552 FIRST READING/NEW MEMBER!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mara and Mitzi

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone! I'm Mitzi May's mom and loooooooooooooooooooove her more than anything in this whole wide world! I got Mitzi for my 6th birthday and it was the best day of my life so far! She will be 17 in June and was diagnosed with Diabetes a year and a half ago. My vet said she had/has extremely high blood sugar and it's higher than anything he's ever seen. He then did a bunch of tests on her to make sure nothing else was wrong. He took blood samples, urine samples, did xrays and ultrasounds and said she's as healthy as a horse for her age, minus the fact that she has Diabetes. Nothing was wrong with her thyroid and she had no ketones either. I do believe she had an enlarged bladder but he said that was normal since she was Diabetic and consuming abnormally large amounts of water...and I'm talking OVER A GALLON A DAY at the time. She then got some curves done and it was immediately determined that she needed more insulin than most cats do because 1, 2, 3, and 4 units twice a day weren't doing much. She was very lethargic and still drinking/peeing A LOT! She got moved up to 5 and so on. She's now at 7.5 units of Lantus twice a day and she still seems very lethargic and the last few days has been living at her water dish like she used to, which isn't a good sign. I know that she is a geriatric so she's not gonna be super lively anyways but she literally only gets up to eat, drink and go potty...and has enough energy to wake up up every morning when I don't hear the alarm go off (how fricken cute and smart is that?! she literally sits by my bed and howls like a coon hound/beagle until I wake up and feed her Fancy Feast LOL). But, she used to be a little more active than that, even just a couple months ago. I took her first BG test tonight at 8:34 PM and it read 552 mg/dL. From what I hear, that's not good and is extremely high. I had fed her a spoonful of Fancy Feast at about 7 because I've been slowly switching her over completely to wet food so she eats multiple times a day, whenever she's hungry that is. And that doesn't mean she overeats by any means, she just prefers multiple meals versus 2 or something like that. And I don't want her hungry all day so I will feed her little amounts at a time. Plus, multiple meals throughout the day keeps her from grazing at the dry food dish. I'm currently feeding my cats Simply Nourish Chicken and Rice Recipe dry food. I downloaded that app for android phones where you can type in the ingredients or whatever and it says 35% carbs, which is extremely high cos I read today on this page somewhere that it should be lower than 10% for cats. I know dry food is bad so I'll be getting Mitzi off of that as soon as possible but just have to figure out how because one of my other babies, Mimi, has Cerebral Hypoplasia and would have difficulties getting to food high up if I were to attempt keeping it away from Mitzi. That being said, it would probably be best to get all my babes on wet food completely and I'd be fine doing that eventually but don't know how many times to feed them a day and how much as they are all different sizes and Mitzi is 17 soon, and the rest under 2 years of age. And I know age and weight does determine how much they need to eat. My other cats are all very healthy size, literally no fat because I limit the dry food and they get wet food throughout the day along with Mitzi's feedings. Mitzi has never been tiny but she's not fat. She's a good sized cat at about 12.5 pounds...last I checked anyways...should really weigh her again as it's been a while. But she can get fat fast if she eats the wrong stuff so she's always been watched on what she eats and how much cos back in the day she used to be a little chunky monkey, which she now has saggy boobs from being chubby years ago. Anyways, I'm told she's getting a lot of Insulin, possible too much?! Should I cut her down? My vet doesn't know a whole Hell of a lot when it comes to Diabetes in cats and I saw 2 other vets as well and they literally knew nothing so I just do what I can on my own as far as research, etc. Even with all that I do though I know I don't know as much as some of you and I'd really like to learn, get advice/help, and get her on the right dosage. She gets her shots every 11-12 hours and I feed her Fancy Feast mixed with water while she gets her shot. She is fed/given her shot at 10-1030 every morning/night but sometimes it's off an hour cos I have classes (I'm a full-time student) and have to give a morning shot an hour late or an hour early, but I don't think that would hurt too much, would it?! My vet didn't seem to think so. Well, I think this is all I've got for now. It was a lot of rambling but I can't wait to hear from someone/people! Thanks for reading my novel!
Ha, ha!
 
