5/9 Here's Polly! AMPS=252 +6=291 PMPS=391 +2=229 +4=219

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
New here. Trying to follow TR. Spreadsheet in my signature.

5/8

amps=408 .05 U (eating well)
+7 = 304
+10 = 356

pmps = 279 dose upped to .75 (advice from forum, confirmed by vet) see spreadsheet for background
+3 = 311
+8 = 266

5/9

amps=252
+6 = 291 snack (1 oz ff turkey pate)

pmps = 391 .75 U (eats well)
+2 = 229 snack (<1 oz DM canned)
+4 = 219

I'll test again at +7 and see what's how far down she goes. Try to check her nadir each night. Looks like she's bouncing a bit, but I'm so new at this I'm not sure.

Any advice, comments will be sooooo appreciated.

Thanks.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Hi Marilyn. I don't think I've stopped in and welcomed you and sweet Polly yet. As to be expected with a newly diagnosed cat, Polly is doing some bouncing. You are doing a great job on testing to date. Although we like to see the data, you don't have to try to get a nadir every night, just when you think she might be going lower. We encourage a +2 or +3 test. On Lantus, the +2 is a great indicator of what the cycle will look like. If it's higher than the preshot, chances are you don't need that nadir check and can just get a before bed test. If the +2 is lower than the preshot, then you'll likely need to do more testing.

I notice on Polly's spreadsheet that you are feeding snacks in the last half of the cycle. The insulin starts to wane after nadir, so it's best to limit the number of carbs they get in after that or the numbers will rise faster. My Neko insists on a afternoon snack but I try to just give her a very small zero carb snack.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

It looks like you've got some of the basics well in hand. In looking at Polly's SS, my only observation is that with TR, unless you're seeing nadirs that are mostly below 200, you want to consider increasing the dose every 3 days/6 cycles. It looks like you just increased!

Your SS also indicates that Polly is getting fluids. Is there something medical going on? You might want to complete a Profile and add it to you signature so we have a snapshot of Polly's background.

Please let us know if you have questions. We'll do our best to lend a hand.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top