6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85 +1 92 +2 117 +4 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
I woke up and Rory was still in Blues so I dont know how low he may have dropped since I gave him high carb food last night so I could get to sleep.. I could barely stay awake, nodding off..
I need to know how much should I be testing today since it is pretty early and he normally goes low late.. he is so tired and I keep disturbing his sleep and safe spots as a result :sad:

condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96585
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and morning!!

Great surfing Rory! I love blue blue cycles like that. Maybe give it 2 hours before the next test?
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and morning!!

I did 1.5 because I didnt check here in time.. ya he is still sliding so was getting worried.. he wont eat today which is the first :( maybe all that hh food last night.. he is having a hard time going in the litterbox also .. not sure why :(
and he is really really tired
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and morning!!

he was constipated and finally went and we put the box outside because it was a nasty one..now he is crashed.. probably why he wouldnt eat.. he just keeps eating his cat grass like crazy today!!!
What happens if I cant get him to eat before shooting time??? I read you never shoot if a cat doesnt get food in their belly.. although I think he is just over tired
... he is still in blue and going lower anyway
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and today!!

Those blues are nice! See what he is at preshot. Do you have any pumpkin or squash or miralax for the constipation?
Liz
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and today!!

no I dont have that I might have lactulose though..I got it for him when he was constipated a long time ago but I dont think it would be good because its like corn syrup or something..if I still have it.. I think Rory has gluten issues like me ;-) .. I gave him some tuna and I think it was what helped him go.. although it is packed in water not oil. I noticed he has been active with eating cat grass as well as the bamboo plant today.. yesterday he puked up the biggest hair ball I ever saw.. probably because he has been going crazy with grooming lately unlike before he went into the blues!!
I was 25 minutes late giving his shot today so will test him half an hour early..right..just in case??
 
Re: 6/01 Rory blues all night and today!! Now green

Well, well, well. :mrgreen: Can you put the BGs in the subject line so we can see what's going on with Rory?
Liz
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

OK.. Im not dosing tonight. Rory wont eat carb food I have tried all day and he refuses to eat it. I just gave him his carb free food and he ate it.. I dont know what else to do but 45 minutes later he was even lower.. he has barely eaten today.. very unlike him!!! :shock:
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

That is the worst, when they won't eat. You have 3 options:
1. Skip the shot
2. Stall, don't feed and test again in 30 mins. You wait to shoot until the BG comes up. Your schedule needs to accommodate the new shot time.
3. Shoot a reduced dose.
It's your call what works best for you and Rory.
Liz
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

well today at AMPS I was already 25 minutes late dosing because he wasn't going up much so I gave it to him anyway, since he was still in blue.. but he hasnt felt well today I dont think however he has had zero rest really due to all my pricking and testing.. I did give him a lot of high carbs last night/early this morning at around 2 am because he was low and I was worried about falling asleep.. didnt boost him up so I am NOW currently at the 12 hr mark from his last shot and I already gave him his regular carb free food for dinner 45 mins ago, which he almost inhaled..BECAUSE he refused the carb food... so I really dont know what to do.. I hope he goes up but it didnt look like he was when I just tested him.. can I give him some dry food if needed.. only a tiny amount, like 10 pieces of grain free, it has blueberries and a few veggies in it
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

Why do you want to give him dry food? He ate his regular carb food so that's great! 85 is a very nice number. 50-120 is normal BG for a cat on a human meter. Without insulin and eating food, he's likely to go up. As long as he's above 50, you can just give him his regular food.
Liz
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

no he wouldnt eat the carb food he ate carb free.. and I fed him an hour ago.. he wont eat more I just tried..
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

Oh, I see. He wouldn't eat the regular carb but ate carb free? Crazy cat. :lol: :lol: that's great he's eating. I wouldn't give him dry food. Maybe test in a couple of hours. Once he starts to go up, you won't need to test any more. Since you skipped tonight, you can shoot at any time in the morning so you can get back on schedule.
Liz
 
Re: 6/01 Rory +9 115 +11 88 +pm 85

and we will both get some sleep LMAO!!! ya maybe it will work out now that he will stay lower in the day time if I skip it.. if I dose him now he will have went 1 hour after food.. and who knows what would happen.. sleep is important for any illness human or cat.. my poor sweetie he should be OK but no doubt high in the AM.. I will dose him early as possible.. thanks everyone.. happy for the blues and greens!!! :mrgreen:
I edited my last post I was drained writing it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top