5/9/14 Zack +12 256, +15 395, +18 477

Status
Not open for further replies.

hyolles

Member Since 2014
5/8/14- http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118447
Zack was comfortable last night. This morning he ate and had his 1.5 Lantus shot.
Had to test and will shoot .5 early. Daughter unit has award ceremony at school at 6.
Husband and daughter tested at +5. So proud of them. Could not post till after work. Had to use FB from my phone.
Do we give the shot now or not? we have to leave in 10 minutes latest. it is 5:37
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391

Better start today than yesterday!

Come on Zack..let's see more of that pretty sunny yellow...and maybe even some gorgeous blue today! Boys look so dapper in blue!

Have a great Friday, Holly!
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391

Great job with the testing! I know it's hard to see those high numbers right now. It will get better, though. It's just a slow process starting out.

Hang in there!
Shelly
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256

Holly… You may want to put 911 in the original post. That way people can see that you're kind of trying to decide whether or not you should get the shot.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

Was too nervous to shoot before award ceremony. Be back in an hour or two.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

Hi Holly,

It's okay that you were too nervous to shoot when you had to leave. It's scary shooting a number you've never shot before. We'll get you there. Just a suggestion for you - when you have a new question, just hit "reply" on your condo and add your question in the reply box. If you edit the content of your post, we might miss that new information. You do edit the subject line of your very first post, though, just like you did. I know that can be confusing. If it doesn't make sense, let us know.

Also, we usually only use the "911" if the kitty is in immediate danger. If you have a question - you can do exactly what you did - add the "should I shoot" in your subject line. You can also click on the little "question mark" icon to let people know you have a question. Don't let all the little details overwhelm you right now, though. We'll work on those as we go.

Hugs to you - I know this is stressful in the beginning! :YMHUG:
Shelly
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

I told her to put the 911 since she was leaving really quickly and wasn't sure if she should shoot. Sorry. :(
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

Don't apologize, Mary Alice! I used it, too, when I first started here. I later learned that it really gets the members' blood pressure up when they see it because it's a "crisis" sign! ;-)
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

No worries Mary Alice and Holly!

We ALL do it when we're new! We don't know what's a medical emergency and what's not, but it sure is good to see Zack with a yellow pre-shot number!!

Holly, in the future, if you get a number you're not sure about, STALL, Don't feed and re-test in 20 minutes or so. If the number is going up, than it's probably totally safe to go ahead and shoot!

You want to shoot anything under 150...but that number WILL come down! Eventually, you'll learn to shoot anything above 50! (yes, really!) As you get more tests in, and learn more about how Zack responds to food, you'll gradually lower the number you'll shoot.

Don't stress about it now...He's showing good progress for now and he'll get back on track.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

Holly --

Is it at all feasible for you to shoot late? You can move your shot times earlier over the next several days if that will work for your schedule. If not, think of tonight as though it were a fur shot and just shoot at your preferred time tomorrow AM.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, PMPS 256 should i shoot?

I just talked to Holly... she's still at the school for the award ceremony.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, +12 256, PMS 395

I apologize for the 911.
Never expected such a low # at dinner time.
I should have thought about it. But was scared.
Now I am sorry I did not give the shot, but cannot be late for work on Monday.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, +12 256, PMS 395

How late are you now?

If you usually shoot at 6am/6pm and give a late shot (say 8pm), then the next day you could shoot at 7:45am/7:30pm....the next day 7:15am/7pm...and keep working back to the schedule you want

If it's too late for that to work and get back on a schedule you can shoot by Monday morning, just skip tonight and shoot at whatever time you want to in the morning. IF you want to change your shot times, now's the time to do it (well, in the morning)
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, +12 256, PMS 395

Gonna try and wait till 6 am.
Testing every few hours.
Long wait.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, +12 256, PMS 395

until you get some experience and confidence on what Zack will do after his shots, it's ok to skip if you're going to be out and are uncomfortable. everyone screws up a shot every now and then - we call them "furshots" - and Zack will get back on track. If you're on a tight schedule, just skip tonight and give it on time in the morning.

good you got to be there for your daughter! woot! I was a Girl Scout leader for 10 years and know how important it is for parents to be there for their kids. I assume when you say "unit" that you're talking about scouts.
 
Re: 5/9/14 Zack AMPS 391,+5 234, +12 256, PMS 395

if you don't shoot, take the night off of poking...give his ears the night off!

You won't "learn" much testing without shooting....other than how high he can go

Just start over at 6am....but the "cycle count" starts over, so you'll be back at 1.5 units for 3 days (6 cycles) ....His depot will drain some overnight, but you don't have to start back at the very beginning and wait 5-7 days
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top