5/9 Putty AMPS 471

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miriam and Putty (GA)

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14043

Happy Mother's Day.

Sorry for such a long post.
I had a hard time writing this number. Putty has been a diabetic since Aug. 08 and has never had a number this high. Sometimes I feel the longer I am here the less I understand about my own cat. :YMSIGH:
One would think he needs more insulin but 4 days ago he was in the 40's ( and did not bounce this high) and last night in the 50's so an increase I believe is not warranted yet.
It has been suggested that I shoot an 11/11 schedule to get a jump on the bounce but every time I was going to start Putty would outsmart me and give me a number that was too low to shoot at +11.
I know I share my frustration with many others here that also have a hard time understanding why our kitty's pancreas does not respond like others that seem to be easily regulated or quickly OTJ. Please do not think that I am implying in any way that a regulated or OTJ cat is easy.....it is just as much hard work and many sleepless nights to get to that point....I have been there I understand.
I guess we all need to vent our frustrations every now and them because this is the only place that we all get it....my non Lantus Land friends think I am a little crazy doing what I do. Oh and I am also grumpy because DH is in India for 8 days which means I have had to do the early morning routine....well it really has only been one morning so far but I am getting out all of my grumpiness out in one day. :mrgreen:

I thought I had read that there is a test to see if a cat is type 1 or type 2.....does anyone know if there is such a thing or have any information about it?
 
It's my understanding that there's not a reliable method for diagnosing Type 1 vs. Type 2 FD. Sorry!!

Had you thought about the food manipulation approach that Jill suggested for Gabby? I think both of our kitties bounce and it's a way to try to avoid the bouncing and get the liver less panicky.
 
Happy Mother's Day Miriam

You have an amazing support group here. I understand how difficult it is to watch what Putty does and see what else goes on in Lantus.
You are so helpful to others here and I only wish that Putty will get there too.
You are an amazing mom to him and a great friend to the rest of us here.
I too miss our mornings we spent, the 7:00am watch dogs. :-D

We can only do the best for our babies and keep them as healthy as possible.
Max and I thank you so much for being there for us and I hope that eases some of your frustrations today.
:YMHUG:
 
Hi Miriam, Yes, it's frustrating, but it's what our cats feel like giving us! They don't want us to take them forgranted. So chalk that 471 AMPS up to a Mother's Day present and carry on!!! I think the food approach with smaller meals more often is helping Stu a bit, but I still can't interpret his numbers. He likes to bounce, too. They can be bounce buddies. They can swap notes at Scrabble's party this evening. (maybe they should swap notes with Scrabble!) Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Putty - your mamabean does not like this number - come down now! Hopefully you will see some better midcycle numbers. Maybe the meter had a hiccup.
I know the frustration Miriam. Tuscany has been on a decent roll the last 2 months but there doesn't ever seem to be an end in sight. It is also frustrating when DH is home and need to go to work but still procrastinate getting up to give shot. (I had to finally get out of bed before he jumped out and said I"m going, I'm going - geez so much for my day to sleep in!). There, now I'm using your condo to vent for myself - must be contagious!

I hope the 8 days without DH go smoothly and quickly. Enjoy your mother's day and eat some chocolate today!! :-D
 
(((Miriam))) I am so sorry that you are having so many problems with Putty's BG's. I know absolutely nothing about stuff, but can you look into using R, testing for insulin resistance, custom dosing like Michelle/Doodle uses, etc etc (again, forgive my ignorance if these are not applicable).

Sorry DH is shirking his early morning duties. Hey, did you clean out that closet and find the bug nest yet?
 
Miriam, I totally understand your frustration (although Buzz has not been on insulin quite that long yet), and this is absolutely the place to vent. My friends think I'm crazy, too, but we all really know the score here, don't we? :-D

I hope Putty comes down soon. Buzz is a bouncer, too, and it sounds like we've got a little roving gang of them, with Putty and Stu and Gabby. I guess they can all take trips to RBC together and keep an eye on each other. Stay strong, and just remember that no matter what his # is, Putty loves you and you are doing the very best you can, which is really great.
 
