.5u or .1u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessicaallynn

Member Since 2022
Hi I hope this can go here as I see the Vetsulin thread isn’t very active. I’ve been giving .1u to my cat the past three days in the AM because his numbers are low 200 mid 100s and I go to work so I’m nervous to give more and him hypo when I’m not around. He seems to be holding steady, should I make .1u my new number? I’ve kinda been teetering between .5 and .25 lately. I read I should be keeping the same number for at least a few cycles and .1 is where I’m comfortable shooting before leaving for work. Or can I give .1 in the AM and .25 in the PM? Thank you!
 
Sorry, I usually can't get on until around 9p EST. I would skip tonight if you can't be off schedule.

Yes based on these numbers 0.1U is fine. I'm curious how low he went last night, so if you can't be home during the day can you try to get some later tests at night? Maybe a +3 and +6 tonight if you shoot? I know it's tough but need to keep him safe.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I usually can't get on until around 9p EST. I would skip tonight if you can't be off schedule.

Yes based on these numbers 0.1U is fine. I'm curious how low he went last night, so if you can't be home during the day can you try to get some later tests at night? Maybe a +3 and +6 tonight? I know it's tough but need to keep him safe.
No problem! I ended up giving him .1u. At +3 he is at 89. I’m going to test again in two hours. I know green is good but green is also nerve wracking! Lol
 
Since he went below 90, that's a reduction. You have a few options:

1. Drop dose. Push the plunger all the way down as hard as you can, insert into vial, release the pressure. Result is one drop of insulin in the needle, not visible in syringe. When you give the shot, do your best to hold plunger down for 10 seconds while the needle is in, to give time to absorb. Depending on how he does tonight, a drop dose may even be too much.

2. Do a two week OTJ (off the juice trial). Continue to test at the usual preshot times (just no shot obviously), and whenever you get a chance during day/night. The problem with this is his numbers are higher than we'd like to see for remission - cats in a strong, long-lasting remission are pretty much all green all the time (see my SS as example). If his numbers start to creep up that's a pretty good sign he still needs insulin, just Vetsulin too harsh to safely get him where he needs to be. In my opinion, an OTJ trial is worth a shot because it's possible the Vetsulin is sort of working against him in these lower numbers (dropping low, body overreacts and bring him up).

3. Switch to a depot insulin like Lantus or Levemir. ProZinc might work, but I fear it could be a wasted step/money. I would get a single pen of Lantus/semglee (or Levemir), if cost is an issue you can check the supply closet or DCIN.
 
Since he went below 90, that's a reduction. You have a few options:

1. Drop dose. Push the plunger all the way down as hard as you can, insert into vial, release the pressure. Result is one drop of insulin in the needle, not visible in syringe. When you give the shot, do your best to hold plunger down for 10 seconds while the needle is in, to give time to absorb. Depending on how he does tonight, a drop dose may even be too much.

2. Do a two week OTJ (off the juice trial). Continue to test at the usual preshot times (just no shot obviously), and whenever you get a chance during day/night. The problem with this is his numbers are higher than we'd like to see for remission - cats in a strong, long-lasting remission are pretty much all green all the time (see my SS as example). If his numbers start to creep up that's a pretty good sign he still needs insulin, just Vetsulin too harsh to safely get him where he needs to be. In my opinion, an OTJ trial is worth a shot because it's possible the Vetsulin is sort of working against him in these lower numbers (dropping low, body overreacts and bring him up).

3. Switch to a depot insulin like Lantus or Levemir. ProZinc might work, but I fear it could be a wasted step/money. I would get a single pen of Lantus/semglee (or Levemir), if cost is an issue you can check the supply closet or DCIN.
Hi I unfortunately I wasn’t able to get a number from him until +9. He was back to 133. I woke up around +5 and he seemed fine but I couldn’t get to him (it’s been hard rain and thunder and he hides) but he appeared normal. Thankfully he is fine. Since I wasn’t able to get him at his lowest, I guess I should skip the shot for the AM? I have to work so I wouldn’t be able to monitor. I have a three day weekend starting tomorrow so I can try the drop dose starting tonight? I was planning a curve for tomorrow also. I did one last weekend but I need to do another one for my vet because I asked to switch to Prozinc. If I do an OTJ and he starts to creep back up after a day or two do I have to keep him off for the two weeks or can I go back into giving small .1 or .25u accordingly? Thanks again for all your help. I appreciate you looking out. I feel awful I didn’t get a reading when I should have but I’m just relieved he is acting just fine.
 
