5/9 Oren; AMPS=282;+2=389;+5.5=458;PMPS=460;+4=336;+6=375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Pattern seems stuck.

Awaiting results of bloodwork this a.m. from vet. When I get her email address I will send her the PDF of the Roomp paper about the protocol (Thanks Sienne!). I discovered that a low cost surgery place I'd heard of in town does dentals as well, but I need to get up with them for more details, this is from their website:
"The cost of a dental at Helping Hands is $175.00 and includes cleaning, polishing, extractions, pain medications and antibiotics. Cats over 9 years of age require pre surgical blood work for their safety which can be done at our office the morning of the procedure for an additional $50.00." (waived if vet has bloodwork <48 hrs. old)

They're not open on weekends, but I will contact them about whether they will do xrays, if they have experience specifically w/ diabetic cats, what pain/anti-biotics meds they use etc. I watched a video on their site, and as they're cleaning they make decisions on teeth that need extracting, due to decay, receded gum lines etc. They won't pull healthy teeth, but will take as many as they deem necessary, at no extra cost. They first chart whatever teeth are already missing, and at the end, will give you a chart showing which teeth they extracted.

They do not do diagnostic work so I guess that may mean they don't do xrays? I might have to have a referral from my vet (that might get touchy?!). They do come highly recommended as a quality place to get low cost procedures done in order to help prevent people from deciding on euthanasia due to cost. It's all outpatient as well.
 
Good luck with your dental care research. Hope it all works out well for you. Sure can make a difference with a FD kitty.

Marilyn and Polly
 
not 100% sure, but think Oren got a bit of dry DM kibble this a.m. due to sister Patty breaking into the cabinet where it is on the TOP SHELF!
when i came down to do his test, i didn't realize there was a scattering of it on the floor in the kitchen, and when I let him out of his room while getting the testing supplies ready he may have gotten a few mouthfuls.. hoping that's what's driving these higher numbers today, but can't be sure. :blackeye:. I have to go sing at the ordination of a friend as a new UU minister today, and so at least this buys me a mostly worry free afternoon.
 
It's kinda nice to see that others on here have kitties with very very healthy appetites! I keep reading about people who can't get their kitties to eat (which sounds terribly frustrating) but at the same time, mine is a little vacuum cleaner and a master thief! Haven't any of our kitties heard of "happy mediums"???
 
never heard back from vet today w/ blood results. Just more frustration. that and lots of pink and red. pluggin, pluggin, plugging...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top