5/9 Chi Chi AMPS 364 +5 286 +6.5 315 +7.5 316 PMPS 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura&Chichi (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118408
Good morning ! Happy Friday everyone! Another pink start today for my girl. I think its bouncing from low numbers that maybe Im not catching. When do I reduce again? I believe its after 7 days of blue/green nadirs, but someone hopefully will confirm. Off to work and mom will test today.
 
Re: 5/9 Chi Chi AMPS 364

Hi Laura,

I would say Chi Chi is bouncing from all of those blues yesterday. Some kitties bounce even if they don't hit green - they bounce when they hit numbers that they just aren't used to (like blue), or they can bounce just from dropping quickly.

I found this in the TR protocol (sticky at the top of the page) about reductions:

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

The normal range for kitties is roughly 40 to 120. Since Chi Chi isn't consistently staying in those numbers, I would say that a reduction isn't called for yet.

Hope you have a great day!
Shelly
 
Hi Laura!

Did chi chi get insulin last night? there's no dose in the pmps cell.

If she got insulin last night, i'd actually consider going back up to 2.5u. Since the reduction her numbers have trended upwards. I'd call it a "failed reduction" and head right back up to 2.5u. Sometimes you have to fine tune around a dose - it's pretty common to have to go up and down like this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top