Welcome to the FDMB Mara and extra sweet Mitzi!! You're in the best place you never wanted to be now, and will have 10's of thousands of hours of real life experience to guide you along this new journey!

First, it's GREAT that you are starting home testing. We recommend at least 4 tests per day...1 before shots (always!!) and one sometime between +5 and +7 during the morning cycle, and a "before bed" test at night

Lantus is a great insulin too!

Yes, 7.5 is a HUGE dose for new diabetics, but I understand you were just following your vet's directions. As you've found out, they don't seem to know a lot about treating feline diabetes. We always suggest starting at 1 unit every 12 hours and then doing adjustments in .25 unit differences.

I gave you the link to the spreadsheet and the food chart over on Facebook, but we can repost them here if you like. Once you get your spreadsheet up and really start getting tests in, you'll see how valuable a tool it is!

It's important if you're giving insulin and you're removing the dry to be careful. Lowering from 38% to under 10% can make a big difference.

Don't want to throw too much at you too fast (but I'm sure you'll see lots of other info as others see your post)

Good luck to you and Mitzi!! We're here to help so please ask any questions you think of!

Edited to add..on your shooting schedule, every 12 hours is best, but you can only do what you can do with your schedule. Sometimes we just have to work around it. Is there anyone else that could help you?
 
If you could post the spreadsheet link and food chart link here that'd be great because then I'll be able to find/get to them easily. What time would a bedtime BG check be if she's getting her shots between 10-1030? I'm a night owl but have been going to bed pretty early these days (2-3 am) as I have morning classes (UGH). But I'm usually up by 8:15 now every day. I just wanna know the best times to check her levels?! Before shots is easy enough but the other ones I'm unsure of when. And how many times should I be feeding her a day? She likes multiple little meals/snacks a day. And I'm talking a spoonful of Fancy Feast is enough to make her happy as long as it's throughout the day. She does get about a half a can at every shot time though.
 
First things first...here are the links How to get your spreadsheet and Food Chart

The "before bed" test is just that..whenever you are heading to bed, but I'd try to at least get a +2...if the number at +2 is a lot lower than the pre-shot number was, it's a real good idea to set an alarm to get you up to test later in the cycle.

Although those 4 tests are the least we suggest, there's no such thing as too much data. The more tests you can get in at different points in the AM cycle and the PM cycle, the sooner you're going to start to see how MITZI responds to both food and insulin. ECID (every cat is different) so there's just no better way to do it.

Small meals are actually easier on the pancreas than big ones are, but you don't want to feed for the 2 hours before pre-shot tests, because you want to know where they are without the influence of food.

On your testing schedule, is there any chance it would work better if you got up earlier in the morning to test/feed/shoot? And still get home in time to do the PM test/feed/shoot? I'm a night owl too, but for China's sake, I force myself up at 6am...but it's also nice because her PM shot is at 6pm and it makes it easier for me to get those night tests in...it's only midnight at my +6
 
I literally have no idea what +2 and +whatever means! lol. So you don't want me to feed her when I give her the shots in the morning/night?!
 
Glad you made it here, this is the right place to be, you I'll get all the help you need. If you look on our kitties page you will see we all have a spot that says SS click on it and take a look at ours to get a feel for it...
Look down below here see the SS
This is Linda and Lucky...
 
Oops..knew I was forgetting something :lol:

Since we're from all over the world, we use the + system. There are 2 cycles per day..an AM and PM. When you test/feed/shoot, you do all 3 within about 10 minutes. First you test (your Pre-shot tests to make sure they're high enough to shoot), then, as the cycle goes on, you start counting the HOURS....so if you shoot at 9am, and at 11am you do another test, that would be 9am + 2 hours....what we need to know to help you is how long since the shot you're getting the tests in.

If you test/feed/shoot at 6am, then if you test at 10am, that 10am would be +4 ....test again at 3pm and that'd be +9....once it's been 12 hours, you "start the clock" over again with a Pre-shot test/feed/shoot and then start counting hours since that shot. We aren't concerned with the ACTUAL time...just how long it's been since the last time you gave any insulin

Does that make sense now?
 
