Re: BUD AMPS 61 +2 96
How about shooting a reduced dose at +9 tonight or +10 and then normal dose*/time tomorrow am? (*or whatever new reduced dose you are going. to try) I think that would be a bit better/safer than shooting at +7.
.5u should be OK as long as she is rising and above about 150-200 ~ your call based on your comfort level. Today might end up being a wash with the two reduced doses, one given late and one given early. Will you be around to test a few times and see if she is dropping low before bedtime?
Have you explained to DH about making dosing changes based on PS numbers? It really isn't a good idea. Not without a lot of data that supports that working for Bud. I was looking over her SS earlier and seeing the consistent raising of doses - along with the consistent raising PSs and wondered about dose induced highs (rebound), but I also see her lows, previously, somewhat corresponded to eating poorly or her chemo treatments.
No offense to dh, but raising the dose based on the PS is a knee-jerk reaction that is too easy to fall into - vets do it all the time because they don't see the whole cycle of numbers. My thoughts are to never raise the dose based on one high PS (always was even when Beau was on a fast acting insulin), but to get spot checks or a curve in if something doesn't look right. Bud was doing so well on so much less insulin in the spring. Again, I wonder about rebound. With these insulins rebound looks like high flat numbers "punctuated" by very low numbers which is exactly what you are seeing with her.