? 5/9 Noodle AMPS 370 +2 256 +4 210 +6 193 +8 159 +10 104 +12 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-258-2-75-323-5-289-dosecrease-threat.137491/

Loonnngg day yesterday and now I feel like allergies are finally catching up to me and knocking me out... or I have a cold. I decided to increase this morning in favor of getting some sleep last night. Of course, I was up at 5am with a sinus headache and sneezing. Neti Pot time!

Noodle is doing well, but her lack of appy in the morning is confounding me. She wakes me up at AMPS, waits for food, nibbles a little, then decides it bores her and walks away. I don't think it's nausea, yesterday she ate it all eventually. I don't want to push it and prompt a barf episode, but I can't figure it out. By PMPS, she eats really well! Its been since hairball season started that she really doesn't seem to feel like eating bright and early, I wonder if they're connected. :banghead: Have a great Saturday, L&LL! :coffee::coffee::coffee:
 
Last edited:
No idea on the sluggish morning appy. My Polly is fussy in the morning, too. But we have a routine that works. She eats a bit, enough to allow for shooting. Then I sprinkle some fortiflora on her remaining breakfast, move her plate to the other side of the counter. She eats a bit more. Then I put her plate on the floor. Leave her alone in the bathroom and she finally finishes. Stinker.

Good luck with the dosecrease.

Marilyn and Polly
 
No idea on the sluggish morning appy. My Polly is fussy in the morning, too. But we have a routine that works. She eats a bit, enough to allow for shooting. Then I sprinkle some fortiflora on her remaining breakfast, move her plate to the other side of the counter. She eats a bit more. Then I put her plate on the floor. Leave her alone in the bathroom and she finally finishes. Stinker.

Good luck with the dosecrease.

Marilyn and Polly
Thanks Marilyn! She ate her second mini meal well and about half of her breffis, so I'm hoping it's just a weird morning thing for now.
 
Max used to start hollering for food at least 45 minutes before ge could get it. Now that's hit or miss. He seems to eat his baby food and then it can take up to 1 1/2 hours before the ff. I think it's a combo of shedding and ingesting more fur and an overall lower BG but that's just my guess. Have a great weekend.
 
I think cats are like people and they have days where they just don't feel like eating much, or mornings. Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope you feel better soon. I hate allergy season.
 
Trix can be funny with her first breffis, too...sometimes she needs to get started and then her appy kicks in a little while later. I wish they could talk, though! I'm sure Carla is right...kitties can be like people and have those ups and downs. Hopefully her appy is much heftier now...have a great afternoon, Patricia!
 
Sasha and Minka both need their appies kick started in the morning. Most days, Minka needs her Ondansetron/Pepcid combo to kick in first. I've started giving Sasha some, too, since her morning appy has been consistently weak lately. Are you giving Noodle anything like coconut oil for hairballs? Does she ever throw up white foam? If so, Pepcid would help.

Sending appy vines for Noodle and good sinus vines for you!
 
Thanks for the input, everyone! Carla: She finally decided to listen to your daily wishes and slide down nicely. :cat:

Elise: I do think it could be partly her not needing as much food anymore, I'm just wary of decreasing her calories with her history. Something to email the vet about for sure.

Amy: I think you and Carla are right about that too, sometimes an off appy is just an off appy.

Tricia: Thanks for the ideas! She does get a hairball supplement daily, she actually likes it more than any of her treats (it's a tablet with SEB and Psyllium). Sometimes the only way to get her to eat when I need her to is to break it up on top of her food! I've given a little olive oil on days it seems to be bothering her and just found some coconut oil to try since that seems to be more popular here. She's only vomiting white foam when she has an empty stomach and can't get the hairball up, I will give Cerenia or Pepcid in that case. Pre-DX, vomiting her food when she had an icky hairball was not at all uncommon -- I'm just watching her a lot more closely now!:nailbiting:
 
Cripes. I forgot to anti-jinx my day. 46 at PMPS, skipping for now. Will look at my schedule and see what I can do about shooting later. May do 18 hour cycles--I'm feeling pretty badly myself, so a PJ party sounds awful.