Now is his normal AMPS time and he is 134. I will do no shot this morning since I have to go to work and then I will see where he is when I get home. I’m glad the weekend is here I will be able to do tests later into the night.
 
At this point it is not safe to even give a drop dose. I suspect he went pretty low last night, lucky it wasn't hypo.

I recommend starting an OTJ trial, beginning with this morning's skipped shot. If you get any tests above 150 please let me know. And please check in every few days so we can see how it's going.
 
At this point it is not safe to even give a drop dose. I suspect he went pretty low last night, lucky it wasn't hypo.

I recommend starting an OTJ trial, beginning with this morning's skipped shot. If you get any tests above 150 please let me know. And please check in every few days so we can see how it's going.
Yes very lucky! I’m very grateful.

Okay will do. I get home around 6pm (EST) and will test then. Thank you again.
 
At this point it is not safe to even give a drop dose. I suspect he went pretty low last night, lucky it wasn't hypo.

I recommend starting an OTJ trial, beginning with this morning's skipped shot. If you get any tests above 150 please let me know. And please check in every few days so we can see how it's going.

Okay he was 145 today when I got home. I will not shoot and keep monitoring.
 
Ok. How "good" is your vet?
I'd give them a quick call and say here's the deal, the Vetsulin is dropping him too low but I can't give him any less. And see if they'd at least write a prescription for Lantus/semglee/levemir, that way you have it if you need it
 
I’m
Ok. How "good" is your vet?
I'd give them a quick call and say here's the deal, the Vetsulin is dropping him too low but I can't give him any less. And see if they'd at least write a prescription for Lantus/semglee/levemir, that way you have it if you need it

I’m not sure. So far she’s been good (and the extent of that is just telling her I wanted to do the curve at home and her being cool about it). But I also said I wanted to change insulins (I said prozinc but if I need to buy one of the Lantau pens for as needed I’m not opposed to that) and she said that “Vetsulin is a good insulin for cats and let’s see how the curve goes”. So I’m not sure what she would say. I can monitor his levels tomorrow OTJ and then send the vet my entire spreadsheet and request a prescription for a Lantus pen. Maybe with all the data she will understand.
Also I just tested him at +4.5 after food no shot and he was 140. I don’t want to get ahead of myself but could he possibly be going into remission? I know these numbers are still a little above normal but here’s to hoping he continues to drop on his own. As always thank you.
 
That's what I'm hoping. And most vets would call this remission, it just likely won't be long lived unless he gets down to all greens.

She's not the greatest vet then lol Vetsulin is no longer recommended for cats (hasn't been since at least 2018)
 
That's what I'm hoping. And most vets would call this remission, it just likely won't be long lived unless he gets down to all greens.

She's not the greatest vet then lol Vetsulin is no longer recommended for cats (hasn't been since at least 2018)
Yes exactly what I was thinking as she was saying it but I didn’t argue. He’s down to 129 at +5.5 and 122 +9.5 after breakfast. Fingers crossed for some greens soon!
 
That's what I'm hoping. And most vets would call this remission, it just likely won't be long lived unless he gets down to all greens.

She's not the greatest vet then lol Vetsulin is no longer recommended for cats (hasn't been since at least 2018)
Just wanted to update! We got our first green reading with no insulin (95 +6.5 hours after dinner with NS). :D
 
This is great!
Me again! Maybe I spoke too soon? After that great 98 reading last night he is at 119/118 this morning @ 5:30am (I checked twice). Yesterday he was nauseated all day so I gave him 1/4 of famotidine (10mg pill) at around 515pm. However shoprite only had the pink pills. Could the dye used for the pill have caused the jump? I’ll have to go to Walmart to get the white ones with no dyes. Hopefully this doesn’t set us back . Thank you!
 
