5 Dec Methos pmps 184, +1.5 209, +2.5 166, +3.8 118, +5 108, +6 112

SmallestSparrow

Member Since 2024
When last seen:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...s-206-2-146-4-5-143-5-75.296167/#post-3224975

(I think…seems I did one later…I may be back to edit)

After days of Rathko Methos might be planning another sleepless night for us, leaping into Starry skies or sliding into Irises. He hates them. I hate them. Sigh. Praying to avoid a Casas night. Why is there never middle ground.

cortisol drawn today, hoping he gets a vetoryl increase; kidney function worse, wish we could stop the aldactone. That’s a vet discussion for another day…
 
When last seen:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...s-206-2-146-4-5-143-5-75.296167/#post-3224975

(I think…seems I did one later…I may be back to edit)

After days of Rathko Methos might be planning another sleepless night for us, leaping into Starry skies or sliding into Irises. He hates them. I hate them. Sigh. Praying to avoid a Casas night. Why is there never middle ground.

cortisol drawn today, hoping he gets a vetoryl increase; kidney function worse, wish we could stop the aldactone. That’s a vet discussion for another day…
Surf safely tonight Methos. Be kind to your sweet Mama who could use a few hours of sleep.
Wishing you both a calm and boring night, Colleen :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
A little bump up at +1.5, so far so good :). Hopefully that means a gentle drop into nadir tonight.
I hope but possibly his pill pocket. He refuses to follow the rules. He fakes with a good early bump chugs along on path on glide slope then at +9 says “nah, you know what, I think I’m going back down…catch me if you can” rolls inverted and pulls back

Inhave such a headache right now
 
It’s looking very Casas.
upload_2024-12-5_19-34-35.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-5_19-34-35.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-5_19-34-35.jpeg
    16.2 KB · Views: 94
I hope but possibly his pill pocket. He refuses to follow the rules. He fakes with a good early bump chugs along on path on glide slope then at +9 says “nah, you know what, I think I’m going back down…catch me if you can” rolls inverted and pulls back
Watch out for end-of-cycle nadirs as an early warning of action in the next cycle :-)

BTW, he could use an increase.
 
Watch out for end-of-cycle nadirs as an early warning of action in the next cycle :)

BTW, he could use an increase.
Thanks so much!
Yeah. His nadirs are often end of cycle if he gets one. I’m asking my vet tomorrow about an increase although when I’m staying up all night it seems masochistic. It seems like once he gets to 3 U he stops having nadirs where they belong and when he goes above 3 U then he goes to 75 despite my efforts to catch him first and prevent it. So back down he goes. I think if I haven’t been stuffing him with low carb food plus his pm pill pockets he’d have made it to 90 tonight. Sneaky devil loves his medium carb food.
 
It seems like once he gets to 3 U he stops having nadirs where they belong and when he goes above 3 U then he goes to 75 despite my efforts to catch him first and prevent it. So back down he goes. I think if I haven’t been stuffing him with low carb food plus his pm pill pockets he’d have made it to 90 tonight. Sneaky devil loves his medium carb food.
With your experience, you could lower the reduction point of SLGS to 80 or even 70. That will help you keep him at a dose where he can see lower numbers overall and nadirs in the higher end of the normal range.

It is indeed tricky to prevent a reduction in bounce clearing cycles! Especially if they will not eat when you want them to! :rolleyes:
 
With your experience, you could lower the reduction point of SLGS to 80 or even 70. That will help you keep him at a dose where he can see lower numbers overall and nadirs in the higher end of the normal range.

It is indeed tricky to prevent a reduction in bounce clearing cycles! Especially if they will not eat when you want them to! :rolleyes:
80 is my point (not by my choosing, I’m a coward but my vet steers the ship and she reduces reluctantly although she will ok a one time (short shot) …she usually wants him at least a week preferably without me shorting any cycles.

it seems like he only has bounce cycles. I don’t know what I need to do. I asked an internist (via my vet in consult) if he should be on Glargine for a steady baseline and on high days take a short acting (like humans do with Glargine and regular with meals) but he said with 75s methos didn’t need more insulin he needed more vetoryl. But so far the extra vetoryl hasn’t helped. I might get more of that next week.

it’s confusing and very discouraging. He seems to feel really bad after a night like tonight.
 
it seems like he only has bounce cycles. I don’t know what I need to do. I asked an internist (via my vet in consult) if he should be on Glargine for a steady baseline and on high days take a short acting (like humans do with Glargine and regular with meals) but he said with 75s methos didn’t need more insulin he needed more vetoryl. But so far the extra vetoryl hasn’t helped. I might get more of that next week.
I have no experience with Cushings, but usually, bouncing reduces and stops as a cat gets used to lower numbers. So, you want to get it to a dose where it is able to spend more time in better numbers. Bouncing can also be triggered by sharp dives so reducing that with food also helps with bouncing.

