5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499, 291~+4.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Very Active Member
Come on! These bounces are killing me.

She ate fairly well - not great, but not bad this morning. Somewhere during the night, when I thought she was in bed with me, it seems her shredded turkey disappeared and as far as I know, she's the only one that will eat it.


Yesterday
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :(

Looks like you had an interesting day yesterday!! Let's hope we see some yellow and blue again today but ease into it and stay there Kasha!! Pretty please ?
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350 ~ +4

Numbers staying in the high zone today. I'm not happy but she seems perfectly ok with it.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499

Well, my laptop just died. Dont know what in going to do - can't afford cats and new computer. Typing on phone sucks. And I'm ready to give up - is this really doing Kasha any good? Her numbers are worse than when we started. Feel like I'm killing myself over this and nothing I'm doing makes any positive difference.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

hang in there, I really think today she is still bouncing from the low blue yesterday. It looks like Kasha still has a tendency to hang onto her bounces for a couple of days. If it doesn't break tomorrow, we can increase the dose again.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

Well, at least the laptop is working again. Why is it that when I try to fix it myself it doesn't work, but I call my dad (cuz BF never answers his phone) and ask his advice and he instructs me to do EXACTLY what I've just done on my own and, of course, this time it works.

I'm realizing I sound like such a whiner, but all of this is overwhelming me.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

I understand you are frustrated, but don't give up. I promise it will come together and you'll get lower numbers and flat curves, it just takes time and tweaking of the dose.

When you feel frustrated, think about like this, you are doing the right thing and you are saving Kasha's life. Oh and go have a candy bar or glass of wine or something to make yourself feel better. And remember to hug the cat! She is who you are doing this for.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

What's super frustrating is that I WAS getting lower numbers and better curves until a few weeks ago and then the UTI and dosecrease to .25 combined and one or the other or both (or who knows what) threw us for a loop and now her numbers are wonkier than they were to begin with. I feel like I've been bait and switched.

I just had a talk with her about working on getting these numbers down. I hope she took it seriously.

Tonight somehow Blue (civvie) cannot eat after 10 pm. It sounds so simple, but I am not sure how this is going to work. I've been feeding his brother, Big Cat, kibble in the basement stairwell since he wasn't eating and I didn't know what to do - now he wants eat there all the time. But Blue is going to see a specialist in the morning to see if the tumor on his foot can be treated or the foot amputated while giving him some quality of life still. It's in a bad location and I'm not sure what the outcome will be - I'm so nervous. And I don't really have anywhere to "stash" Blue in the morning when the other 2 eat. I guess I'll have to lock him out in the basement and hope I can find him again for the appt. Blue is such a piggy and no doubt he will find something to eat (that cat would eat drywall), and he'll be crying and yowling non-stop until he does. That should be fun.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350 ~ +4

kryskat said:
Numbers staying in the high zone today. I'm not happy but she seems perfectly ok with it.

I had such a hard time in the beginning with Shadoe; I was doing all I was supposed to be doing but her numbers would not come down and she was acting like everything was fine!
But see, that's the thing! SHE was acting better, and the numbers were just a bit slower to happen. It was like Shadoe thought those high numbers were the right numbers, so when she dropped closer to the really right numbers, she acted like they were the WRONG numbers! And so up she went! Her body just had to get used to those good numbers and over time, she did just that.

Look to Kasha, look to see how she is acting and feeling. I bet she is acting alot better than she was before her dx, and giving her some time, she is going to get even better very soon.

Pats and hugs for Kasha; she knows you are doing all this for her and she is grateful, she really is.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

Hi Kryskat,
Im sorry to hear you have so much on your plate. I empathize with you on the numbers/bouncing. Latte has been doing similar things since a bit before her UTI. Its very, very frustrating. VERY! Everyone here will offer you guidance, so hang in there...its hard.

I was thinking, could you put blue in the bathroom tomorrow? Or even in the carrier to isolate from food?

I hope things go well tomorrow.

Oh and btw...I have a very slow laptop that is about to die. I use my phone a lot and it is not as much fun as you would think! :roll: I hear ya!
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

Hi Krys, I hope that everything will go OK with Blue tomorrow. And I'm sure that Kasha will bring down her numbers in "her" time (not yours!). We all deal with weird trends and wonky numbers. It's part of the Feline Diabetes thing. But you will begin to see positive changes in Kasha, just like everyone has said in the other posts. Just hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

Krys --

You've got a lot on your plate -- 2 kitties that you're worrying about.

Try to keep in mind that it's Kasha who has the lead in this dance. You are on top of his dose and increasing in a safe and sane way. Sometimes a UTI or some other issue will be a stumbling block to progress. The thing is though, even though numbers were good, we have no way to know if numbers would have crept up even if the UTI didn't happen. It's an unknown. You are doing everything you possibly can. At one level, with Kasha's number being up for the moment, you aren't having to worry about taking your other cat to the vet and Kasha's numbers being too low. Big breath. It will all work out when Kasha is ready to have it work out.
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Kryskat,
Im sorry to hear you have so much on your plate. I empathize with you on the numbers/bouncing. Latte has been doing similar things since a bit before her UTI. Its very, very frustrating. VERY! Everyone here will offer you guidance, so hang in there...its hard.

I was thinking, could you put blue in the bathroom tomorrow? Or even in the carrier to isolate from food?

I hope things go well tomorrow.

Oh and btw...I have a very slow laptop that is about to die. I use my phone a lot and it is not as much fun as you would think! :roll: I hear ya!

Hey Carolyn - hope Latte is still doing well. I can't really put Blue in the bathroom or a carrier cuz he'll just scream for hours and then probably start peeing in it - at the very least - LOL... He's deaf, so it won't bother him and his brother is also deaf, but poor Kasha can still hear (though not as well as she used to). I don't want to stress her all out any more than need be either. He'll cry in the basement, but possibly she won't hear him or at least not as well. Deaf cats can be VERY loud - LOL...
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350~ +4, PMPS 499. Very unhappy

Ok - at least we touched the yellows tonight.

I think I've come to a tentative solution for keeping Blue from food in the morning. I can let his brother downstairs/in stairwell to eat. And everyone is used to Kasha getting special treatment (especially Kasha), so maybe I can just feed her wherever she is (in bed, or wherever Her Majesty happens to be) and see if Blue will leave us alone enuf to get some food in her. At least, that's the current Plan A...
 
Re: 5/9 Kasha AMPS 496 :( 350 ~ +4

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Look to Kasha, look to see how she is acting and feeling. I bet she is acting alot better than she was before her dx, and giving her some time, she is going to get even better very soon.

Pats and hugs for Kasha; she knows you are doing all this for her and she is grateful, she really is.

I love what Gayle wrote here earlier... I had just been looking at Kasha and thinking that she is acting and looking pretty good for someone with numbers so high. If I weren't monitoring her - I doubt I'd realize she was running high. She's attacking my hand and being kind of snotty - that's my girl. And for some reason, when I head over to her for the 10th time that day with my little ear piercing kit and meter, she starts purring. She's NOT the kind of cat who purrs at me for no good reason. And I don't think it's one of those times where a cat will purr for bad reasons, like I've heard can happen. No - she acts like she's sort of pleased at the attention she's getting. I can't believe she lets me do this stuff to her... I would never have believed it could happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top