A "before-bed" test is exactly that: test whenever it is right before you go to bed. ;-) Some night, this might be a +2 (a test two hours after the shot) and some nights it might be a +6 or even a +11 drinking09 :lol: Ideally, this test should give you some idea of how the night cycle might go while you're sleeping, I.e. If she drops low early, you might want to set an alarm to check on her later or leave some food out. It also gives you a different view of the cycle versus the AM mid-cycle test. This is especially helpful if she drops early in her cycle and also how much food might influence her numbers. For example, if you tested her at shot time and then grab a before-bed test at +1, that number will probably be higher because the last shot has started to wear off and/or the food is hitting her system. Another night, you grab a before-bed test at +3 and that number might be much lower because the PM shot is starting to kick in and/or the food spike is wearing off.

The AM mid-cycle test, on the other hand, is to spot the nadir/low point in the Lantus cycle, which typically occurs between 5 to 7 hours after a shot. This test is important because dose changes with Lantus are based moreso on the nadir than on the pre-shots. To simplify, the pre-shots tell you if it's safe to shoot and the nadir test tells you how much.

Here is an example of a typical Lantus Cycle:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
And if you can't get mid-cycle tests every day (I often can't because of work), just try and get them when you can. Then, any other tests throughout the day/night just add more data to how your kitty reacts and an overall picture will start to emerge on what her specific cycle with Lantus is (and how food affects her BGs).
 
That makes a lot more sense now! Do I say 10am+2 or 10pm+5 or whatever or leave the am/pm out? And I just need to make sure I don't give her food 2 hours before a test right? I'll take one before I go to bed and post the number so you can tell me what you think. And I didn't see your question from earlier, but no I don't have anyone to help me with her as far as shots/testing/feeding goes cos I'm alone and a full-time student. My schedule already revolves around Mitzi and my other kids but sometimes an hour or so off for the shot has to work cos of school.
 
When you get the spreadsheet set up, you'll see along the top a row of +1 +2 +3 +4 (etc) after the AMPS and the PMPS. We don't need to know the exact time...just how long it's been since the insulin was given.

You just enter the test results into the appropriate cell on the spreadsheet.

And right...no food for 2 hours before shot times. You want to get that pre-shot test result when there's no food influencing it
 
How do I know what numbers are too low to give a shot or when not to give one? I thought I was always supposed to give one no matter what. And can I feed her another small snack/meal before bed after her bedtime test?
 
You can ignore the "10AM/PM" because that'll be meaningless for most of is (it's only 9:30 for me here! :lol: )

You can also feed whenever you want and test whenever you want regardless of her last feeding (this will also help track how much food impacts her BGs). The only "rule" is to pick up food 2 hours before her next shot. That way, her pre-shot number isn't artificially inflated because of food and you know it's truly safe to give a shot. After a while, you'll be able ignore this rule if you wish as you get more data (tests) that show how much food increases her BGs and for how long.
 
Mara take a look at our spreadsheets on here it will make more since to you then. You will see them under our postings...then the +1 and so on will make sense
 
For new members, the cut-off "no shot" number is 200. We tell newbies to stall the shot, don't feed, and post first for advice/direction. Usually, you'll test again in a half hour to see if it's a "rising number" and either give the shot, skip the shot, or give a reduced dose (a "chicken" shot :lol: ).
 
I want to try to make sure you get some opinions about this too Mara

She's now at 7.5 units of Lantus twice a day and she still seems very lethargic and the last few days has been living at her water dish like she used to, which isn't a good sign

As we've all seen too many times, she's gone up fast, and has JUST started testing tonight. I've told her we recommend starting at 1 unit, and I know she's still interested in hearing more opinions

AMPS--AM Pre-Shot

PMPS--PM Pre-shot
 
How do you know a cat is going into remission? I'm curious cos I see a lot of people talking about their cat in remission. JW. And Chris, she's been using 7.5 units twice a day for quite some time now. She's been on Lantus from the beginning when she was diagnosed and I was told to keep raising it because of her lethargy and excessive water drinking/peeing.
 
