55 BG last night; 385 AMPS this morning

You did fine. Since he hasn’t dropped below 50 on your human (ReliOn) meter, you continue to hold the dose. Keep up with the excellent level of testing that you are doing. Are you feeding a +2 snack of wet food?
 
Next time you can try a little low carb if he’s at 55-ish, but I would retest in 30 minutes to be sure that he’s rising or staying stable. You’re doing great.
 
Thank you.
He usually gets food at +2 or +3, both morning and night. I think I panicked a bit when I gave him medium carb last night after the 55. I’ll continue to hold the dose and hope this new bounce passes quickly.
 
So, we’ve had 2 cycles of yellows, both following cycles with green nadirs the night before. I’ve not seen this with Beau before. It’s a little unusual. Is it a kind of bounce?
 
It looks like he was flat last night- although we can wait and see what the morning brings for clues as to what happened.
 
That’s what I’m hoping for. At the very least blues. I don’t like all of these yellows and pinks.
just tested 245 at +3. I was hoping he would have been lower already. We’ll see what the day brings.

I appreciate you checking on him.
 
Good morning!
Yup! I’m a little on the tired side, but it was worth it. He’s pretty cooperative about testing, except at mealtime. He wants me to leave him alone and just feed him! Guess I can’t blame him.
This morning he jumped up to 305 AMPS. Not what I wanted to see. But, we still may be able to salvage the day. We’ll see.
 
Good morning!
Yup! I’m a little on the tired side, but it was worth it. He’s pretty cooperative about testing, except at mealtime. He wants me to leave him alone and just feed him! Guess I can’t blame him.
This morning he jumped up to 305 AMPS. Not what I wanted to see. But, we still may be able to salvage the day. We’ll see.
I sometimes would just test Darcy's ear at the same time he was eating his food. He didn't move around much and I was confident of being able to get blood.
 
I’ll need to try doing it as he eats. Might help. It’s the only time we struggle a bit. I also can only use his left ear. His right ear seems to be sensitive. He twitches and jumps. I try again periodically, but it’s always a no go. With as much testing as I do, I’d like to divide it between ears.
 
Beau’s numbers are just making me crazy! We had a good day and then a great night last night. Then we start today with a pink (although a low one) AMPS and pretty much flatline all day. With tonight’s 224 PMPS, we might have another good night. The inconsistency has me a little confused about dosing … stay at the current dose because 3 out of the last 4 nights have been green or increase because we had blue nadirs today and yesterday?
 
Beau is doing pretty well right now. He’s dropping into the greens at night and I think I missed a green nadir last night because my sleep-deprived brain turned off the alarm and I went back to sleep. His daytime nadirs have been in the blues until today when he had a couple of high greens. Do I keep holding his current dose of 2.75 because of the green nadirs? Which would take precedence, the nighttime greens or daytime blues?
 
Last edited:
Beau is doing pretty well right now. He’s dropping into the greens at night and I think I missed a green nadir last night because my sleep-deprived brain turned off the alarm and I went back to sleep. His daytime nadirs have been in the blues until today when he had a couple of high greens. Do I keep holding his current dose of 2.75 because of the green nadirs? Which would take precedence, the nighttime greens or daytime blues?

Well, it appears I spoke too soon. We have AMPS of 377 this morning.
 
He's just barely dipped his toes in green the last 6 cycles & following MPM we increase if nadirs are above 100. We don't want to him sneaking up, so, after we see how today and tonight goes - if he doesn't break tonight like he did 09/07 PM cycle to 09/08 AM cycle, I would try an increase to 3.0 units tomorrow - we want to see more of that lovely green! (Please note, for anyone reading, I wouldn't recommend an increase quite yet if it wasn't for the fantastic job Sharon does testing and the very clear picture we have how Beau does every single cycle)

I also recommend, if you get a preshot lower than 150 while dosing 3.0 units and it's been a downward cycle all the previous cycle with no noticeable smile curve (dropping down at nadir and clearly rising up again at the end), and you don't stall without feeding to see if he's rising at least 20% we allow for meter variance, I'd be cautious for the first couple of times and reduce the dose a bit for that particular cycle to see how he does. Does that make sense?
 
Thank you Shelley. Looking at Beau’s spreadsheet with fresh eyes, I can see what you are saying. I think I was blinded by those greens and lost sight of the fact that if he has any blue nadirs (over 100) I should increase if I’m using MPM. The greens need to be consistent in order to hold the dosage. I think I’ve also been mentally hesitant about increasing to 3.0. It’s the highest he’s been. He was there for a short while in June when we were still doing SLGS. It feels like such a high dose. But that’s just me being a worried mama. I doubt that we’re going to break tonight like we did a week ago so I will increase in the morning.

