5/8 Zeke AMPS 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL

Sending out positive :mrgreen: BG vines to all and feel better vines to all kitties in need of them.

Zeke's previous condo

Well, I had some problems with the new batch of syringes as discussed in yesterday’s condo,so I gave a reduced dose last night. The plan was to try no juice today but with that AMPS of 122, I just couldn’t do it. Unfortunately, I am unable to monitor Zeke this morning and with the different unit markings on the syringes and not being certain what is his old dose with this new batch, I gave him another reduced dose (could only be a drop, hard to say). I’ll stick with this new dose to see how Zeke does on it. If it doesn’t take, I’ll slowly increase to try and get him back to the dose he was on before (what we were calling a f0.1u).

What a pain in the behind. Hopefully, once DH gets back in town and I show him the syringe markings discrepancy, he’ll be on board with trying to learn how to use the calipers.

Zeke’s had great numbers but despite being in mainly greens, I’ve felt that until his PS were under 100 he just wasn’t ready for a trial. Looks like I might have been right.

I posted a few questions yesterday that I got no responses for. If you have any thoughts on the following, I would appreciate it.

Zeke's on day 28 of a very low dose which he may continue to need for the indefinite future. We need to make some changes to make this more manageable for us. Because Zeke's drops occur early in the cycle, and his shots are at 6AM/6PM, we've not been able to do anything before 9. We'd like that to change - we'd like to be able to go out to dinner together at least occasionally.

Zeke's current feeding schedule is hourly at +1, +2 & +3 at each cycle. Each cycle (in total) he's fed 3T and 3t plus 1t snack (4% Turkey Wellness). Do you think we should try a lower carb food, maybe 2% to see if that will help keep his BGs from rising above 100?

We’ve backed off on the testing a bit and would like to do even more of that as long as it’s safe. Based on the pattern shown below, do you think it's safe not to test after +3 even if the numbers are not rising? As Zeke is on such a low dose, can we assume that he will not be having any huge drops after +3? We don't leave food out after his final feeding which occurs at +3ish. Do you think that's ok or would you suggest (if we're gonna cut back on the testing) that we should leave food out for his safety?

Any suggestions/advice welcomed.

Here's a recap of what’s been going on with Zeke.

Yesterday :
AMPS / 115; +2 / 96; +4.25 / 76
PMPS / 105; +1 / 108; +2 / 77; +4 / 66; +5.75 / 81;+8.5 / SNACK

May 6:
AMPS / 99; +2.25 / 94; +4 / 68 ; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 83; +2 / 95; +3.25 / 86; +4.75 / 95; +8.5 / SNACK

May 5:

AMPS / 93; +2.25 / 73; +3.25 / 78 ; +4.5 / 81; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 108; +2.25 / 87; +3.25 / 64; +4 / 70 ; +8.5 / SNACK

May 4:
AMPS / 89; +1.25 / 96; +3.25 / 52; +4.5 / 53; +8.5 / SNACK / 70

PMPS / 118; +2 / 103; +3.25 / 72; +6 / 76; +8.5 / SNACK

May 3:
AMPS / 89; +1.25 / 117; +2.25 / 83; +4.25 / 74 ; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 106; +1.75 / 85; +3.5 / 59; +4.25 / 58; +5.75 / 70; +8.5 / SNACK (I think)


May 2:
AMPS / 91; +1.25 / 103; +2.25 / 89; +4.25 / 74

PMPS / 89; +1.25 / 104; +3.25 / 69; +4.25 / 78; +8.5 / SNACK

May 1:

AMPS / 85; +1.5 / 99; +4.5 / 72; +9.25 / SNACK / 63

PMPS / 70; +1.25 / 93; +2.25 / 95; +5 / 98;

April 30:
AMPS / 91; +1.5 / 123 (Food spike); +2.25 / 95; +8.5 / SNACK / 96

PMPS / 106; +1.25 / 164 (Stress induced); +2.25 / 134 (I feel so bad that I caused him this much stress); +8.5 / SNACK / 69 & 72 (RT)

April 29:
AMPS / 94; +1.25 / 91; +2 / 79; +3 / 68; +5.25 / 66; +8.5 / SNACK / 76

PMPS / 134 (No idea why. Initially thought due to the snack. Considered eliminating the snack but decided to stick with the program and just see how it goes - so glad I did.); +3 / 105; +6.5 / 72; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 28:
AMPS / 112; +1.25 / 108; +2 / 81; +3 / 71 ; +4.75 / 71; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

PMPS / 97; +1.25 / 124; +2 / 108; +2 / 66; +4.75 / 73; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 27:
AMPS / 108; +1.25 / 99; +2.25 / 62; +3 / 56 ; +4.5 / 56; +8.25 / SNACK / 69; +10.75 / 104

PMPS / 108; +1.25 / 112; +2 / 79; +3 / 62; +5.5 / 67; +8.5 / SNACK / 58; +10 / 64

Wishing everyone a great day.
 
morning Laura.... ~O)
the reason I suggested seeing if any insulin is coming out of the syringe ( besides lube) is you might already be doing a trial without realizing it.
If you look at my ss.... Shadow was in low blues during her trial.... some cats run a little higher.
It turned out that her severe arthritis was giving me little spikes and once I addressed her pain, her numbers went even lower.
The other thing I learned for Shadow was she does better with a little carb.... she now eats 8% foods and her bg stays in the 70's.

I don't think you need to go lower.
It all depends on how sensitive Zeke is.

I would still leave some food out if you run off for hours because with otj, you want to give small frequent meals to continue supporting the pancreas, whether
on the juice or off the juice.
 
i'm not sure if we're going to have neat answers to these questions because they are so specific to Zeke, but i'll give you my own thoughts on it.

the one thing i would say is that i wouldn't ever just make the decision not to check after +3. I'd go by the BGs on the previous tests to decide when to stop testing.

i'm not sure why you're thinking zeke's going to be long-term on this tiny dose. everything seems to me to point towards him working off of insulin. I'm looking at his spreadsheet and although last night's and this morning's numbers aren't on there, i think you could start a trial on your next green preshot. btw, i don't know about everyone else, but i want to look at numbers on a spreadsheet not in a post. it really helps me most to see the flow of the numbers in relation to the 24 hr clock. The first thing i do when i open someone's condo is open the spreadsheet.

i don't think i'd lower his carb content. if his pancreas is working, which it seems to be, you shouldn't need to do that. remember, everything under 10% is technically low carb - you don't have to get to 2% for it to be low carb.

saw your comment about the syringes in yesterday's condo. i just wouldn't like that lubricant issue. i have read that people injecting insulin show evidence of that lubricant in them, but "some" is different than "dripping." just seems icky to have that much. Rhiannon's got a good point that perhaps you're just injecting lubricant at this point.

not sure you're going to have time to switch to calipers at this point . . . ;-) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top