Merlin’sMama
Member Since 2022
Good morning. He ate only 3/4 of a can (about 60g) of 8.5.
Last edited:
What would you do?He’s already dropped 101. Fast last night. Food this early? Test in 1.5 for sure.
Feed 1 sp 5.7 but I just finished (at 9:50) chasing him around the garden to eat his breakfast. Im flummoxed. He might eat it…What would you do?
Good idea. I would see if he would eat a teaspoon of the food left over from his breakfast. And test at 1.5Feed 1 sp 5.7 but I just finished chasing him around the garden to eat his breakfast. Im flummoxed. He might eat it…
Not touching breakfast food. Ate 1 tsp of 5.7. Should I give another to make up for lower carbs?Good idea. I would see if he would eat a teaspoon of the food left over from his breakfast. And test at 1.5
No that is enough thanksNot touching breakfast food. Ate 1 tsp of 5.7. Should I give another to make up for lower carbs?
What would you do?Last night 105 drop at 1.5. Now 171 drop at 1.5.
Feed higher carb. But what? Not 15 yet. Don’t know.What would you do?
Ok try that and test at +2. 1 teaspoonFeed higher carb. But what? Not 15 yet. Don’t know.
What would you do?167@+2
I think we slowed it…dropped 35 in half hour. Previous half hour was 70. Wait and test at +2.5?What would you do?
Good! Yes that’s what I would do.I think we slowed it…dropped 35 in half hour. Previous half hour was 70. Wait and test at +2.5?
Looks like he’s slowing down. So we won’t feed.Thats another 30 in a half an hour, but it seems that is steady. Not sure if it will stay steady though as the food burns up. But still blue. Test at +3?
I will read it. But that drop still shocks and alarms me, the faster the more scared I get. Im trying to calm myself and just look at the numbers. The numbers tell the story here. But I dont know if Ican handle quick drops on not enough sleep deliberately… I will study it though.Looks like he’s slowing down. So we won’t feed.
Have you thought about doing TR (tight regulation) instead of SLGS?
You are testing enough and you are feeding a low carb wet diet.
The reduction point is 50 instead of 90 and you can increase the dose in three days instead of 7 days if it is needed.
I think Merlin would do better on TR. What do you think?
I would suggest you read more about it before deciding. The two dosing methods are in the yellow sticker at the top of the Lantus page.
The drops have nothing to do with what dosing method you choose though.I will read it. But that drop still shocks and alarms me, the faster the more scared I get. Im trying to calm myself and just look at the numbers. The numbers tell the story here. But I dont know if Ican handle quick drops on not enough sleep deliberately… I will study it though.
It doesnt seem to matter much if I give him 3 g of food 4 or 2 hours before ps. If he doesnt like the food, he wont eat all of it. I have switched foods when he gives up on the first one, being careful to weigh. He might take a few licks. His like of the food outweighs his hungriness.It’s so frustrating and stressful trying to get him to eat ps now. I have to subtly follow him around and put the food down in front of him in different places. He will eat more sometimes if its a place he likes. ????The drops have nothing to do with what dosing method you choose though.
I think getting Merlin to eat a good preshot meal helps with slowing the drop he inevitably has early in the cycle.
How close to the preshot meals are you feeding him? We need to make sure he is hungry at the preshot meals.
You may be filling him up and he is no longer hungry.It doesnt seem to matter much if I give him 3 g of food 4 or 2 hours before ps. If he doesnt like the food, he wont eat all of it. I have switched foods when he gives up on the first one, being careful to weigh. He might take a few licks. His like of the food outweighs his hungriness.It’s so frustrating and stressful trying to get him to eat ps now. I have to subtly follow him around and put the food down in front of him in different places. He will eat more sometimes if its a place he likes. ????
That’s good. So we have only fed him 2 teaspoons of low carb food and managed to control the drop and not hinder the nadir.Excellent! 130 at +3!
Our goal was and is to get him safely down to whatever the dose was going to take him, and try and stop bouncing by slowing the drop.I dont understand why our goal has been to get him staying steady and long in the blue, but now we want to get him down to green?
