6/07 Merlin PMPS 385, 371 @+1, 328@+2, 286@+3, 232@+4, 265@+5

You could skip the +4 snack and give it a bit later at+6 or +7 if you wanted or leave it.
As much as I would love to feed him that late, and he is absolutely famished, I am worried that he will pick around his ps meal if he has a +6 or +7. I dont know. It’s frustrating giving that ps meal. It’s so very important and he knows that, so he picks around and eats a quarter of it and we have to stir it up, move it, stir it, change to something else, stand on our heads to get him to eat more. It’s like he’s starving for the first lot only.
 
So on the original plan, I would give him like a 1.9 spoon. Is now a good time for him to eat, in terms of surfing in the blue? Does he need food to keep it going longer, or will that raise his BG?
 
As much as I would love to feed him that late, and he is absolutely famished, I am worried that he will pick around his ps meal if he has a +6 or +7. I dont know. It’s frustrating giving that ps meal. It’s so very important and he knows that, so he picks around and eats a quarter of it and we have to stir it up, move it, stir it, change to something else, stand on our heads to get him to eat more. It’s like he’s starving for the first lot only.
Ok I’ll leave that up to you.

So on the original plan, I would give him like a 1.9 spoon. Is now a good time for him to eat, in terms of surfing in the blue? Does he need food to keep it going longer, or will that raise his BG?
I would not feed him now. We suggest giving a small low carb snack when the cat is in the greens to encourage surfing.
I’m heading to bed now. Have a good day.
 
He only ate 72 g of his 9% dinner. I couldn’t force it. He wore me down. Anyway, there will be a snack in a little while…(?)
 
Ideally it is better if a cat doesn’t drop more than 50-70 points an hour. But a lot of cats have not read the rule book and drop a lot more. And that can cause bouncing. Feeding the curve like you are trying to do is how to manage it but it doesn’t always work.
The higher the preshot, the bigger the possible drop (often). Normally with a lower preshot the drops are not as big.
Just keep doing what you are doing and adjusting the feed times ( and the carbs) if you think another time might work better to slow the drop.

Hi Jill, I just wanted to pop in here and echo Bron's comments, we had *exactly* this experience with Hendrick.

Big drops, huge dives when he had higher PMPS or AMPS, but with lower pre-shots, even on the same amount of insulin, much less of a drop. Things tend to get flatter at the lower numbers, thankfully. I hope things are starting to settle down into more of a stable routine for you soon, I swear my first month or two was all just a blur....lived, slept, ate and breathed FD
 
He only ate 72 g of his 9% dinner. I couldn’t force it. He wore me down. Anyway, there will be a snack in a little while…(?)
Yes. It won't be long at all until his snack. You might as well just let him wait and maybe you won't have to stuff it in him like last night (and then we weren't that sure how much got in).:facepalm:
 
Hi Jill, I just wanted to pop in here and echo Bron's comments, we had *exactly* this experience with Hendrick.

Big drops, huge dives when he had higher PMPS or AMPS, but with lower pre-shots, even on the same amount of insulin, much less of a drop. Things tend to get flatter at the lower numbers, thankfully. I hope things are starting to settle down into more of a stable routine for you soon, I swear my first month or two was all just a blur....lived, slept, ate and breathed FD
Two months…..??? Arrrrggghhhh!!!!
 
I wonder how long we should wait…maybe after 1.5.
But this morning you fed the snack at about 1.25 and he still had that big drop. You won't wait to test until 1.5, I hope. I think you need to test at +1 and possibly do the snack then. But Merlin likes to change things around on us. The +1 hopefully will clue us in.
 
But this morning you fed the snack at about 1.25 and he still had that big drop. You won't wait to test until 1.5, I hope. I think you need to test at +1 and possibly do the snack then. But Merlin likes to change things around on us. The +1 hopefully will clue us in.
I know the snack should be a 7 or 8, but Im not sure how much. I guess 1 or 2 spoons, depending on what he will eat.
 
well he still is, technically, for one more day...just .10 IU dose though. We'll see if taking it away completely works out. But it looks like it will :D

We started insulin 10th of January this year. He got his first shot at the ER vet when he was being discharged from DKA.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top