Well hope we get more yes on here, pancreas needs to start working I think to much insulin also Chris, well bedtime for me.

Night all
 
I understand that Mara....but too much insulin can cause high numbers just like too little can. Since Mitzi hasn't been diagnosed with a "high dose condition", like insulin resistance or Acromegaly, it's just very unusual for a cat to need to be that high...Unless they're eating ONLY dry, and you've said she's been eating Fancy Feast and only a little dry.

What we look for regarding remission is that (for example) 1 unit twice/day is keeping a cat in "normal" numbers (50-120) for a week...we'd then go down to .75u twice/day for a week...if the numbers were still in the normal range, they'd go down to .5u twice a day....until they eventually are getting NO insulin twice a day :-D
 
Awesome! I hope Mitzi can be in remission someday! How is one tested for insulin resistance or Acromegaly? Do you think she should be? Or should I see how things go once she's completely off dry and insulin is maybe lowered? I only gave her 7 units tonight, instead of 7.5
 
Let's get her off the dry, and hopefully some of the more experienced eyes will chime in with their opinions on the dose before your AM shot
 
Here's a link to information on high-dose conditions. I think she's a good candidate for it since she's eating minimal dry food and hasn't had any incidences of hypo yet and has been on this dose a while. In the same breath, she could be very carb-sensitive and that little bit of dry is enough to keep her so high. She might also have insulin-resistance or she might be bouncing for days at a time. There are a lot of unknown factors and testing should help clear up a majority of them.
 
And when you get a chance, it'd help if you'd go ahead and put in a "signature" (like the ones you see under each person's posts) that say your name/Mitzi, date of diagnosis, type of insulin, type of meter, food you're feeding and any other health issues she's had that might be good for people here to know. That's where the link to your spreadsheet (when it's ready) would go to.

Just go to the User Control Panel (top left of page) and click on Profile...then click on Edit Signature and add the info...then "Submit" it! You can always go back later and change things if you need to

ETA..I agree with Kay...since you just started testing, there's no way to know what's going on with her. More testing will soon give us a better idea of if she needs to be tested for the high dose conditions
 
Ok, I put a signature in...does that suffice? I'm also gonna take another reading in about 15 minutes which would make it 3 hours after her pm shot. So would I write is as 10+3? And I think she def could be a high dose cat or whatever but maybe I need to get her completely off dry food for good and test her for a week or however long and see how that goes and if her numbers lower than that's great but if not then I need to get her checked or what do you suggest? And once she's completely on Fancy Feast I'll let you all know so maybe you can tell me when to lower her Insulin cos maybe that's causing her numbers to be too high as well?
 
That all sounds like a great plan for the next week. :thumbup

You would just write it +3/199 or whatever the number is. Any format that's clear to understand the numbers is fine.
You could even keep a running tally, like:
PMPS 552
+3/XXX
+10/XXX
AMPS XXX
 
(And the signature looks great! :-D Eventually, you also have a link to your spreadsheet in there once we get it up and running.)
 
So I just tested her and it read 594, which means it went up since last time. What's that mean? Bad or good? I took her dry food away a couple hours ago too cos I wanna keep her off it as much as possible until she's switched over to wet food 100%. So it was 3 hours after her shot so I write it as 10+3, right? And/or +3/594, right?
 
552 and 594 are very "close" in the scheme of things (all meters have a +/-20% variance), so that's basically the same number. Yes, that's also the correct formatting. ;-)

I just thought of something: when was the last time you got a new Lantus vial/pen and do you keep it refrigerated with no shaking or rolling?
 
Hello Mara and welcome to you and Mitzi May. My little sugar girl Neko has two high dose conditions, acromegaly and IAA. Acromegaly is the most common one. We suggest that people get tests done for these conditions once they've reached 6 units, but only if we know they've reached that dose in a safe way following our protocol for increases.

