? 5th may AMPS 27.6 is 2.5u not working out or am.i riding out a bounce?

Steph & Suki

Member Since 2019
Amy advice appreciated. I know when i have posted similar numbers in the facebook group i have been told she is bouncing and getting too much insulin.
 
Here's the link to the last post for continuity
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...u-if-curve-looks-similar-to-last-week.213770/
We usually include that on the thread so it's easy to look back to see what's been going on. :)

I'm not sure she is necessarily getting 'too much insulin'

But I think she is bouncing now from dropping into blue, possibly lower in the pm cycle May 3rd. On that evening it would have been really great if you could have got another test after the blue, to see if she was still dropping further, at the moment you just don't know.

With the limited data available it's not possible to tell if she is running too high or dropping low and bouncing right back up.


What sort of availability have you got to test?
Can you get midcycle tests? anytime between +1 and +11? am or PM




On SLGS you should be running a curve at least once a week, When do you think you could next run a curve? It's been seven days since the last.On another note, when you post th numbers on the thread title it will help if you use the US numbers, that your ss converts them. Most people are not familiar with the mmol/l scale.
 
I might like to see where she heads when she clears this bounce, that might mean trying to grab a few more tests over the next few days. Would your schedule allow for this?

It looks like it may have taken her 5 cycles to clear the previous bounce, so tonight or tomorrow morning might be when she clears this current boucnce (cycle 4-5)
 
Thank you @Gill & George i figured there was no point running a curve this weekend as the dose was still fairly new so I thought i wouldnt get an accurate picture. I can get some random test
 
Thank you @Gill & George i figured there was no point running a curve this weekend as the dose was still fairly new so I thought i wouldnt get an accurate picture. I can get some random test
Sorry my reply got cut halfway through!

I can get some random tests today but only curve i can do are weekends due to working full time monday to friday. Shall i just hold the dose and do a full curve next saturday?

During the week i can get tests at AM +10 but thats the earliest i get home.
 
i figured there was no point running a curve this weekend as the dose was still fairly new so I thought i wouldnt get an accurate picture. I can get some random test

Running a curve would probably not been very useful this weekend, but not because he hasn't been on the dose long enough, but because she looks like she is bouncing. Running a curve during a bounce cycle gives quite limited info, as it's not going to tell you how low the dose is getting Suki. Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose is getting kitty, we largely ignore the highs. With lantus, on SLGS we reassess the dose once a week, and she has been on the dose for a week, so is due the curve. That said if you can't run a curve, and because of that quick drop she did into high blue, I wouldn't be at all surprised if she dropped further, so I do think it would be sensible to gather a little more data and run the curve next week before messing with the dose. When you run the curve usually that means testing every 3 hrs for an 18 hour period or every 2 hrs over 12 hour period (Unless the numbers require you to test more frequently should you catch her going too low). If weekends are the only time you can gather midcycle data, run the curve on one of the days and gather some random tests (one or two on the other day ( whatever time fits in with you) the more data you have the easier it is to make a dosing decision.

If this were me and I caught a sharp drop in the before bed test, I would either test again in an hour (going to bed a bit late) or set alarm and grab a test later in the night. I don't know if that would be an option for you, but it's worth considering. Those before bed tests you have been getting do give you a better idea of what she is doing, well done for always getting those, but they are not filling in the complete picture.






During the week i can get tests at AM +10 but thats the earliest i get home.

Getting a +10 or even a +11 (if you got home late) can be very useful. So I would grab those during the week, it will help to build a better picture. Or if you happen to be faced with a lower than usual PMPS it can give you an idea of which way her numbers are heading, ie is she on the rise? or is she dropping into PS, perhaps clearing the bounce? knowing this, gives you the heads up and can help you predict how the following cycle might play out.
 
Thank you for your advice. To be honest i am 99% sure i will be starting a new job after next week. I currently work 6 till 2 and shot times are 5am and 5pm. There are 2 weeks of training at my new job starting on the 13th so for 2 weeks her shots will be 7am and 7pm. After the training my regular shift will be 3 till 11pm so i will be moving her shot times by quite a bit. I have been told the best way to do that is to skip 1 shot and start again straight at the new time as i will only have a weekend to move the times to probably 11.30am to 11.30pm.

Point to above ramblings is that when i am on the later shot times with my new shift i will probably be doing a +1 before i head to bed and setting an alarm for a +5 (my other half gets up at 4.30am so figured that would be easiest time to get up and do a PM +5 test). The only downside to the new times is i would be getting home and giving her a shot as soon as i got home so i could only get a +10 or +11 before the am cycle. With my job now i shoot and go straight to work. Newjob would be shoot and go pretty much straight to bed (i could stay up for a +1)

Would that give more data than just a +3?
 
With your new shift, I think you could shoot, go to bed and get a +5 as a general rule, that would be great. That said if you were shooting a lower than usual number then you might decide to stay up and grab a +1, to see if she were going to dive on you.

I think you have thought through the changes and yes you may end up adjusting the times you get those random tests in, it's all about building a picture over time, while you work with the time constraints.
So if with your new schedule you might be able to grab a +10 in before amps, and instead of a before bed test you could get a test after her am shot, +1 or +2 or +3 (depending on when you leave in the morning)

Have you read this info post, it's about doing TR on a full time job, I know you are doing SLGS, but the tips and reasoning on when and why you are getting the extra random tests still apply

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/
 
Thanks i will check that out :) yes i have been trying to work out best times on the new schedule but i feel thats the best plan :)

Thank you for all your help. I will likely check back in next weekend after a curve (barring any weirdness she throws my way in the meantime)!

Thank you for all your help its been really informative :)
 
Back
Top