I'm so sorry to see this Miriam! I just hate the bouncers and just hate that Putty is having issues and really wish we knew what to do. This protocol is so successful for so many cats yet it completely fails others. Yet, as far as I know, nobody knows what to do with these guys. Maybe it's time for this group to start experimenting more and come up with a protocol that works for bouncers (not that I would have any idea what to do). Maybe two insulins are needed - a basal and a quicker acting one? I would SO like for something to help these guys.

Good luck and enjoy Mother's Day with your young'un (although she's not really that young).
 
OUCH! What on earth are you doing Mr. polite Puster? "Sorry" he says politely of course :roll: Your mama is gonna keep poking you with sharp objects until all the air is out and you can't bounce anymore. I don't see it in the cards for today but as soon as you get back from trip to RBC I'm sending Mr. Green to visit you :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
(((Miriam))))

Polite Putty.... what are you doing? Where is your instructions manual?
Your mamabean only wants your cooperation, not miracles...

Miriam, I wish I knew what to tell you, but I am clueless.... I can only offer moral support!
 
Hi Miriam and Putty, so sorry about the number this morning!!!!! Scrabble will give Putty a talking to at the party! I will def miss our early morning chats with you and Randi! but we will be by often to visit!!!! Hope Putty's numbers are down tonight! Thanks for being a great support and help to us!!!
 
Re: 5/9 Putty recap

AMPS 471
+3 333
+76 306
+9 274
PMPS 255
+2 251
+4 205

PM shot was one hour late. Thank you for all the support today. I guess that is my rant for the month.....hmm, it's only the 9th huh? I probably should have waited since I give myself only one rant per month. ohmygod_smile
 
Hi Miriam. I'm so sorry that you are having a frustrating time of it lately. I know how frustrating this crazy sugar dance can be. Tori likes to bounce too sometimes but not to the degree that Putty does. I wish I had some suggestions to help you guys. I'm not an expert by any means. Just try and hang in there OK? You are doing the best for your baby that you know how and no one can ask more than that including yourself. But yes an instruction manual sure would be nice. I could use one for Tori too.
 
So sorry you are so frustrated on the very day Putty should be so thankful for having such a great & loving momma bean.
Many of us are frustrated by this very unreasonable disease & know what you are going through..Hopefully it's one number for just one day--Let's hope it comes down real soon for you.
My DH is such a klutz( too slow for any cat) I wouldnt trust him to shoot Moonie, as he does what many men do--DOESNT LISTEN to me!! So I dont think he can ever learn to give a shot. Oh well, nothing like all the responsibility--Gee now I'm venting too( Sorry)!!!
Hope tomorrow is better--HUGS~!
 
hindsight is 20/20 (well, mine isn't, but that's the saying anyway), but I wonder if the 471 was Putty's high before the break. He doesn't always do that, but he *has* been going down slowly all day. At this rate he'll be blue (or green) by morning.

I personally don't think Putty is a candidate for R, because he can drop from any PS. Shooting at +10 or +11 when he bounces would help, like if you hit +10 after any green as long as he's rising. Unfortunately he likes to have green at night, which would mean you would have to get up waaaaaaay early to shoot at +10. You can also talk to Jill about how she is managing Alex's dose - basically she will increase even if she has lots of green, and manage the curve with food to try to prevent Alex from going low enough to earn a reduction. Basically more insulin, and then more strategic use of carbs to counteract that extra insulin, to try to get a lot more green but not low green. There's also somebody, I think maybe Michelle/Doodle, who has found that her cat does *better* eating slightly higher carb food all the time. Maybe use 8%-10% as his regular food, then raise the dose to compensate. Just some random thoughts at midnight, we'll see if they make any sense in the morning. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top