? 5/9 Pearl AMPS 89, +3.5 75 do I try a reduction?

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning and Happy Mother's Day, kitty mommas!

Pearl is still doing really well on the 2.25U dose. This is the 30th cycle on this dose...since this has never happened before that she has held something so long, my question is: do I try to reduce (even just a little 1/8thU) or just keep going at this good dose for her? She doesn't really blip up into the blues, but she doesn't get too low in the greens that I think she wants off. (PS - please discount the blues after the PRED when you're evaluating her chart for reduction. Wendy has said to just ignore that, it is limiting to Pearl for such a small amount of time).

Thank you for all the good wishes about Chessie. They weren't able to get a urinalysis on her at the vet (first time ever for me no cysto possible too small bladder), so sent me home with some no sorb. I have to get that tomorrow morning hopefully then off to the vet with the sample.

I hope you are all well and happy on this Sunday!

Friday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-7-pearl-amps-82-2-5-71-4-81.247079/#post-2786774
 
Hi Margaret, I can't give dosing advice, but I do have to say that Pearl's numbers look great! I hope you can get the sample for Chessie tomorrow. Have a nice day ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
30 cycles on the same dose is a bit long if you're still following TR. From the dosing sticky:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit;
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Based on the 2nd bullet point, you can reduce the dose. The majority of Pearl's numbers are in the normal range (50 - 120 on a human meter.)
 
30 cycles on the same dose is a bit long if you're still following TR. From the dosing sticky:
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit;
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Based on the 2nd bullet point, you can reduce the dose. The majority of Pearl's numbers are in the normal range (50 - 120 on a human meter.)

I am following TR yes. Thank you perfect I will reduce tonight!

Sienne should I try the full 0.25u or just 1/8th? Her numbers aren’t thaaat low I think that’s how I got out of sync with doing a reduction. Also she has always gone below 50 in the past for me just when I’m contemplating. So first time choosing on my own to reduce and not have her tell me lol!
 
I honestly think it's your call. Pearl is within her first year from her diagnosis date. I typically lean toward suggesting that people take the full reduction. You're monitoring closely and know your cat.
 
Back
Top