I believe I understand what you are saying about shooting under 150. If I don’t see a clear nadir the previous cycle, I should reduce the dose slightly and see how that affects him. Would that be like a skinny 3.0? Not 2.75, but between that and 3.0? The exception would be if I stall and test again, looking for a 20% increase before shooting, while still fasting.

By the way, thank you for acknowledging that I do enough testing so that I usually know how he’s going to do. But those bounces drive me nuts!
 
I think I’ve also been mentally hesitant about increasing to 3.0.
They need what they need and we don't want to loose momentum by holding a dose too long.

He may only need a couple of cycles of 3.0 units to get back on track. Sometimes that's all it takes to get things moving again.

I believe I understand what you are saying about shooting under 150. If I don’t see a clear nadir the previous cycle, I should reduce the dose slightly and see how that affects him.
Until we learn how low a 3.0 unit dose will take him - Sometimes a bounce can take a couple of cycles to fully clear - if he starts heading down from, say, the AM shot and clearly only keeps heading down to the PM shot and you end up with a low PMPS, the bounce clearing cycle(s) may still be active crossing over to the PM cycle so you want to be a little careful and make sure he's either flattened out or on the rise and shoot a little lower if needed, depending how low the PS is, maybe 2.75 units, (looking at 09/08 AM cycle again) until we see how he handles it.
 
We have an AMPS of 175 this morning.
So I’ll increase his dose to 3.0 as planned and keep an eye on him today. I am a bit nervous about being at 3.0.
 
Last edited:
Well, that is not quite what I was expecting with yesterday’s increase to 3.0u. It looked good at first, with a nice drop to 84 and a slow rise. Then the high BG at +11 and PMPS and last night’s cycle. A bounce? I hope it doesn’t take too long to clear. It will be interesting to see what today’s cycle brings. :nailbiting:
 
Last edited:
What did he eat to go from 188 to 278 this morning? Anything different? All low carb pate? Or perhaps it was just the previous cycle’s insulin wearing off before the current cycle’s insulin kicked in - because he did quite well later on.
 
Thanks for checking in. I hope you enjoyed your time away.

I'm happy to see the greens back. But the nighttime numbers seem to be kind of wacky.
I was a little surprised to see that jump this morning also. I did give him a pate that is new to him, the beef and chicken, which is a little higher in carbs than his usual. Maybe that was the difference.
He seems to be a little carb sensitive so I try to keep him 3 carbs or lower. The beef and chicken is a bit over 4.
 
Thanks for checking in. I hope you enjoyed your time away.

I'm happy to see the greens back. But the nighttime numbers seem to be kind of wacky.
I was a little surprised to see that jump this morning also. I did give him a pate that is new to him, the beef and chicken, which is a little higher in carbs than his usual. Maybe that was the difference.
He seems to be a little carb sensitive so I try to keep him 3 carbs or lower. The beef and chicken is a bit over 4.
Maybe that was it. Some people do report that beef makes their cat’s BG go higher. Not everyone though.
 
Today is going well. We are already at 131 at +3.
I have not tested him past +7 the last two nights, assuming we were going to stay in the safe blues. But if he follows the same pattern tonight, I may do so. I’m fairly certain he doesn’t drop into greens, but I’d like to see if he drops into lower blues before heading back up.
 
I agree. So far, so good. Now if we can start to get a few greens during the nighttime cycle, that would be great.
 
Last edited:
I agree. So far, so good. Now if we can start to get a few greens during the nighttime cycle, that would be great.
That would be nice. It’s unusual, because many cats tend to drop lower at night. Is there anything different in how he eats at night? Or perhaps it’s just his pattern.
 
I know. It seems so odd. He eats the same thing at dinner as in the morning, as well as a small meal between +3 and +4, just like morning. Of course, my boy needs to be different!
 
Last edited:
AMPS is 104!!! I did a couple of later (or earlier, as it were) tests last night and we had a couple of greens. The last one was 99 at +9 so I don’t know if he flat lined the rest of the night to the AMPS. There wasn’t much time to rise and fall again. I know I’ve shot low, even my green BOS shot, but that 3u dose still has me a little nervous. I’m going to stall before I shoot and then make a decision.
 
