6/01 Morris AMPS 410; +10 232; PMPS 234; +1.5 292; +11 311

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15924

+11 373

I am impressed that his numbers are not higher than they are considering I did not give him insulin last night! In total last night, Morris ate about 3/4 can Merrick & 3/4 can MC Fancy Feast (I mixed them together....otherwise, I am sure he would have eaten all of the MC!).

I am hopeful I will hear from my vet earlier rather than later today....I will update you all once I do! If I don't hear from her by lunch time, I will call the office & make sure that she has seen the information I dropped off yesterday. Tonight, I will give Morris more fluids & he is due for his next dose of mirtz as well.

As for the P's....there was plenty of pee, but no poop in the LB this morning. His purring is still working & he was doing a bit of preening last night (trying to clean where the SQ fluids were sitting). Haven't seen much playing, but he has continued to be very cuddly!
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410

Hi Gwen-
With a bg in the 20's and no shot, that is pretty darn good for Morris today! I hope he keeps eating!

Answers to your ?'s from last night:
Gwen and Morris said:
How much are you injecting? Since I have oral, the dose has been 0.2ml every 12 hours. Are you using u100 syringes? What line do you draw the dose up to?
I give .02-.04ml, not to be confused with .2 or .4ml :roll: .
I am using u100 syringes. .03ml is 3u of insulin. i would ask your vet to help you convert. jojo helped me, then my vet confirmed. BUT, expect to get a wierd look, especially if you ask a tech. as far as they are concerned, insulin syringes are for insulin...nothing else. Once the conversion was done, and not as hard as they thought it made sense to them and the lightbulbs went off...they thought I was brilliant! :lol:


Gwen and Morris said:
Yes, I mentioned to my vet that I could put 1 dose of pepcid & bupe into the port of the IV line.....hopefully she will like that idea since she doesn't want me giving him too many injections!

I have never felt comfortable putting more than one medicine in the port per sub q session. I just envision a concoction of medications arriving in one spot, mixing up and turning into some sort of bubbling stew. :lol: It may be just fine. Ive never checked it out before with anyone who may know. its just my feeling.

I hope morris starts feeling better soon. And, that you get what you need from the vet.
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410

I did a quick check on Morris before I left for work this morning....he hadn't touched his food! I had dished out 1 can of Merrick for him (ran out of LC Fancy Feast!).....I then opened up a can of MC Fancy Feast & mixed it in with the Merrick....he then started eating! I will be heading to the store after work today & stocking up on more supplies for him!

carolynandlatte said:
I give .02-.04ml, not to be confused with .2 or .4ml .
I am using u100 syringes. .03ml is 3u of insulin. i would ask your vet to help you convert. jojo helped me, then my vet confirmed. BUT, expect to get a wierd look, especially if you ask a tech. as far as they are concerned, insulin syringes are for insulin...nothing else. Once the conversion was done, and not as hard as they thought it made sense to them and the lightbulbs went off...they thought I was brilliant!
Thanks for the info! My vet knows that I frequent this site & thankfully she is usually open to my input I receive from this site.

carolynandlatte said:
I have never felt comfortable putting more than one medicine in the port per sub q session. I just envision a concoction of medications arriving in one spot, mixing up and turning into some sort of bubbling stew. It may be just fine. Ive never checked it out before with anyone who may know. its just my feeling.
Since I am a clerk at our hospital, I see nurses put multiple meds into the ports all the time with no problems. I would probably use 1 port for the pepcid & a different port for the bupe though and space out when I put them in (ie - put 1 in at the start & the next in about mid-way or so).
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410

How much SQ are you giving? And you have help? I had a horrific time trying to do them by myself. Do-able, but not easy.

Also, PLEASE get a ketone test. Also, check the whites of his eyes to see if you can detect any yellowing. It can be a sign of hepatic lipidosis. I dont want to be an alarmist here, but having had a cat who did the DKA/P-itis/HL thing, I can say that it is NOT FUN and to AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

The not eating concerns me. While you're out, can you get some stinky parmesan cheese or some cans of tuna in water to mix the tuna water in with the food to encourage him to eat more?
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410

Cyn and Cosmo said:
How much SQ are you giving? And you have help?
I am giving about 100-150mls per day (just started last night). This is how much I was giving him during the last flare as well. Yes, I have help! My 11 year old dd is my 'assistant'! I hold Morris & poke the needle into him....then she undoes the clamp & monitors how much fluid is going in (I mark on the bag with a felt how much I want in & she watches the fluid until it reaches that mark), then she clamps it off & I remove the needle. We were both incredibly impressed with how well Morris behaved last night while getting the fluids!!! He hardly even flinched or move during the entire process!