I think the problem is the food choice. Because he is a cat who was eating dry food and grazing on wet and dry all day until a month ago, he doesnt know how to eat properly a whole meal all at once. He seems to be absolutely famished the whole time after +6 or so. He is getting on the countertops and trying to find crumbs. He is yowling and desperate. I have been feeding him the bare minimum afternoon snacks. Even down to 3 grams once at +6. It didnt seem to matter. I will go online today and search for what I can have delivered here that is in a range of carbs but all high calorie, so the spoonfuls he gets will at least contribute to his weight gain. Im just so frustrated and tired. I think I am maybe slowly getting a handle on this steering the drop, but what I steer it with needs to be better. I dont think increasing the dose would do any good at this point, because I cant get him to eat any more than he is eating now. Unless of course I let him eat all he wants to at +6.Our goal was and is to get him safely down to whatever the dose was going to take him, and try and stop bouncing by slowing the drop.
I would like to see how low this dose will take him without too much feeding to prop him up. Once he hits nadir, it is good if he can stay in those numbers for a few hours.
Blue numbers are good but green are the healing of the pancreas numbers. I know they are scary in the beginning but once you are used to them you will want them all the time.
Regarding the food, if you think he is not getting enough food and you need to feed more, we can always increase the dose of insulin if the food is keeping the BGs too high.
That sounds like a good idea to look for more foods that he will like. It’s a learning curve for him as well. I had to do the same thing with Sheba. She grazed on dry food all day before she was a diabetic because I didn’t know any better.I think the problem is the food choice. Because he is a cat who was eating dry food and grazing on wet and dry all day until a month ago, he doesnt know how to eat properly a whole meal all at once. He seems to be absolutely famished the whole time after +6 or so. He is getting on the countertops and trying to find crumbs. He is yowling and desperate. I have been feeding him the bare minimum afternoon snacks. Even down to 3 grams once at +6. It didnt seem to matter. I will go online today and search for what I can have delivered here that is in a range of carbs but all high calorie, so the spoonfuls he gets will at least contribute to his weight gain. Im just so frustrated and tired. I think I am maybe slowly getting a handle on this steering the drop, but what I steer it with needs to be better. I dont think increasing the dose would do any good at this point, because I cant get him to eat any more than he is eating now. Unless of course I let him eat all he wants to at +6.
That is good!95@+4. Thats green. Was it too fast?
Just finished it. Test at +4.5 or at +5?I have 3.7. Giving one spoon. 5 g.
I would test at +4.5Just finished it. Test at +4.5 or at +5?
Unless he asks for food, I would not feed him again just yet.That was a fast trip back into blue. Just from a 3.7% spoon. So, I should not feed him again until one spoon at +7, right. Thank you, Bron.
And should I keep testing him for a while? Never really sure how much to do between cycles. I have been randomly doing an afternoon one just to see. He is asking for food now, but I can ignore it since he just had a spoon. Can he have an lc treat, like freeze dried liver, if he likes it, at some point in the day?Unless he asks for food, I would not feed him again just yet.
That was a good first part of the cycle and I’m pleased to see him dip his toes into the green even for a short time. I doubt the 1 teaspoon of 3% had anything to do with him going back up so quickly. He might possibly bounce now after dropping into green and with the fast drop earlier on. But well done Jill and Merlin.
You can test at +5 or +6 of you like just to see how long he stays in the lower numbers…all good data. Once they start to go back up I would give both you and him a break until the next cycle.And should I keep testing him for a while? Never really sure how much to do between cycles. I have been randomly doing an afternoon one just to see. He is asking for food now, but I can ignore it since he just had a spoon. Can he have an lc treat, like freeze dried liver, if he likes it, at some point in the day?

you managed to let him drop into green with a lot of control and no HC, that was an amazing team work @Merlin’sMama and @Bron and Sheba (GA) 

Jill, you are just really tired! When you change your shot times to earlier and can get some sleep; your perspective will be much brighter.Good evening. Setting up for the long night in. So what else is new? Im trying to stay positive, but I feel like I will never ever catch up on sleep enough to be able to make all of the quick and important decisions that must be made, one right after another, daily and nightly. I feel a little down and hopeless and I dont know how I am going to do this for the rest of our time together with Merlin, let alone for another night, day, night, day… Im so hoping he willingly eats a lot of food tonight. He hasn’t eaten since a few dried liver treats at +4.5. I have an awful feeling like a sort of stage fright. I could really use a break, but I dont see that I will ever ever get one. This is an awesome responsibility. I dont know if I can keep going on like this forever. And I dont understand the TR stuff AT ALL. Sad and tired and down. Sorry.Here we go.
So about 3/4 or 2/3 of a FF size can?Ate 73 g of a mix of two 7.7 foods. Gave shot.