6/02 Merlin PMPS 394,299@+1,257@+1.5, 223 @+2,184@+3,140@+4,122@+5, 151@+6

Thank you. I understand that we can only work this snacking schedule out when Merlin’s body has fully adjusted. I am just concerned about feeding him enough today and tomorrow and however much longer we are in the experimental phase. It’s a little worrying that, when or if a dosage increases, this whole experiment will have to happen all over again, but that’s a whole nuther story, I bet.
When you increase the dose or decrease the dose, you don’t do a experimental thing again. The only reason we are doing it with Merlin is because of his big early drops and we are trying to slow them down. most cats go straight into a preshot meal and a couple of snacks each cycle.
I suppose when you give the snacks it also has to do with when your cat’s nadir is. I am just uncertain as to what is happening in Merlin’s body when he is surfing and then when climbing back up. Is he processing his PS meal then? Would it hurt him/ruin his process to feed him at that point? Is there any info on the process, what exactly the body is doing during nadir and surfing, and how that relates to BG, processing PS meal into sugar his body can use, and processing any new snacks that might be given?
Surfing means he is staying in low numbers for a few hours around nadir which is what we like to see. We find if we give a snack of low carb food then, it helps them surf. The preshot meal is used up in the first few hours of the cycle. That’s why we like to give a couple of snacks so the body had some more food around the nadir to stop the BG dropping too much.
 
Giving him his +4 snack now. I guess that was the end of the drop, or the nadir, for this cycle, right?
His nadir was at +3 which it often seems to be. I think giving him a good meal at preshot seems to help stop the big drops we have been seeing….he’ll probably prove me wrong next cycle!
Yes I would give him his snack now. No need to test again I don’t think unless you want to in a few hours.
Have a good rest of the day. :)
 
His nadir was at +3 which it often seems to be. I think giving him a good meal at preshot seems to help stop the big drops we have been seeing….he’ll probably prove me wrong next cycle!
Yes I would give him his snack now. No need to test again I don’t think unless you want to in a few hours.
Have a good rest of the day. :)
Thank you Bron, for helping me get through this thing. I feel a little wiser (although a little tireder) every day.
 
Good morning, Jill. I’m watc
Yes. I bought some timed feeders at Lidl that we have to check out. This would require me to lock him in a seperate room from his two sisters, one of whom will Hoover up any amount of food any time of day, and the other of whom doesn’t care at all for wet food and only licks the juice off(she is another story altogether). It is becoming VERY clear to me, that we need to move his shot times to a much earlier time of day, especially since staying up til 430am this morning and getting up at 9. I am concerned that if we do this, you wouldn’t be able to help us, though, so maybe we need to wait until this is all more steady? Or maybe, even tonight, we could move to 930 as opposed to 10, as a start. But will this mess with Merlin since he’s just starting to get a handle on things? Sorry, I really pack the questions in, dont I?
let me know, Jill, if you plan to shoot at 9:30 tonight
 
Eating 7.9, about 3/4 of an 88g tub (60 g). We then added two spoons of a different 7.5. So in total he ate 75 g of LC. But it took an hour…
 
Last edited:
Looking at his SS. The numbers at +1 and +1.5 are very similar to this morning, aren't they? I'm not good with world numbers, and I can't see the ones on the US sheet because it just says error. But they're very similar (with the help of the cheat sheet).
 
Last edited:
This is the part that scares me. I dont know how fast is too fast. I don’t want him to bounce, but I do want him to come down into blues.
 
But it's a judgment call, Jill. We did feed Merlin (according to your notes) last night a little here and there (2 and 4?). If we want to see how low he will go, we can wait and see where he is in an hour. It's not as though he's dropping rapidly. Remember what Tee said about looking at the rate of the drop.
 
So do we need to give him a tsp of low carb, or wait til +4 to see what is happening?
Bron said wait... and I would take her advice any time!! And perhaps this will give you a chance to see (and document) Merlin's rates of drop at about this hour in the cycle when he's in blues. Data that will help you in the future. It's not a steep drop. Still pretty gentle this evening :-)
 
Thats a wrap. Going to bed! Feeding a little bit of leftover 9.2 mixed with 7.9. See you at 9:30am, but 9:00pm tomorrow. Thank you!
 
Back
Top