Do you have any data from the vet? We are a very data driven group - which you've probably figured out by the spreadsheets. :lol: Any data you have from tests at the vet and how that resulted in dose changes would help us help you and MItzi. Congrats on your first tests, that is always a major milestone. :thumbup
 
I just bought a brand new bottle of Lantus last night and I've never used the pen/vial cos she's always needed so much Insulin that it's be pointless to get one of those. Plus, I've never heard of it until recently. It's also refrigerated as I was told to always do that.
 
Mara and Mitzi said:
I just bought a brand new bottle of Lantus last night and I've never used the pen/vial cos she's always needed so much Insulin that it's be pointless to get one of those. Plus, I've never heard of it until recently. It's also refrigerated as I was told to always do that.

Okay, just wanted to make sure to rule out any possible problems with the insulin potency. ;-)
 
Nice to meet you both! What is IAA? What do you do to treat these things? And how do you go about getting them tested? Like what do the vets do to test them? They don't have to be put out right? Cos I won't do that. Wendy, what do you feed your baby and how often?
 
IAA is insulin auto antibody. Think of it like the bodies self defense system and the way it reacts against viruses, only in this case, the antibodies are reacting to the injected insulin. The tests are blood tests. The vet has to draw blood which must be send to MSU (Michigan State University). If it gets to the point you want to test her for that, the two tests are IGF-1 which is an insulin growth factor (test for acromegaly) and IAA test. Acromegaly is a benign tumor on the pituitary gland that causes excess growth hormone to be produced which causes excess IGF which causes the diabetes like symptoms.

There are different ways of handling these conditions, but the most important thing to do is giving them the amount of insulin they need to lower their blood sugar to as close to normal numbers as possible. Blood testing like you've started doing is key to that. If the kitty has acromegaly, there are some side effects to the excess growth hormone. It can cause growth of the soft tissue and organs. As an example, Neko recently had to have one of her canine teeth filed back a bit because it was rubbing against some soft tissue growth of her gums. That's a simple example, a more serious side effect is organ growth which an include the heart so it's good to get these kitties checked for heart conditions which may start with a heart murmur.

Neko gets several small meals of raw food a day, but any low carb canned wet food will work. I feed and treat these conditions the same as any other diabetic kitty, but sometimes the dose will get higher than a kitty whose pancreas has gone on vacation.

I don't know if anyone has mentioned it yet, but how are Mitzi's teeth? Bad teeth/gums can also cause a need for larger amounts of insulin.
 
Well, I could easily have blood drawn if that's all that's needed for testing. The last time I went to the vet he told me she has a nice smile (lol) for her age. Her gums are a little red in the back and she doesn't have any of those 8 little top and bottom tiny ass teeth anymore but for her age I'd say they look pretty good. I mean, my mom has cats that are almost a third of Mitzi's age and their gums are AWFUL! They need a dental bad. Mitzi could never have one even if she needed one though just cos of her age and there's no way in hell I'd ever put her under.
 
Ok so I just took her BG now and it read 460! So would I write it as 10+10? And then +10/460? I just wanna make sure I'm doin it right. She'll get her shot at 11 today cos I have class now and otherwise she'd have to get it very early. Spose I could change her shot times though? What do ya think? Or does a half hour to 45 mins make a huge difference? I'm also gonna feed her a morning snack now before she gets her meal with her shot at 11 cos I took away the dry food. Another thing to note, she threw up a puddle of water everywhere, which means she's drinking so damn much it wont stay in her belly. It's water and spit. She used to do that all the time when her insulin wasn't high enough. I only gave her 7 units last night so what do you think about today? Does she need more? I'm really thinkin she needs to be tested for that stuff. I could prolly have it done next weekend if you guys think it's necessary cos I want to know how to help her best ya know. But i'll get on In a few hours. Talk soon!
 
Mara...click where it says "China's SS 2014" in my signature line.

Find today's date 01/30/14 Then the first number (157) is the result I got this morning at AMPS (which for me, is 6am, but the actual time doesn't matter)
Then there's the "U" column (for Units....you can see China got 1 unit this morning)
Following over to the right, you'll see 173 in the "+3" cell (which for me just happens to be 9am but again, the real time doesn't matter)

Now...when I ask someone for advice, they'd look on my spreadsheet, but because they may be in England, and I'm in the US, if we had actual times, it's just useless information, so what they need to know is

pre-shot number
how much I shot
Results I get later during the cycle and HOW MUCH TIME since the pre-shot.