Any ideas on what her next dose should be? Any feeding strategies to avoid this continuous drop she likes to throw me on a dose that seems to actually work? I break up her meals from PS to +5 now, first is 1.5oz, next 4 are .75oz. @julie & punkin (ga) ?
 
Noodle, Noodle, Noodle - whatya doing there? :eek::D If you aren't up to shifting the schedule, then skip or 18 hour schedule will work.

She seems to like to do these bounce breaking cycles every time you try to increase to 1.5U. :rolleyes: She did the same on May 1st. My one thought to try to prevent this is to try to get a +9 or +9.5 when you increase and see she is breaking her bounce. Today she had gone down 50 points from +8 to +10, so giving her a little LC snack at +9/+9.5 might put the brakes on the slide. When they are breaking the bounce, there's often some extra downward momentum, taking the lower than they normally would go. Depending on how much you can monitor, I'd be tempted to try the 1.5 for a bit longer, maybe even trying to up the carbs a bit to keep her there.
 
If you're unable to monitor and skip tonight, which sounds like it might be the best idea given how you're feeling I think I would shoot 1.5 in the morning (assuming she gets the icky number I'd expect) to refill the shed a bit and in the same vein as shooting through a bounce, and then drop back to 1.25 for the PM shot. It's quite possible that tonight's 46 would have happened even without the increase as that was the first dose of the increase so she may even be bucking for a reduction from 1.25 in a few days after the depot has settled :D
 
Hmm, ok. Lots to think about. It kills me do to it again this week, but I think skipping may be best tonight considering how I'm feeling. I'm expecting reds in the morning and if I get them I'll shoot the 1.5u then.
@Vyktors Mum and @Wendy&Neko, since you suggested different doses, what do you think about splitting the difference and finding a S1.5u/F1.25u? I have control syringes for both doses and can just make a new one between the two. It seems 1.25u isn't quite enough, but 1.5u drops her like a rock within a few cycles. My goal right now is to try to flatten her out, not let her earn reductions. Finding a higher carb food will be a slow process because she doesn't react well to food changes.
Wendy- What about cycles where I can't grab a +9? Should I just add a couple tsps LC to her feeder for then anyways?

ETA: Plus side, I can take the good cold medicine tonight and maybe sleep this off!
 
Sleep is good - shake that bug. As for dose, try the in between, might as well experiment.

For food, I'd add a bit to the autofeeder if you can see she's breaking a bounce. It was obvious today cause it's the weekend. On May 1st her +3 was quite a bit lower, but it also was on May 7th and she didn't do anything more that cycle. Again, the autofeeder late fuds will be an experiment.
 
The idea with a situation like Noodle's is to prevent a dose reduction by carbing in advance. Giving a slightly larger dose will help bring down the higher numbers in the cycle, but you've got to hold up her nadirs so she doesn't go too low. Does that make sense? I'd carb her at whatever point she gets to about 75 or so in the cycle to prevent her from going below 50. Low carb at the right time might be sufficient, or maybe a slightly higher low carb, maybe a 10% or so would do it. I think skipping tonight will break the pattern from today, and she'll likely bounce, but I think the ideal situation would be to keep her at 1.5u for a few cycles.

However, there is a certain risk to staying at a dose that you know can put her in the 40's. So only do this if you are fully aware of that risk and want to try it anyway. If it seems at all confusing or like it doesn't make sense, then it's not a good idea to try it. This is specific advice for you with Noodle, not for every lurker. You know Noodle and have the skills to do this.

The other two options that people do when their cat keeps failing to hold the reduction, like Noodle is doing:

1. go to a "3 times below 50 and then reduce by 0.25u" option or
2. some people shave the dose with each time under 50.

It is important not to mix and match those two options, however, ie, don't let her go below 50 three times and then just shave. That could put her at a risk of being overdosed.

Also, if you're sick, maybe it's not the best time and maybe going to a slightly smaller dose or the 1.25u that Serryn is suggesting would be a better idea.
 
Oh Noodle - you do pick the worst possible moments don't you? :P

I'd agree that skipping tonight is best - if you're not feeling good, you need to sleep not have a PJ party. She'll get back on track quickly - she has done other times when you've had to skip. And you can't stay up monitoring when you need sleep yourself.

I hope you feel better in the morning and that Noodle behaves herself and eats for you tonight. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top