6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239, +1 272, +6 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

lynngaut

Member Since 2012
Fluffy's next dose (1IU) is due in about 15 minutes but his BG reading is lower than it usually is. This is only going to be his third dose ever so I don't really have much data to go by. I have a few data points taken before starting Lantus - His BG levels prior to the first dose of lantus ranged between 306-378 and since starting his first dose last night, his last 2 predose readings were 307 and 313. I'm reading the FAQ and it says when values are above 200 but below normal preshot values, a reduced dose might be indicated. I'm wondering if I should give him his normal dose of 1IU (the vet suggested just giving 1IU always with no titration ever) but I'm a little afraid to give him the full shot based on the little bits of data I have about his "regular" preshot values.
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever

hi Lynn

I too agree - you dont have the data to shoot a full dose on lower numbers, but as you get it, it will get easier.

one of the things to consider is will u be around this evening to spotcheck or at least a before-bedtime-check.

u have a hypo tool kit with higher carb canned food (preferably gravy type), supplies like strips?
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever

Lynn

I actually see no reason for you to not shoot this number if you are going to be there to monitor. It's a high enough number......and you shot 307 which is pretty close to meter variance of the 239. There can be up to a 20% variance in your meter readings so 307 x 20% = ~60. 307-60 =247. Close.

I believe this is a good chance for you to safely gather some data. An important thing to understand about lantus is that it has an insulin depot. One shot builds cumulatively upon the one before it and when you have this depot action, even if you were to skip or shoot a reduced dose tonight, you would still need to monitor him because you might still see a fairly active cycle.

Here is a typical lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

When you shoot a number lower than what you have shot before, you want to be certain you get a +1 test to see if he is going up/gets a food spike. You also want to get a +2 test....if it is much higher than the preshot, there's a good chance the numbers will continue to rise. If it is the same as the PS, you should be alert for a typical lantus cycle and test accordingly. If it is much lower than the PS, you need to be on your toes that he might onset early and/or drop.

If you are nervous about shooting because you don't have the supplies or he is not cooperative with testing yet, then I would stall, without feeding, to see if he comes up. Test every 20 mins and then once he starts up, shoot the rise with the full dose.

Did you shoot?
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever

I did give him the full 1IU. Ronny & Luna, you're right, I'm here to monitor and I have supplies/higher carb food ready.
Marjorie and Gracie, thanks for the advice. I'll get a +1 and go from there.
Thank you.
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever

When you get a +1, could you please post it in your subject line so we can quickly check in on you?

Thanks!! I'm glad you shot.
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239 - Question about 3rd ever

Marjorie and Gracie said:
When you get a +1, could you please post it in your subject line so we can quickly check in on you?

Thanks!! I'm glad you shot.

Thanks for the prompt. I tried to get a +2 but he was not interested in me being anywhere near his ears. I think I was stressing him out so I'm going to leave it. I'll try to get a +6 and I'll put it in the subject line if I do.
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239, +1 272

Just stopping by to say "hi" and "welcome to LantusLand!" Nice shooting tonight!! One little trick that helps getting kitties acclimated to the testing is giving treat every time you test, even if you don't get any blood, or get lots of squirming. That way Fluffy will always associate "test time" with "good times"!

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239, +1 272

How about a compromise with a +3 or +4? Personally, I think having some margin before what may be your cat's nadir so you know if numbers are dropping is always a good idea. It's much less hard on your nerves if you can intervene early if you need to than feel like you're playing catch up.

Generally, when you're new to using Lantus, we suggest you post and ask for a hand if you get a pre-shot that's under 150. Your pre-shot tonight was fine to shoot. You did a great job.
 
Re: 6/1 Fluffy AMPS 313, PMPS 239, +1 272

I agree with Sienne....if you could get a +3 or +4, that gives you more info on where he might be headed. Don't be fooled by the +1 being a higher number....one would expect it might be if there was a food spike but consider that with meter variance, it's not really.
 
Well, I didn't manage to get a +3 or 4 but his +6 is 329. I can't figure that out - maybe I've done something wrong??
 
Thanks. Maybe I was being overly optimistic about his first day and blue values. Tomorrow's another day, I guess.
Thanks for your help through our first full day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top