All you need to do is get your pre-shot results, and then our "Clock" starts ticking...you have 12 hours before shooting again. IF you test 2 hours after a shot, it's JUST +2
If you test 6 hours past a shot, it's JUST +6

if you want to, you can put something like "Shot times are 10am/10pm" (or whatever) in the remarks box at the top of the spreadsheet (just for information) but again....we don't need to know the ACTUAL time....just how long it's been since you've giving any insulin

Looks like you're on CST like me. What time did you give Mitzi her shot LAST? Was it last night at 11pm? If so, on the spreadsheet on the PMPS side, find the column for +10 and enter 460. When you hit "enter", it should automatically turn that cell red.

IF you don't have the spreadsheet up yet and are just jotting numbers down, you'd want this much info
PMPS 552 (from last night when you shot)
+10 460
(if those are the only tests you have, that's all you need to make note of) When you shoot her again this morning, you'd be starting the AMPS cycle

When you have some time, let us know your schedule...when you get up, have to leave, any chance of getting home mid-day?, get home, etc...we'll see what we can figure out with your schedule.

Edited to add..while you're out today, if you don't already have any, pick up some ketostix from a pharmacy. They're little paper-like strips that you dip into urine to test for ketones. With Mitzi's high numbers, it's important that you check for ketones because if you get anything more than a "trace", it's a medical emergency.
 
Morning, glad to see Wendy and Neko made the party, Donna will help her today get SS on here, Mara is at school she'll be back later.

Appy and healing vines to who ever needs them
 
Mara - HI! Welcome to ALL of you! And a CH Kitty too! 'Zener' is also a CH kitty - you'll see his daily post in Lantus Land.

I see you need a place for your 'time'....some of us seem to need that....like me! I added a column to da sugarboyz ssheets so I could put the actual time in it. If I need to shoot late, this lets me see that quickly when trying to get back on our regular schedule. I don't use it to post times, I use the '+s', it's just a reference for me. It doesn't hurt to add a column!

BIG HUGS! You've already got this goin' on!!!
 
Alright, gave Mitzi her shot about 5 mins ago at 11:25 am and fed her half a can of Fancy Feast. Her pre shot read 479 (AMPS right?) And then I fed her after. Dry food has been completely taken away as of last night. My CH baby crawls up my backpack to get on top of the chair and eat lol gonna have to come up with a better solution than that but for now it works. She's pretty mobile, just extremely clumsy lmao. So I usually give Mitzi her shots around 1030 day/night but just gave Mitzi her morning shot an hour later cos it's snowing like crazy and roads are terrible so it took me a while to get back from class. Otherwise, it only would've been a half hour late. But I'm gonna give you guys my schedule so maybe I can change her shot times to 9 am. The only problem with that is if I were to get a job (and I def need to get one) then I might be late at night again cos I usually am a server somewhere or would end up closing a store cos my availability hours. So i'm thinkin 10 and 10 would work best every day except Tuesdays and Thursdays which she could either get her morning shots at 9 or 11 am cos of my class! Is an hour early or an hour later better? I try to do my best on gettin it the same time every day but Tuesdays and Thursdays would have to be an hour difference no matter what. What do you all think?

And i'm going to get some test strips in a little bit from Walgreens or Walmart and then i'll let ya know what happens. Hopefully, nothing!

Here's my daily schedule for school too:
Monday/Wednesday/Friday:
Leave my house at 1030 for classes from 11-215 then probably get home at 230, give or take.

Tuesdays/Thursdays:
Leave my house at 9 for class from 920-1055 then probably get home at 1115, sometimes later of course depending on weather conditions.

Whenever I get home I check on Mitz and the kids, now test her, give her shot with food and then that's that. I feed her little meals/snacks throughout the day, whenever she's hungry really. And I know cos she howls like a Beagle continuously when she wants something.

