5/9 Rex AMPS 58, +4 62, +7 58, +10 56, PMPS 63, +2 & +3 43, +4 63, +5 71

Status
Not open for further replies.
If it was me, I'd skip again this morning and feed some HC food. Rex is on a mission. I'd still come home and check at lunch. If you decide to shoot, I'd go with 0.25 units.
 
Full-blown panic here ... I tend to think back over what I did while driving to work. While driving a few minutes ago, I realized I actually shot 0.5u! I plan to run home for +4 for sure. I cannot believe I did that.
 
Did you leave some food out? You'll be back to check on him in a few, try not to panic (I know, easier said than done!).
I cannot leave food out. I haven't bought an auto feeder yet. I did give LC/HC mix for breakfast. The reason why I cannot leave food out is because I cannot guarantee Rex is the one eating it, plus my dog LOVES the wet food. He would be the one eating all of it.
 
The HC in the mix is great, it'll help keep him out of the danger zone while you're gone (not that he seems to mind the 40's all that much! I do think he'll end up being one of those cats that "runs low" normally).
 
Adding HC to the mix was a good idea. Hopefully he'll surf safely until you can check on him. My suggestion to skip was just being extra cautious.
 
Yes, it was a hard choice between 0.25u or skip and I ended up giving 0.5u. :banghead:
It's really hard with these small measurements - I looked this morning as well and I feel like maybe I have been drawing up .5 rather than .25 as well, it's really hard...
 
It's really hard with these small measurements - I looked this morning as well and I feel like maybe I have been drawing up .5 rather than .25 as well, it's really hard...
I will have to check out your condo. I forgot you were giving very little because I was looking at your signature and saw 3 units.
 
Hope Rex stays safe, the HC should bolster his numbers a bit.

When are you hoping to get back to him?

He's not making it easy for you.
It 's difficult to leave food out for them when there are other pets in the house. Some members in the sort of situation that you were in this morning have opted for isolating the FD kitty in a room where they can have access to the food, but none of the civies can get to it, perhaps that might be an option, not ideal, but would be a way to manage the food and try and keep him safe on days like today.
 
Hope Rex stays safe, the HC should bolster his numbers a bit.

When are you hoping to get back to him?

He's not making it easy for you.
It 's difficult to leave food out for them when there are other pets in the house. Some members in the sort of situation that you were in this morning have opted for isolating the FD kitty in a room where they can have access to the food, but none of the civies can get to it, perhaps that might be an option, not ideal, but would be a way to manage the food and try and keep him safe on days like today.
I plan to grab a +4 test for sure. +4 to +6 is usually the nadir. Keyword usually. Then I will decide what I need to do at that point.
The only place I could do that is my bedroom or the bathroom and other members of the household are in and out both rooms after I leave so it's not feasible. The bathroom is too small to have a litter box and I do not want one in my bedroom. However, if my stepson decides to move out this summer after graduating, then his room would work.
 
Oh Mandy, I went BTB and just now seeing this. Deep breath..........and so glad you can go home around +4. If he isn't just surfing you can carb him up and abort the cycle. I'm talking like a can of FF gravy lovers. Keep us posted.
 
Last edited:
IMG_0054.GIF
You have earned this!
 
Thank you, Rex, for being our poster boy for "shoot low to stay low"! And thank you for staying away from the sharks (as far as we know) while Mama was gone.

I'm with Gill. I'm not sure Rex will still be on insulin when/if your stepson moves out! (anti-jinx)
 
I just scrutinized Rex's SS and noticed that when a NS is not part of the equation, Rex was lasting only 2-3 cycles on a dose after he went up to 3 units and his pancreas had some time to heal. But once he started coming down, he stayed at a dose for only 1-2 cycles. It makes me wonder what I am in for tonight and tomorrow! :cat:
 
I just scrutinized Rex's SS and noticed that when a NS is not part of the equation, Rex was lasting only 2-3 cycles on a dose after he went up to 3 units and his pancreas had some time to heal. But once he started coming down, he stayed at a dose for only 1-2 cycles. It makes me wonder what I am in for tonight and tomorrow! :cat:
The way he is skipping through doses without the depot filling up, it is hard to know. See what you get as a PMPS and go from there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top