @NyCatMom said, the Northeast, where we are, is very tough on rabies. NJ finally did allow for a medical exemption form, but should something happen, such as a bite at the vet and your pet is behind, there are all kinds of legal protocols that take place. I've studied it very carefully. They're too long to get into, but the bite is swiftly reported to the authorities. They will immediately vaccinate your pet, and then they will be quarantined for a period of time. Where and how long that quarantine lasts depends on how far behind your pet is, or if you can prove they were previously vaccinated. In other cases...you don't want to know.

Sadly it's not that my vet won't accept a titer, it's that it is not proof of protection according to the state laws should there be a bite or they are bitten. They must then be vaccinated no matter what the titer says. :-( I think most enlightened vets DO believe we over-vaccinate with rabies, but they must follow the rules.

Three cats ago, we had brought our cat with us up to Vermont where we have a home. In the middle of one night, my parents were awakened by a great deal of noise coming from their bathroom. They got up to investigate, and there was O'Keeffe, proudly sitting next to a dead bat in the bathtub. As you can imagine, I FREAKED. We stupidly got rid of the bat, not knowing that it should have been brought in for testing. I called my vet in hysterics, because I had kind of inherited O'Keeffe from my sister, and didn't know her rabies status. Thank God, she was current. But it was a scary lesson in how even indoor cats can be exposed.

All this being said, I hate the thought of having to give Fred the vaccine. :-(
 
I totally understand. I rescued an abandoned, unaltered Himalayan cat when we lived in Maryland. He was a perfectly tame kitty... absolutely gorgeous and sweet. He showed up one day at our house with bite wounds of unknown origin (think about it... male cat... unaltered... we KNOW what happened). But anyway, I took him to the vet to get his wounds treated and get him on antibiotics. Later animal control showed up at my house to take him away. We had a huge scene. Kids crying for Leo, animal control trying to take him away, me trying to reason with them. I called the rescue group who had put Leo in their adoption program. Fortunately, they knew all of the local animal control people and most importantly the head of animal control for our county. The requirement there for a cat with an unknown bite wound and having an unknown vaccination status was to either destroy the cat or put it into a six-month double cage quarantine! We thought he was a goner for sure! Instead of having Leo destroyed, the head of the rescue group had to personally take Leo to her home and keep him there for six months. Fortunately they did not have to do a double cage enclosure there. Since and her husband were already vaccinated against rabies, they were allowed to take Leo to their home and keep him in a room for a six-month quarantine. The happy ending to the story was that, when Leo came out of his six-month quarantine, he was adopted by a woman who had recently lost her beloved Himalayan cat. She was thrilled with Leo and gave him a very loving forever home!
 
@Suzanne & Darcy What a wonderful story!! When I read something like that, it gives me hope that the Universe/God/whatever we may believe in or not has a plan. That was one lucky boy, and so kind of you to play your part in getting him saved.

I've also been vaccinated for rabies, post-exposure to being bitten by a flying squirrel. It had gotten into the house, and I was trying to save IT from the death that surely awaited it as it was being stalked by my two very interested felines. Once I was finally able to capture it, even with thick gloves and a blanket around it, it bit me. Ingrate! ;-) Post-exposure rabies vaccination is NOT fun--I do not recommend it. But at least I'm now protected!
 
Very good real life stories! Thank you.
One of my cats went into shock after being vaccinated about 6 years ago; she is now 14 ( wobbly CH kitty, 7 lbs.) However, she had another vaccine at the same time as the rabies. Bad IMO. Her doc says no more rabies vacs for her.
My vet actually liked the idea of passing on Tina's 3 yr booster, because of her multiple health balancing issues, and her age (16), while also believing in long term immunity.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy What a wonderful story!! When I read something like that, it gives me hope that the Universe/God/whatever we may believe in or not has a plan. That was one lucky boy, and so kind of you to play your part in getting him saved.

I've also been vaccinated for rabies, post-exposure to being bitten by a flying squirrel. It had gotten into the house, and I was trying to save IT from the death that surely awaited it as it was being stalked by my two very interested felines. Once I was finally able to capture it, even with thick gloves and a blanket around it, it bit me. Ingrate! ;-) Post-exposure rabies vaccination is NOT fun--I do not recommend it. But at least I'm now protected!
I didnt even know New Jersey has flying squirrels :joyful: I thought that was like am Australia thing
 
We used to have flying squirrels in Maryland and Virginia. I don't know about here where I am now... haven't seen any but it doesn't mean they aren't living in the woods somewhere.
 
Back
Top