5/9 Shakes - amps 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone

He had a good amps which I am assuming means he was getting too much insulin
I reduced him to 2.0 units
and I will call the vet today
thanks for the input last night

Denise and Shakes
 
Good! And work to get rid of that dry - I am just thinking he is sneaking downstairs on those wonky days. That would be an easy explanation.
 
Hi Sue,
I made it impossible for him to get downstairs now
so there is no sneaking anywhere for him,
so these are his numbers and I am still confused
Do you think I did the right thing by lowering him?
I will be calling the vet but I have a feeling she is going to tell me to raise him..
What I dont understand is that his numebrs are better as I lower him,

but his excessive drinking starts when I lower him...any insight on that?

Thanks so much
Denise and Shakes
 
I don't understand that either. But I think I would worry more about the numbers than the drinking - as long as you aren't seeing excessive peeing. Are you doing ketone testing, Denise?
 
He has always had the excessive peeing, it never stopped..
and the bad thing is that He only pees once a day and it is in the middle of the night
so I have been unable to catch him yet, but still trying
 
I just got off the phone with the vet
She says I am not giving him enough insulin and I need to keep increasing
until we start to see some blue, she want me to give him 2.5 tonight

I want to cry
 
Well, she is not holding the needle, you are. So you get to decide. And I can't argue very hard that she couldn't be right - I do not understand his numbers. You can experiment with that lower dose for a couple cycles, or you can experiment with the higher dose for a couple cycles. I am leaning toward a few tries at the lower dose, but I could certainly be wrong!

But either way, you are testing and can stay on top of things. And if you could get a ketone test, you could really feel in control. He only goes once a day -that is a little weird......Especially if he drinks alot. Have you tried putting the water into his wet and keeping him hydrated that way? Wonder if you would ask on Health about once a day urination if anyone would have seen a similiar pattern?
 
Thanks Sue,
I know his nunmbers are better when I lower him, but they dont go into the blues
I dont understand his numbers at all either but maybe I will go higher for a little while because
going lower isnt getting us anywhere either
I NEED SOME BLUES!

As for the peeing thing, I asked the vet and she said it was ok that he was only peeing once a day
I really dont know anymore

If I do go higher I will make sure to keep testing him often

Thanks for all your help
Denise and Shakes
 
You could also ask your vet about the Somogyi effect. Let her tell you how she factors it in and what makes her decide if the dose is too high or too low. It would be interesting info to have. And as frustrating as it is, it is still possible she is right. But I do understand that it stinks to be caught in between and not know which way to go. I used to not tell my vet ( who really was not interested in home testing) but it would have been nice to have some one I could have really talked to openly.
 
On the topic of lower #s with the lower dose I'd say it's relative - blues and greens on a lower dose, yes, that is good. If it's lower yellows or lower pinks, it's more of a yawn IMO. Sometimes with PZI they just get higher PSs on a higher dose and that's part of the trade-off. It's a pain. Drinking more at the lower dose sounds clear to me the dose is too low.
 
thank you all for your input
I decided to go up to 2.5 and I will watch and see what happens
Your support had been a godsend through this whole mess!

Judy
My vet did bring up the somongi effect and she said that it does not happen until
the BG numbers go to to the 30's and 40's.
which he has not done so I believe that is why she says I need to up him.

Hope everyone is having a great day!
Thanks Denise and Shakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top