5/9 Luci AMPS 258,2+301,5+249,7+248,PMPS 208,2+176 2 days until road trip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ys-until-4-day-road-trip.195281/#post-2186603

I found this info on the calipers sticky: (referred to me in another condo).
For example, using the Terumo U100, 0.3cc, 1/2-unit marking syringes where 1.52mm = 1u:
0.15mm = 0.1u
0.3mm = 0.2u
0.38mm = 0.25u
0.76mm = 0.5u
1.14mm = 0.75u
1.52mm = 1u
etc.
I'm using a different syringe: do these numbers apply as well? Still waiting for dosage reducie advice? What do I drop to? We're at 1.5 this morning and I gave her 1.5 u insulin - so hopefully by tonight we'll have a new dosage recommendation of insulin to give and will have figured out where it is on the calipers/syringe.
 
Since your syringe is different, you will need to calibrate it to your syringe.

The things to weigh in for your travel is how stressed she does or doesn't get in the car. You indicated that she is a good traveler and doesn't seemed to bothered by it. But, I read some post on your tread this morning from yesterday that indicated that she might not eat for you while you are on the road. So, that could be a problem for you. With that in mind, it would be best to reduce her by .25 of unit making her dose 1.25. It would be nice if she earned a reduction on her own today making your decision easier. :rolleyes:
 
she might not eat for you while you are on the road.
Since Luci eats all day at home - free feeding - not eating on the road - I'm not sure about - since she will eat in the car when I give her treats - she just doesn't seem to be very interested in as much food as she gets at home. We also have a new treat - those freeze dried nuggets of salmon and chicken - she absolutely finds those irresistible. So I'm sure she'll eat those. And she also loves a new food - Sheba pate's - I bought a few the other day - wow! She goes crazy when I open one of those - so she may very well find that's irresistible too.

She also seems very relaxed while in the car. I'm willing to try to get a few readings - but with TR it's my understanding that I'm supposed to test at least every 2-3 hours - which from the front seat of the car seems like a lot - I'm very torn about reducing her dosage since she's highly unlikely to 'earn a reduction' today - looking at her numbers I'm worried about her diabetes just being out of control! I'm worried she's going to start with the ketones again - and that's another issue I'd rather not have to try to test for on the road...

It's a small price to pay to get her out of the carrier and test her rather than letting her sugars continue to rise...those pinks she's throwing out now and then worry me to no end...

My gut tells me to leave her dosage as is; bring along Sheba pate's and freeze dried for in the car; the usual FF for hotels. Test at least every 3 hours - I know from her usual routine that she hits her nadirs early in the day; so that'll be my time to focus on getting her tested...maybe it'll be a good time to stop for breakfast for the beans anyway - we like to start as early as possible; most likely as soon as her AMPS test/insulin. I have an emergency kit ready too (HC, MC and honey).

Where is the hand wringing icon when you need it? :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
but with TR it's my understanding that I'm supposed to test at least every 2-3 hours
This is incorrect. That is for newly diagnosed diabetic cats when you do not know how they will react to insulin.

Since you have been at this for a few months now, you know to test early in the cycle if it's warranted, but otherwise, you can get by with 2 tests per cycle. That's what I did with Rex when I had to work during the day then I did 3 before going to bed.

It's totally your call what you want to do.. "Know Thy Cat" is very important.

One suggestion if you are uncomfortable taking Luci out of the kennel to test is to have her wear a collar and then you can clip a leash on her before letting her out so you have a grip on her at all times.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looking at her numbers I don't think I'd want to take her down either, I can see your thinking there.

If anything she it is looking like she has lost her mojo on this dose and I would be looking at taking the dose up to 1.75u (if we didn't have the roadtrip).
Just wanted to put that out there for your consideration.

Of course we all know what happened last time I said she looked like she needed more juice:rolleyes:
 
If anything she it is looking like she has lost her mojo on this dose and I would be looking at taking the dose up to 1.75u (if we didn't have the roadtrip).
Just wanted to put that out there for your consideration.

You're reading my mind. This girl is ready for an increase - but since she likes to deep dive with any increases before she levels out - I'm not going to take that risk. She'll have to make do with the 1.5 u she's getting now - since I've just gotten calipers at least now I can hope that the dose is more accurate than previously - however I doubt that's going to get her anywhere near the lagoon before we go. I'd just be happy if she'd stay in the blues and well, yes a few yellows are tolerable - but those pinks worry me - and I'm just hoping not to rock the depot/insulin boat too much before we get back on home turf.

I don't want her going to keto land either...fingers crossed she is still getting enough insulin to stave off that nasty business (she had ketones at the vet the one time in the beginning)...I know that's serious business...so just trying to hold the course until we get this road trip behind us - enjoy the trip - and once we get home get into the serious business of increasing her dosage and watching for the dive!

Thanks to everyone who's responding to my concerns about this trip - I'm stressed out:arghh::arghh: - Luci and DH seem to be taking it all in stride...:facepalm::p:D:D:bighug::bighug:
 
but with TR it's my understanding that I'm supposed to test at least every 2-3 hours
No, the requirement is every preshot and at least one other in each cycle. You do want to test every 3 hours when starting Lantus, but you are well past that now.

Now that it's been 8 and going on 9 cycles since she's been green, you are probably OK holding the dose. This is why we usually wait until the last minute before deciding on a vacation or travel dose. Darn cats are so unpredictable! Having said that, the +2 has been a really good indicator for what Luci has planned for the cycle. Getting that on the road may help you decide if you need more tests. I see times where she's lime green before +3.
 
No, the requirement is every preshot and at least one other in each cycle. You do want to test every 3 hours when starting Lantus, but you are well past that now.

Now that it's been 8 and going on 9 cycles since she's been green, you are probably OK holding the dose. This is why we usually wait until the last minute before deciding on a vacation or travel dose. Darn cats are so unpredictable! Having said that, the +2 has been a really good indicator for what Luci has planned for the cycle. Getting that on the road may help you decide if you need more tests. I see times where she's lime green before +3.

You are correct about her - most often when she starts in low to mid blues she goes for the lagoon by 2+; although she surprised me on 4/30 and went later! I will get that 2+ and then unless she's dropping at that point - I'm going to leave her be until we get to the hotel - we don't drive into the night so that should be within 6-8 hours of the 2+ (depending on traffic, etc.)

I believe Luci is ready for a dose increase and therefore isn't getting enough insulin to help get her to the lagoon - and I've got a feeling her depot is nearly drained or drained also. She hasn't been anywhere near blue since yesterday morning - I just wish she'd stay away from those pinks - that worries me...but we'll get this trip out of the way and then as soon as we get home will start with an increase to 1.75 to see where that takes us. She is eating well, playful, peeing and pooping so she thinks everything is fine. She's excited about the packing and is getting into everything :cat:
 
I believe Luci is ready for a dose increase and therefore isn't getting enough insulin to help get her to the lagoon - and I've got a feeling her depot is nearly drained or drained also.
Boy she sure made a liar out of me today! :eek::eek: So much for my predictive abilities - I must defer to Ms. Queen Luci for all things - I'll be the Jester who knows nadda...:confused:what was I thinking assuming that I'd be able to - for one minute - predict what that fickle cat is going to do!:banghead::banghead:

And now in my whisper voice - you see how she treats me? I get this every day... :facepalm: And the Queen looks down upon me shaking her head - poor mama bean - snicker, snicker, snicker...just keep 'em guessing...keep 'em guessing :cat: signed, 'The Superior Being' aka Luci George...large and in charge!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top