? 5/9/18/Ravan//+4 279/+10 414/pmps465/+5 310/+8.5 289/

Status
Not open for further replies.
Love this numbers raven!! The bounces will go alway, they always do, he needs those low number, whooooo hoooo,you got this joybee! Just keep an eye on him
 
He hadn't eaten for over 4 hrs so I did offer some raw meat & he didn't seem too hungry,only ate a few bites. But it did bring the bg UP.
 
Last edited:
@Judy and Boomer
@Wendy&Neko

The last time he dropped this low at nadir I was told to reduce the dose. Do I reduce the dose this time also?

Just checked Bg 539!! He ate nearly a can of FF that must of shot his bg up!
I'm going to give him the full dose now. I hope that's OK
 
Since you are following SLGS, those numbers yesterday evening would earn a reduction...Ravan went under 90. With SLGS, I would have reduced on the next shot. I see that you didn't, but I would consider taking the reduction tonight.
 
Good catch on those numbers last night. Like Christie said, they do earn a reduction via SLGS. For this time however, it was probably OK to keep the dose one more time to help him over the bounce. Doing a one time higher dose is something we call "shooting through the bounce". I would reduce to 1.5 units tonight. Looks like he's turning around and coming down fast today.
 
I'm wondering if feeding Ravan FF is keeping his bg up. This morning when his bg was 267 I gave him FF & it shot up to 539 in an hour! (I always check twice when I get a high or very low reading)

He was raised on a raw meat diet. I started FF because he went off his raw meat. Now,especially when his Bg is High, he wants to eat a LOT. And he wants FF not his raw meat.

I can get him to eat a small amount of his raw diet but he's really wanting FF. He lost weight & the FF has put some back on.

Do you think because of a very low carb diet that now the FF is causing the pretty constant highs?
 
I'm wondering if feeding Ravan FF is keeping his bg up. This morning when his bg was 267 I gave him FF & it shot up to 539 in an hour! (I always check twice when I get a high or very low reading)


Do you think because of a very low carb diet that now the FF is causing the pretty constant highs?

I suspect feeding any carbs at +11 would stop whatever duration you had left in the dose; and in combination, you also likely ran head on into the start or the middle of the bounce from those nice greens as well.

You asked about still taking the reduction tonight, given today's numbers. I guess if I were staying tight to the SLGS method, the answer is yes, a reduction was earned. But, you really do have a lot of great data, and you might be getting into a position where you are really starting to know how Ravan responds to insulin and to food. That said, anytime someone decides to deviate from whatever method or protocol they use, it's important to take extra care to make sure their kitty stays safe. I can't recommend that you don't take the earned reduction, because I'm not the one who has to make sure Ravan stays safe. All I can say, if it were me, following SLGS, I'd take the reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top