Cyn and Cosmo said:
Also, PLEASE get a ketone test.
I tried yesterday, but he didn't need to go (or, perhaps, want to go) while I was in the room with him! I will try again this evening!

Cyn and Cosmo said:
Also, check the whites of his eyes to see if you can detect any yellowing. It can be a sign of hepatic lipidosis. I dont want to be an alarmist here, but having had a cat who did the DKA/P-itis/HL thing, I can say that it is NOT FUN and to AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
I did not know about this! I haven't noticed any changes in his eyes, but I haven't been looking THAT closely either! Will make sure to do a good check of them this evening when I get home.

Cyn and Cosmo said:
The not eating concerns me. While you're out, can you get some stinky parmesan cheese or some cans of tuna in water to mix the tuna water in with the food to encourage him to eat more?
That's why I added in the MC before I left this morning....he can't resist it! My kids also check on the food situation when they get home from school, then call me with an update (they get home around +7). If he has not eaten much by then, I give the kids instructions of what to add to the food in hopes of inticing him!
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410

My son came home from school & checked on Morris.....he figures that Morris has eaten approx 1/2 his food today (not too bad for +7ish). I then asked my son to try an experiment....I asked him to take some parmesan & sprinkle it on some of the uneaten food (I usually dish out his food into 4 of the 5 compartments of the divided dish that came with his timed feeder....I just don't use the timed feeder part any more). My son then asked me if he should use dad's stuff (the dehydrated crumbs that come in the big container from Kraft) or the fresh stuff (I didn't even realize we had some fresh parm in the fridge!). I said use the fresh stuff! My son then texted me a few moments later saying "hes eating as fast as I have ever seen him with the cheese"
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410; +10 232

YAY! He has eaten all of his food up for today! I have not checked for any more throw up or what kind of LB action he has had today. I will have those updates for you with his PMPS report.

Also, I am still waiting to hear from the vet. I did call the office on my lunch break....she had been in surgery all morning & they were having a staff meeting at lunch today. Knowing my vet, I will probably get a call from her some tonight from her home rather than the office!
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410; +10 232; PMPS 234

Have not found any evidence of any more throwing up. The LB had several pee clumps & 1 small poop. I was able to test his urine tonight & he is still negative for ketones. I gave him approx 100mls SQ fluids at around +8.5.
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410; +10 232; PMPS 234; +1.5 292

I am really really surprised with these numbers today! You would not guess by the numbers that he did not get his insulin last night!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Any word from your vet? Yeesh. What's the deal with that?
Not yet. Doesn't really matter much at this point as I would not be able to pick up the meds at this time of night. I am sure she will call me tomorrow......and if she doesn't, I will be calling her at home before the end of the day!
 
Re: 6/01 Morris AMPS 410; +10 232; PMPS 234

Gwen and Morris said:
Have not found any evidence of any more throwing up. The LB had several pee clumps & 1 small poop. I was able to test his urine tonight & he is still negative for ketones. I gave him approx 100mls SQ fluids at around +8.5.

Whew. Very glad about the neg on the ketones.

For the whites of the eyes, just pull back the upper eyelid and take a peek. Should be pretty white.

Glad the parm cheese (yes, mine prefer the fresh expensive parm. We actually prefer the blend from freaking WHOLE FOODS.)

There is something about giving fluids that some of us noticed... giving SQs can help BGs lower a bit. So you def. don't want to give fluids right around nadir. Also, if you're giving 100-150 ml per day, you might consider giving 50-75ml 2x per day instead.

Last- pls don't use a felt pen to mark off the amts on the bag. The chemicals from the ink can seep through the bag. I use a piece of highlighter tape, which I can put up, then take off right after finishing the fluids.
 
Last night, he only ate 1/2 of his food.....even with the parm sprinkled on top.

Cyn and Cosmo said:
There is something about giving fluids that some of us noticed... giving SQs can help BGs lower a bit. So you def. don't want to give fluids right around nadir. Also, if you're giving 100-150 ml per day, you might consider giving 50-75ml 2x per day instead.
I hadn't heard that before! The past 2 nights, I have given the fluids around +8.5ish. Would it be better for me to give them after PMPS instead? With the crazy schedule my family has, giving fluids twice per day would be extremely difficult!

Cyn and Cosmo said:
Last- pls don't use a felt pen to mark off the amts on the bag. The chemicals from the ink can seep through the bag. I use a piece of highlighter tape, which I can put up, then take off right after finishing the fluids.
Really?!?!? Thanks for the info! Will stop using the marker!
 
Fluids add volume to the blood. The more volume you add, the more you 'dilute' the blood and, consequently the glucose level in the blood. The result is that BG drops. I'm surprised your vet didn't tell you this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top