I don't know much about famotidine unfortunately. That's all pretty close to within meter variance, I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Has it helped with his vomiting?
 
I don't know much about famotidine unfortunately. That's all pretty close to within meter variance, I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Has it helped with his vomiting?
I’m not sure. I have only given him the one (1/4 a pill) so far. He wasn’t nauseous after dinner/pill but then again he seemed to be better by around 2-3pm even before I gave it to him, but I figured I’d try it anyway to be proactive. (In my previous post I should have said he was nauseous all morning, not all day, as that would be more accurate).

Okay that’s good were still within the normal variance! I was just so excited about the last two days’ numbers that I was a bit bummed seeing him almost at 120.

Thanks again, I’ll check in in a few days!
 
I don't know much about famotidine unfortunately. That's all pretty close to within meter variance, I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Has it helped with his vomiting?
Hi! So we are on day 14 of our OTJ trial! I think we were successful?? Would this be considered the beginning of remission?!
 
Man that went fast!

I'd say so, with Vetsulin you aren't going to do any better.

Test him weekly for at least 3 months, and keep an eye out for things like excess drinking/urination, increased appetite,weight loss/gain, etc. If you stop seeing greens, and start seeing stuff pretty consistently over 120 you'll want to consider restarting insulin - the father you get back on it, the better your chances of getting him into remission again.

I suspect he will relapse at some point, if/when he does I would go with Lantus or it's biosimilars - it will allow you to get him into more steady lower numbers and hopefully a stronger second remission (you would need different syringes though).

Good luck!
 
Man that went fast!

I'd say so, with Vetsulin you aren't going to do any better.

Test him weekly for at least 3 months, and keep an eye out for things like excess drinking/urination, increased appetite,weight loss/gain, etc. If you stop seeing greens, and start seeing stuff pretty consistently over 120 you'll want to consider restarting insulin - the father you get back on it, the better your chances of getting him into remission again.

I suspect he will relapse at some point, if/when he does I would go with Lantus or it's biosimilars - it will allow you to get him into more steady lower numbers and hopefully a stronger second remission (you would need different syringes though).

Good luck!
Wonderful thank you for everything. I’m going to send my spreadsheet to my vet and ask to fill a prescription for glargine I can buy for if he does go back to needing insulin. I appreciate the info to test weekly. Should I vary times that I check? His lowest numbers have been at night, should I test at night or randomly pick a time?

You’ve been so helpful with this, but let’s hope we don’t need your help again!
 
Wonderful thank you for everything. I’m going to send my spreadsheet to my vet and ask to fill a prescription for glargine I can buy for if he does go back to needing insulin. I appreciate the info to test weekly. Should I vary times that I check? His lowest numbers have been at night, should I test at night or randomly pick a time?

You’ve been so helpful with this, but let’s hope we don’t need your help again!
Just to clarify - it's good to have a standing prescription, but I wouldn't actually fill it/buy it since who knows what expiration date you'll get (I'm not sure if you meant you'd buy it like right now).

I'd just do it randomly when you think of it. Sometimes I do morning, sometimes afternoon, sometimes night. I've gotten lazy though and I just put everything in the AMPS column right now because it's easier to read at a glance
 
Just to clarify - it's good to have a standing prescription, but I wouldn't actually fill it/buy it since who knows what expiration date you'll get (I'm not sure if you meant you'd buy it like right now).

I'd just do it randomly when you think of it. Sometimes I do morning, sometimes afternoon, sometimes night. I've gotten lazy though and I just put everything in the AMPS column right now because it's easier to read at a glance
Oh wow yes that’s true I didn’t even think of the insulin expiring. Okay great, If my vet writes one I’ll hold onto it until/if I need to fill it.
And will do on the random times to test!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top