.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: BUD AMPS 61 +2 96

Sorry Beth! All that happened before I woke up - and then I was busy doing stuff and didn't get to my computer until now.

I certainly would not have shot the 61. Once you are seeing a rise you can shoot, but what you shoot depends on things like if you will be home to monitor, how well she has been eating and any data that tells you what her normal cycle is - i.e. does she climb through the first few hours or does she start to drop right away?

I am comfortable shooting as low as 85-90 on Jeddie especially if I know her is rising, but that 61 would have made me reduce the dose a bit - about 25%, I think.

Looking over her SS, I wonder if she might benefit from a dose reduction anyway. Anytime I see swings from 400s to below 100 I think rebound. Reducing the dose a bit will help to stop the swings and even if the lowest number isn't as low I think she will feel better.

Glad to see she is doing well and happy and playing etc. So sorry about your loss of Itty Bitty (((hugs))).
 
Re: BUD AMPS 61 +2 96

How about shooting a reduced dose at +9 tonight or +10 and then normal dose*/time tomorrow am? (*or whatever new reduced dose you are going. to try) I think that would be a bit better/safer than shooting at +7.

.5u should be OK as long as she is rising and above about 150-200 ~ your call based on your comfort level. Today might end up being a wash with the two reduced doses, one given late and one given early. Will you be around to test a few times and see if she is dropping low before bedtime?

Have you explained to DH about making dosing changes based on PS numbers? It really isn't a good idea. Not without a lot of data that supports that working for Bud. I was looking over her SS earlier and seeing the consistent raising of doses - along with the consistent raising PSs and wondered about dose induced highs (rebound), but I also see her lows, previously, somewhat corresponded to eating poorly or her chemo treatments.

No offense to dh, but raising the dose based on the PS is a knee-jerk reaction that is too easy to fall into - vets do it all the time because they don't see the whole cycle of numbers. My thoughts are to never raise the dose based on one high PS (always was even when Beau was on a fast acting insulin), but to get spot checks or a curve in if something doesn't look right. Bud was doing so well on so much less insulin in the spring. Again, I wonder about rebound. With these insulins rebound looks like high flat numbers "punctuated" by very low numbers which is exactly what you are seeing with her.
 
Re: BUD AMPS 61 +2 96

Hiya Beth! I was just thinking about you and Bud Bud the other day. Glad she's feeling better. cat_pet_icon

So sorry to hear that you lost Itty Bitty. Fly free Itty Bitty.
wings_cat
 
Re: BUD AMPS 61 +2 96

Glad to see you back Beth, and happy to see that Bud Bud is doing so well.

I'm sorry about Itty Bitty. rb_icon They never can stay in purr-son as long as we would have them. May she live on forever in your heart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top