5/9,Chuck,AMPS 374,+1.5 477,+3.5 423,+7 362,+9.5 358,PMPS 351,+2.25 451

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Steph, haven't visited Chuck lately, looking at his numbers it looks like he could do with an increase.
So I would think about doing that when you get back from your vacation.

Are you going to hold the 10.5u as the vacation dose?
 
I would like to hold 10.5 but others have said 10 would be safer. He will get same food and same snacks. I don't think he goes on hunger strikes when I leave.
I might end up with a fat 10 with a colored water syringe for the sitter to compare hers to.
I'm still torn on the dose.
I agree he needs an increase. He did great on the fat 10.5 not sure yet if he's bouncing today or just higher from eating. This last week has been a pain since we were delaying his meals and shots to get to 7am/7pm schedule for the sitter.
I think he'll flatten out a bit more once we get back to on time doses.
I think I'd like to try 10.75 before going to 11 after we get back.
 
I personally like the 10.5u better, especially as you are saying the sitter is going to be checking BG too. I think going down to 10u, might be a bit heavy handed given the cycles he is having on the current dose.
Looking at the 10.5u he hasn't seen green on it for some time, he got to green on the day DH shot 11u, that cycle looked like a bounce clearing cycle so that combined with the dosecrease may well have been responsible for the greens you saw. TBH I probably would have kept him on DH's dose as he probably had some room for an increase. I think he sees so little green that when he dips his toe into the lagoon he races off to the moon like a scalded cat.
But back to the vacation dose, have you thought about a no shoot number?
Is the pet sitter going to be getting am and pm midcycle tests?
Have you prepared a detailed set of instructions for her/him to refer to?
Are you giving her login details in case she has any concerns and can't reach you?


When George went on vacation, my petsitter got a couple midcycle tests in and I know that nothing puts him off his food:rolleyes: so that made me feel a bit more comfortable about leaving him.
 
Right now the plan is preshot tests only. She's going to text me his numbers each cycle. I think maybe 130 for a no shoot. But don't think he'll see that.
If he has under 200 PS she said she could come back around +3 or +4 to check again. I know with 10u that won't happen. I'm really leaning towards 10.5 units. When he's high... He's really high.

+3.5 423 guess it's a bounce today
 
I've decided to keep the dose at 10.5 units for the sitter. No shoot number of 140 unless she can come back and stick around for a couple hours at least. She's going to text me his preshot numbers before feeding or shooting. She said she would try to stop in during the day for a mid cycle test or two.
Chances are he will have a good cycle tomorrow morning then bounce pm, all day 5/11 and good cycle again 5/12 am and bounce again pm, all day 5/13, then a good cycle the am cycle on 5/14 the day I come home by PM cycle-- to a bounce.
One thing I've learned though is to never try to predict Chuck's numbers too far ahead! He does seem to be reading the rule book upside down.
If I have any concerns at all with the dose she will reduce to 10 units until I get home.
Off to pack the last few things then hitting the hay. Early morning tomorrow with a long drive.
 
One thing I've learned though is to never try to predict Chuck's numbers too far ahead! He does seem to be reading the rule book upside down.
I think he's reading the rule book just fine, it's just the alternative, FD Kitty Rule Book:
How to Mess with the Beans.:p, apparently they all get given one when the join the board.:rolleyes:

he seems to take 5 or 6 cycles to start to clear a bounce/ except when he doesn't

Even when he hit green 5/5 you didn't have to change his food much to get him to surf, and he hasn't really been low on this dose. I think he should be ok for you on the 10.5u and sounds like you will be in contact with the sitter, so if he starts to show signs of going lower than you are comfortable with when you are away, you can always skip to drain the depot (not a bad move with a higher dose if you think the numbers are getting ahead of you) and then reduce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top