5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74, pmps- 158, +2- 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

joyce-tuscany(GA)

Member Since 2009
Well, if anyone followed posting from Loose Lips yesterday....

TItus did get his first shot today. He is getting .5 units twice a day. I think DPS is the one shooting for now. I think her next surgery isn't til ? August so she can manage til then. Hopefully DS and DGF get on board.

I was quite impressed with his response to the insulin! Maybe he will be the lucky one to get otj quickly.

DPS is working on the SS.

Hope all the mama beans here are having a great Mother's Day!
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74

wow, that's a great +5 for the first shot. You're right, a lot can happen between now and August so maybe Titus will be lucky.
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74

Good to hear that Titus got his shot......Paws crossed for this kitty. It sounds like you are his guardian angel.
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74. Pmps-158 ?dose

So Titus had such good response and starting so much lower. Should we actually be shooting less dose than .5??
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74

will DPS be able to test tonight? It's not unusual for cats to have a good response on their first shot, and trick us into reducing the dose and then go back to higher numbers after a cycle or two. Of course, some really do need less insulin. 0.5 units *should* be a safe starting dose, if she can test. Of course the caregiver has to be comfortable too.
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74, pmps- 158

You have a big heart. They are lucky you care and are generous with your time and knowledge. Wish more people in my real world were as awesome as the people on LL.
 
Re: 5/8 TITUS AMPS 403, +5 74, pmps- 158

Joyce...I agree with Karrie...this is wonderful of you to do all this for your DPS. I'm so glad she is giving Titus insulin. Great job on your part!! And amazing she shot that 158 but I'm assuming you are helping her....hope he is able to be done with this soon and resolve all worries.
 
Titus +2 was 251. Penny (dps) did take a drop out of the dose. She estimates a .4. Libby you were probably right in maintaining dose but not being sure how often testing was going to happen we thought skinny might be safer. We will try not to dose hop. DS gets home from work around 2
1 am and is going to try to test and will put out a snack.

So question- Tuscany was a grazer so I never had to warty about feeding at other times. Titus will eat an entire 3 oz can at shot time. I've encouraged penny to put out a frozen cube of food- thinking that he'd eat it ?+2-3 and then another 1/2 can (1/2 of 3 oz) at near nadir. Does this sound ok?

Might look into a timed feeder for him- but how much do u put in each?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top