? 5/8 Tennessee, First green number EVER (79) And its time to shoot. +1 78 +2 68 +3 67 +4 75 +5 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
Tennessee and I are seeing our first green number EVER tonight with an PMPS of 79!!!!
We have only shot once in the blue numbers- 156.
I noticed that his auto feeder jammed, so he did not get most of the food that he should have today.
I am stalling without feeding and will test again, but I am not sure I am confident enough to shoot in the greens.
I can move back his shot time if needed.
Any advice would be appreciated.
 
First, take a deep breath and continue to breathe. :) Do you have plenty of strips, high carb food or karo syrup and will you be around to test? Woohoo for green! :D
Liz
 
The obvious questions...

Do you have a supply of strips?
Do you have high carb food if you need it?
Will you be available to monitor?
 
About 20 min later he is at 91.
He was getting 8.5 units, but we went up to 9 this AM. (yes I know that is alot- we are going in to test for Acro and IAA next week)
How much should I give him?
 
Then go for it. As long as you understand that you may have to deal with low numbers tonight. None of us can predict what will happen, but shooting low can make a huge difference in gaining control of blood sugar.

Get a +1 and a +2 so you don't have any surprises.

You don't reduce the dose unless he goes below 50. I'd give the full dose. I'm around tonight and can check in with you.

If you want to do something else, like shooting less than the full dose, of course you can, but it's a golden opportunity to help get control of his blood sugar. What do you want to do?
 
Sienne's suggestion to stall is another reasonable option. If you want to wait til he's risen a bit, that's ok. Although it looks like already you can see he's rising, not dropping.

it's up to you.
 
That's usually Marje's gift, but I found one:

boshand.gif
There ya go, Andrea!

I'd be planning on doling out food (like a couple of teaspoons) hourly right now to try to get him to surf. It would've been nice to see a food spike at +1. If he starts approaching 50, switch to testing every 30 minutes.

What's his appetite like? Can you count on him to eat an unlimited amount or is he a more delicate eater that sometimes gets full?
 
No advise from me... but just wanted to pop in and say you're awesome! I wish I was able to do what you're doing tonight when we had our first green ever :)

Keep up the awesome work!!!
 
I'm a little late to the celebration, but WooHoo on shooting that green Andrea! What a refreshing change to the spreadsheet.:D

Just for continuity, here is the link to your last post in the this forum.
 
Do you usually feed him another mini-meal after his main dinner? I fed punkin 1 can of fancy feast with his shot and 1/2 can at +3. If you do normally do something like that, go ahead and do it tonight too.
 
I wouldn't go to sleep the first time you've got a green cycle, but if you're tired you can sleep and set an alarm to test in an hour. I set my cell phone alarm and found if I stayed on the living room sofa with the lights on, I'd be able to wake up ok to test.

He's bound to bounce at some point.

See you in another hour.
 
Just a housekeeping item:

In the ss in the pmps column you want it to reflect that you shot a little late. I would show it like this, all in the pmps column.

12=79
12.5=91

Just saw the 110. I think I'd feed him more low carb right now and go to bed. If you want to check him later it wouldn't hurt to check him in 2 hours. I suspect he's on his way up now.
 
I took that quote from @Suzanne & Cobb(GA) from one of Crystal's recent condos when her numbers were completely unpredictable, it just summed up her condition exactly. I hope you don't get the acro/IAA diagnosis but if you do, there are some great people here with a wealth of experience who will be able to guide you. Sending good report vines for next week :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top