Just worried cos she's been sleeping at her water fountain the last few days and then threw up a puddle this morning from drinking too much.
Gave her 7 units this morning, along with last night.
 
Yes...the first shot you give each day is your AMPS...so when you get the spreadsheet up, you'd put 471 in the AMPS cell, and 7 in the "U" cell (for 7 units). As the day goes on, other tests are put in the cell that corresponds with how long it's been since a shot...so if AMPS was 11:30 and next time you test it's 3:30, that result would go in the +4 column. (4 hours after the shot)...test again at 8:30pm?...that result would go in the +9 cell (9 hours after a shot)
Until you get your spreadsheet up, you'd post it here like this: (I'm just using any number as as example since there's no way I can know when you'll test next or the result)
AMPS 471
+4 395
+9 402

Good to hear that you're going to get some ketone test strips. We want to make sure she doesn't go into DKA while we're trying to get her numbers down. DKA = Diabetic ketoacidosis

On your schedule, are you not working now? Just class and looking for a job? (of course looking for a job is a full time job)

I hear you on the weather..we're supposed to be in a major ice/sleet/snow storm tomorrow so everyone's out getting stocked up with supplies.
 
Lantus works best on consistent dosing 12 hours apart. There is a half-hour of movement possible each day that won't screw up the cycle too much. You can also change the shot time twice a day in 15 minute increments if that works better for your schedule. With Lantus, anything over a half hour acts like either a dose increase (if it's too early) or a dose decrease (if it's too late), which is why you want to make sure you don't change it much more than a half hour a day.

On the days you have to change up the shot time, since you know it's always Tuesdays and Thursdays, what you can do is move the shot time by a half-hour on Monday night and then again on Tuesday night so it's not such a huge discrepancy. Otherwise, this is where those pre-shots start to come in handy. ;-) If you do find you have to give a much earlier shot than 30 minutes, you want to make sure the pre-shot is high enough (over 200 currently).
 
I haven't had any problems with Mitzi's numbers being low. Hell, they aren't even going down or moving much. Today: AMPS 479, +2 439, +6 536. So that's what I have so far. I'm going to get her some more Fancy Feast soon along with some Ketostix strips so I can test her pee. And how often do people test pee? Is there a special way to do it or special time that I've gotta do it? I won't have any problems getting her to pee...she's potty trained to the T. And she goes potty on command (Yea, she's that good) so if I tell her to go potty or put her in the potty box she'll go. I taught her this because she travels everywhere with me and since she fills her bladder up so much I make her pee before we go anywhere. lol She's like a dog...if she could go to school with me she would. Loves to snoop and go new places. However, it's cold out so the only traveling that is done is if we go to my parents' house. So yea, I'll get on again before I check her pee to see what/if anyone has said and then I'll test her pee and let ya guys know what it says.

Also, I'm looking for a job, so hopefully I'll have one soon. I'll be more persistent on getting one this weekend or something when I have more time to do stuff. I've been running around this whole week like crazy doing stuff at school and figuring my major/class stuff out. But work doesn't affect me too much cos I always make my schedule according to Mitzi...I do what I can anyways.
 
Yea, she knows lots of things. I don't treat my kids like cats. They are my kids. So they know many words and commands. And they have to do tricks for a treat. Mimi my CH won't do anything not because she cant but because she wont...she's a sassy frass and isn't listening to anyone so I've gotta work on that. Haha they're also clicker trained so they know when it's time to play. I think I have too much time on my hands. Lmao! Ok, gonna go get that stuff! Talk soon!
 
Mitzi's PMPS was 442. I had her go potty and I'm 99% positive that the Ketone strip was "negative" and I leave that 1% out there cos "negative" and "trace" are so damn close in color. But, if I were to pick a color it'd def be "negative," so that's good, right?! Had me worried earlier. But I'm glad I bought them.
 
That's very good that you got negative ketones. :-D

She's still not getting any dry, right? If her numbers continue to remain stagnant by the end of this weekend, I might suggest an increase back to 7.5u, but let's see how she does first. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top