Our last two cycles were good, but no green. And now a 325 AMPS. Do I need to start thinking about another increase? Although the thought of going over 3U scares me. What is considered a high dose on ProZinc? I know I probably shouldn’t be worried at this point because we’re only 4 months in, and on MPM/TR for 5 weeks, but …
 
Last edited:
And now a 351 at +9! He really hasn’t had numbers to warrant a bounce, has he? Feeling frustrated. :(:(
 
Last edited:
Gosh, Beau, whatcha up to??

It looked like he was going to do okay on 3.0 units the first three days but he's sneaking up again - I'd increase to 3.25 units.
 
Between nadirs no longer green, but blue the last 3 cycles, and those pinks popping up again, I had decided to increase this morning. So thank you for concurring.

I’m feeling very frustrated, worried and defeated right now. It’s the way I felt when Beau was first diagnosed. Since going from 157 +7 to 351 +9 yesterday and then 373 +8 early this morning, I’ve been a wreck. And now he’s at his highest dose ever. Two weeks ago at 2.75u he had an AMPS under 100, now today 362. I know ECID, and you can’t answer the question because this damn disease is so unpredictable, but WHY? I just don’t understand. All I want to do is help my sweet boy.
 
First thing I do is try and rule out any culprits. Getting in to any contraband food? Infection brewing? Dental needed? Insulin going bad?

I see you started a new bottle of Prozinc about a month ago, but, it is a possibility - I've had a couple of vials that seemed to go flat pretty quick and others that lasted months. We just don't know how they were stored and handled before we got them. My vet tried to sell me a vial once that was all frosted at the top. Ummmm, no thanks.
 
First thing I do is try and rule out any culprits. Getting in to any contraband food? Infection brewing? Dental needed? Insulin going bad?

I see you started a new bottle of Prozinc about a month ago, but, it is a possibility - I've had a couple of vials that seemed to go flat pretty quick and others that lasted months. We just don't know how they were stored and handled before we got them. My vet tried to sell me a vial once that was all frosted at the top. Ummmm, no thanks.

I’ve made myself crazy trying to think of something that may explain what is going on with Beau and his high BG. I’m absolutely sure he isn’t getting into any food he shouldn’t be. I only put out a small amount of dry food for a short time after feeding everyone their wet in the morning. Beau has finished eating and in another room by then. The dry bowls are closely monitored and picked up and put away before I leave the kitchen. I leave the foster kitten kennels open during the day so they can run in and out, so their dry bowls are also picked up. He isn’t acting like he’s feeling ill. His mouth doesn’t seem to be giving him pain and it doesn’t smell.

I did think about the ProZinc being bad. It will be open 60 days on 10/13 so thought that unlikely. I’m always so very careful handling it, but I did drop the vial on the floor one day last week. Also, I was giving antibiotics to the kittens, which needs to be shaken well to remix it when I remove it from the fridge. Several days ago, I caught myself starting to shake the insulin vial instead of rolling it. It was enough to cause a small amount of bubbles. Both things happened only once. Could either have hurt the integrity of the insulin? I keep looking at it to see if it looks different. Should I get a new vial?

It just seems odd that he has been so high for the last 24 hours, since about this time yesterday when he made that big jump from 157 +7 to 351 +9. Especially after having such good cycles previously. And he’s been higher than I expected all day today, after the dose increase this morning. I just tested him and he’s already at 296 +8.

I am making myself frantic worrying. There have been lots of tears.
 
After a frustrating, worrisome, sleepless 24 hours, thinking that possibly the insulin had lost some of its effectiveness or Beau was becoming insulin resistant (yes, all of the thoughts go through my brain) we come to today. AMPS 225, +3 181 and holding my breath while testing at +5, hoping for more dropping. To my surprise, we are at 58. It’s the lowest he’s been in 3 months, back when he was at 3U while using the SLGS protocol. So, obviously, the insulin is doing its job.

I’m not overly worried about the 58, but I’ll be watching him closely. He did have a small LC meal about an hour ago. I can’t decide if I should give him another now or test again in 20 or 30 minutes to see which direction he’s heading. I don’t want a hypo situation. :nailbiting: His nadir is typically between now and +7.
 
Well, we had a nice set of numbers today. What a relief! Beau’s Mama had a much better day, too. It will be interesting to see what nighttime brings.

And I guess he has had a lower BG than today’s 58. It was a nighttime 55 two weeks ago. The test that started this whole thread.
 
Last edited:
Well, we had a blue late last night, so I’ll take it. But, it’s a little disappointing to have this string of yellows today, so far. Especially after yesterday’s greens. Is it a bounce, just not a super high one? What is the significance of a flatlined day like today?

I’m still thinking about that insulin and have ordered a new vial.
 
Back
Top