6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253+6=225

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member Since 2013
I think this is a good start to a day - especially after yesterday! Yeah Tash! Lets do a little :mrgreen: today but not too too! Or, with her, should I say "tu tu" cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356

Hi Kat & Gobs! Lets hope Tashie doesn't dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat too much today! But you never know! Are you boating or gardening today - whatever you do ENJOY! Supposed to be a pretty day today and rain tomorrow if I remember correctly!

xx
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356

Marje, STAND BY! We seem to have a hunger strike going on (Both Boris & Tash) Think they ate SO much yesterday? I am testing in 15 - IF she seems lower than I think she should be can I give her a few morsels of DRY with s bit of gravy on top? I tried a second flavor of LC a little while ago and she turned her nose up. Advice please
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253

Unnecessary Drama! She is 253 - which, for Tash, is a nice SMOOTH drop - will do a +6 and report in captain! Wish she would eat though!
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253

Maybe try a bit of active play to trigger the hunt, catch, kill, eat behavior cycle.
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253

Don't I wish! She is too much of a high bred to do such "lowly" things! Have her locked in a room WITHOUT brother piggy Boris, this way I can monitor her better (and get in "her" room to clean it! In a little while I'll try kitten food as she really seemed to like that last night. He ate a TON yesterday so she might have a food hangover! Thanks for the advice though!

Tash, the dancer!

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253

I would reserve the dry food crumbles for a "no kidding she is low and won't eat a thing and you can't get karo in her kind of cycle". IMHO.

She's a little girl...maybe she did eat too much of a good thing yesterday. I would just continue to offer the kitten food if she liked it and it is LC.
 
Re: 6/09 Tashie AMPS=356+4=253

Yes, the kitten food is - actually I think it's 0% carb! I'd give it to her more often but Thuggy (Boris) will wolf it too, although he is under 10 pounds he doesn't NEED the fat!

I was just trying to be prepared for a lower number than she gave me :smile:

Maybe I don't want her to dip into the :mrgreen: today - maybe it's better tomorrow!
 
Her +6 is 225. She is quite lethargic today and her little back legs are wobbly (again) .......

I have ordered the "Zobaline" and it has shipped, should have in a few days. There is NO way she will let me give her a pill so I will have to crush it in food. As I am putting TWO bowls of food down (one for each kitty) I will have to put in both bowls as I don't know who is going to eat out of what - it will be okay for Boris to get some too? I understand you just pee it out?

Need advice here confused_cat
 
I don't know the answer to that question as I have only used it for my CKD kitty. I am assuming any excess B12 would be peed out but others might know more.
 
So Tash has not eaten a thing all day - just went to get the Evo Cat & Kitten Dry LC food. Not interested. Why is she not hungry? She has been ravenous and yesterday all I had to do was tap the bowl and she would come out and eat again. She is in the "yellows" and it seems to funk her out - any suggestions? Do we still give insulin on an empty tummy? We are 4 hours of shot time so I want to be prepared

And here I thought we would have a nice lovely Sunday :sad: with her
 
The B vitamins are water soluble and excreted throught the kidneys.

Does she seem uncomfortable or painful?
 
Zobaline breaks quite easily. We break a pill into 4 pieces then wrap each piece in a bit of pill pocket (Greenies is the brand, use the duck and pea flavor, no sugar but does have carbs so use as little as possible, dog flavor is ok). We give it to Zener at +2 so the carbs in the pill pocket are balancing the insulin. It took a few weeks to help with his peripheral neuropathy but he has none now. We think it helps with his gastric paresis too.

I hope Tashie feels better. You're doing a great job, managing everything.
Liz
 
DUE TO GIVE INSULIN SHOT IN ABOUT A HALF HOUR. IF SHE HAS EATEN ANYTHING TODAY IT HAS BEEN VERY LITTLE. DO I STILL SHOOT?
 
SORRY! I AM UNSURE WHAT TO DO ---- TASH HAS EITHER EATEN NOTHING OR VERY LITTLE TODAY - SHE IS UNDER THE WEATHER - DUE FOR INSULIN IN 15 MINUTES - DO I INJECT????
 
Have you tried baby food? When Tess won't eat I can actually spoon it into her mouth w/ a small spoon, demitasse size or baby spoon. It's a mess, but then she licks off the spills. Had to do that today! :roll:
 
J.D. likes baby food too, and he especially likes being spoon fed. Have you tried either of those?

Have you tested for ketones?

Do you have any other BG tests after the +6?
 
Okay. I think it will depend upon the PS test number a bit. If she is fairly high, you might want to give her something, and if she is in the 100s or below, you might want to skip. When is PS test time?
 
I agree she is so new to insulin you don't have the data to shoot low. If you test and are still unsure, DO NoT FEED and test again in 20 minutes to see which way she is headed.

This is why many of use get an extra shot( :oops: I meant test) an hour before shot time, it shows us if she is headed up or down.
 
Ann & Tess said:
This is why many of use get an extra shot an hour before shot time, it shows us if she is headed up or down.
Ann means, many of us get an extra test an hour before shot time.
 
Yes shoot. If she comes down, you will have to syringe her with food or karo. Possible?

I just don't want to skip a shot when she is that high as long as you can syringe her if need be.
 
Hold on. I was just reviewing your spreadsheet some more.
Has she ever had ketones? I'm just wondering about the not eating, but it looks like in the remarks of your spreadsheet that she isn't all that consistant of an eater. Is that true?
 
Its safe to shoot.

Can you check for ketones? High glucose and lack of appetite may cause fat breakdown for calories and a by-product of that is ketones.

I asked about discomfort because pancreatitis is painful and elevates glucose.
 
Definately check for ketones...

And.. Guys.. What do we think about fattening the dose soon or going back to 0.5, I am wondering if this is a failed reduction.
 
I would hold the current dose. I think you may still be seeing the last bit of a bounce from the greens of a few days ago. It can take 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Did you see the question about Tashie ever having ketones?
 
Sienne...It was Wendy asking about the dose, not Bernadette.

I just got a PM from Bernadette and she took Tashie to the ER. She is worried because she is hiding, wont eat, is lethargic, and she can't get a urine sample to test ketones. She will post when she gets back.


Sending Tashie healing vines and prayers that all is ok.
 
Healing vines and good vet visit vines being sent to Tasha.. Hugs to you Bernadette.
 
Sorry about the late reply - it's been a day AND I have house guests! More on that later! Took Tash to the ER - I felt it was the right thing to do. She got some Sub-Q fluids : More tomorrow - can't think straight! Thanks for all your well wishes!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top