Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever
Lynn
I actually see no reason for you to not shoot this number if you are going to be there to monitor. It's a high enough number......and you shot 307 which is pretty close to meter variance of the 239. There can be up to a 20% variance in your meter readings so 307 x 20% = ~60. 307-60 =247. Close.
I believe this is a good chance for you to safely gather some data. An important thing to understand about lantus is that it has an insulin depot. One shot builds cumulatively upon the one before it and when you have this depot action, even if you were to skip or shoot a reduced dose tonight, you would still need to monitor him because you might still see a fairly active cycle.
Here is a typical lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
When you shoot a number lower than what you have shot before, you want to be certain you get a +1 test to see if he is going up/gets a food spike. You also want to get a +2 test....if it is much higher than the preshot, there's a good chance the numbers will continue to rise. If it is the same as the PS, you should be alert for a typical lantus cycle and test accordingly. If it is much lower than the PS, you need to be on your toes that he might onset early and/or drop.
If you are nervous about shooting because you don't have the supplies or he is not cooperative with testing yet, then I would stall, without feeding, to see if he comes up. Test every 20 mins and then once he starts up, shoot the rise with the full dose.
Did you shoot?