He seems to feel really bad after a night like tonight.
Do you mean nights where he has these long stretches of blues? Again, I can't speak for cats with Cushings, but unregulated cats initially feel lousy in lower numbers. It's like a caffeine withdrawal. They can look sleepy and tired. However, once they get used to lower numbers, they absolutely love them and it's higher numbers that make them feel awful.
 
With your experience, you could lower the reduction point of SLGS to 80 or even 70. That will help you keep him at a dose where he can see lower numbers overall and nadirs in the higher end of the normal range.

It is indeed tricky to prevent a reduction in bounce clearing cycles! Especially if they will not eat when you want them to! :rolleyes:
Do you have suggestions on what I should do re food the rest of the night (don’t say let’s see how low he will go :eek:)
I fed a little more proplan but don’t want to give any more bc if I do that all night he’s high. Before once was enough to stop his drop but not tonight. So he got another tsp (one an hour ago one now). Do you think if next hour he’s still dropping low carb will be ok?
 
I fed a little more proplan but don’t want to give any more bc if I do that all night he’s high. Before once was enough to stop his drop but not tonight. So he got another tsp (one an hour ago one now). Do you think if next hour he’s still dropping low carb will be ok?
He has flattened out between +3 and +5. When did he get the Pro Plan DM? At +4? That's I think around 6% carbs?
 
Do you have suggestions on what I should do re food the rest of the night (don’t say let’s see how low he will go :eek:)
I fed a little more proplan but don’t want to give any more bc if I do that all night he’s high. Before once was enough to stop his drop but not tonight. So he got another tsp (one an hour ago one now). Do you think if next hour he’s still dropping low carb will be ok?
Then again maybe he went high from bounce. So many reasons
 
He has no speed brakes. Once he starts to go it’s hard to turn him around but I haven’t figured out when to let go of the stick. I feel like I should go back to low carb food. His tiki choices range from 0% (I don’t think that’s right but Dr Pierson and tiki say so) to 6%. But his tiki Comfort Sachets (he also loves) are 10% and high calorie so I try to give him some of those

edit: I try not to overdo the comfort sachet since high in fat and while I think it’s tumor causing his increased amylase/lipase I’m still cautious
 
It’s not DM it’s chicken and rice (14%). He got almost a level tsp (bit less) with a tsp of 5% tiki food at +3.8. Another level tsp alone at +5
I would not feed any more higher carbs. In fact, you could probably take a break from food if he has had his required number of calories. Let him spend some time in low blues/high green. If you have to feed, feed the lowest carb you have.
 
I would not feed any more higher carbs. In fact, you could probably take a break from food if he has had his required number of calories. Let him spend some time in low blues/high green. If you have to feed, feed the lowest carb you have.
I can do that! Thank you so much.

edit: he’s prob ahead in calories but he needs every calorie I can get into him so I sort of take advantage if he gets hungry with lower BG. I know not the usual goal, fattening them up :)
 
Last edited:
For any newcomers reading this: I’m not feeding him to avoid a reduction. TBH I don’t know why one would or wouldn’t want a reduction. So please don’t see what i do as that let alone think that should be a goal based on what im doing.

My cat doesn’t have a normally functioning adrenal gland : he has one very atrophied one that likely doesn’t work at all. The other has a huge functioning tumor. I don’t know if whatever normal adrenal he has on that side could or would appropriately react to low blood sugar, or what that kind of stress would do to the tumor. So don’t follow my lead —I try very hard to keep Methos well away from even the low end of normal let alone approaching hypoglycemia. Ymmv.
 
For any newcomers reading this: I’m not feeding him to avoid a reduction. TBH I don’t know why one would or wouldn’t want a reduction.
Reductions earned in bounce clearing cycles often fail - especially in unregulated cats. If it's a good dose for a cat, you want to avoid a reduction by feeding the curve.

Based on that +6, I think it's safe for you to call it a night!
 
Reductions earned in bounce clearing cycles often fail - especially in unregulated cats. If it's a good dose for a cat, you want to avoid a reduction by feeding the curve.

Based on that +6, I think it's safe for you to call it a night!
Even if that was a 14% carb +6? I’d love to go to bed but have had coffee and can edit test for another hour or two if that’s more safe. I’m staying awake by spouting meter geek stuff at @Sheila and Minky who probably wishes I’d stop ….
 
He got more higher carbs at +6? Why?
Sorry I wasn’t clear. His +6 reflects the 14% he got at +4 and +5. I seem to recall we were told to stay awake for a few hours after the last medium carb

edit: and I’m aware it’s barely med carb bordering on high. But he eats it and that’s important since he usually assumes I’m trying to poison him
 
Sorry I wasn’t clear. His +6 reflects the 14% he got at +4 and +5. I seem to recall we were told to stay awake for a few hours after the last medium carb
Yes, we suggest staying up 2 hours after feeding HC to ensure that numbers don't dip after the carbs have worn off.

edit: and I’m aware it’s barely med carb bordering on high. But he eats it and that’s important since he usually assumes I’m trying to poison him
I get it :-) I think you mixed the 15% with some LC? So that would have been more like 10% carbs or so?

i see you got a +7 and he is flat. Good night! :-)
 
Back
Top