5/8, Susie, 258 AMPS, Please see post #34

Hope the visit to vet goes well!

I know is frustrating to keep increasing the dose, but on my limited observation, the fact that Susie stays relatevely flat is a really good sign that when you find the dose things will sort itself out!
Thanks, Karen. Seems she was doing better on a lower dose but I have put my "patience pants" on.
 
Susie is feeling really well this morning. Happy, purry and sociable. She went back to the beach at +2.75 this morning which is interesting because I just brought her home from the vet and thought her glucose would be high. It will be interesting to see what the vet blood test glucose results will be this morning.
 
Thanks, Cherryl, and welcome back. It is wonderful to see Mouzer in the OTJ trial. Good luck, Cherryl!!!!!!!

I have been around haha Well, for a good while, I was around just reading everything - stickies and posts on things I needed to look up to see what people are doing for their kitties. Ya learn a lot that way! But then I saw some posts made by you all that have made friends with me and I cannot seem to help but to make acknowledgement to ya all from time to time. I love you all, really I do. You that made friends with me here have been very special, even if Mouzer for sure goes into remission, this time I might have to keep checking in just to keep up with my friends. First time, in 2017, I did not really come out to make friends much. I am rather reluctant in doing that hahaaha But this time, I seem to have made a very nice group of friends!

Mouzer is on day 11 of OTJ Trial!! Three and a half days to go and if he makes it through them, he will be officially OTJ as his numbers will prove and make that official :) But after that!! I just hope he will never come out of remission again, if he makes it into remission this time. All high carb food is removed from this location!! But of course, we know there are those other things that can cause them to come out of remission - infections and such, so I just hold hope that if he for sure goes into remission, he will stay in remission. He is 11 years old, and if he lives to be even 17 or 18, like my oldest ones did, he has those years to concern over. BUT we will cross that bridge if we have to.

I do hope Susie gets to where she needs to be and I wish all things wonderful for you and Susie!
 
I have been around haha Well, for a good while, I was around just reading everything - stickies and posts on things I needed to look up to see what people are doing for their kitties. Ya learn a lot that way! But then I saw some posts made by you all that have made friends with me and I cannot seem to help but to make acknowledgement to ya all from time to time. I love you all, really I do. You that made friends with me here have been very special, even if Mouzer for sure goes into remission, this time I might have to keep checking in just to keep up with my friends. First time, in 2017, I did not really come out to make friends much. I am rather reluctant in doing that hahaaha But this time, I seem to have made a very nice group of friends!

Mouzer is on day 11 of OTJ Trial!! Three and a half days to go and if he makes it through them, he will be officially OTJ as his numbers will prove and make that official :) But after that!! I just hope he will never come out of remission again, if he makes it into remission this time. All high carb food is removed from this location!! But of course, we know there are those other things that can cause them to come out of remission - infections and such, so I just hold hope that if he for sure goes into remission, he will stay in remission. He is 11 years old, and if he lives to be even 17 or 18, like my oldest ones did, he has those years to concern over. BUT we will cross that bridge if we have to.

I do hope Susie gets to where she needs to be and I wish all things wonderful for you and Susie!
You are a dear friend, Cherryl. So happy for you and your Mouzer and will keep my fingers crossed (and say some prayers) that he stays in remission for many, many, happy, healthy years!
 
Good luck with the new dose. It looks like she is coming down pretty quickly today. You may want to test soon to make sure she doesn't drop too low. I hope you get good test results back.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ime-for-another-increase.247071/#post-2786870

Dose increase to 3.25 units today. Hoping to get back to the beach! Susie gets a mini lab test today to check liver/kidney values and WBC. Fingers crossed her ALT will finally come down a little as well as her WBC.
Hi Summer, good luck with the dose increase. :) Hope the labs have positive results. Let’s all meet at the beach Susie :cool: but be careful, don’t go too far out. :nailbiting: Have a wonderful weekend Summer. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with the new dose. It looks like she is coming down pretty quickly today. You may want to test soon to make sure she doesn't drop too low. I hope you get good test results back.
I'm keeping an eye on her. She was at 103 at +4.5 and 83 @+6. I'm testing again in a few minutes to get a +7 and I did feed 1/2 can of lc at +6.
 
Susie is feeling really well this morning. Happy, purry and sociable. She went back to the beach at +2.75 this morning which is interesting because I just brought her home from the vet and thought her glucose would be high. It will be interesting to see what the vet blood test glucose results will be this morning.
vet blood glucose results? Did they do a fructosamine test or something? And I assume they sent out the labs or you would have info. I'm so happy that Susie didn't seem to mind the vet much (just the carrier, right?!)
 
Hi Summer, good luck with the dose increase. :) Hope the labs have positive results. Let’s all meet at the beach Susie :cool: but be careful, don’t go too far out. :nailbiting: Have a wonderful weekend Summer. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Adrienne. She actually tipped her toe in the lagoon about 50 minutes ago. I'm checking her again soon.
Vetty vines that the labs are much improved. I hope the increase works magic.
Thanks, Elise. Something magical has happened today but I don't think it was the new dose as it usually takes many days to reflect an increase. Maybe the old dose was just now sinking in.
 
vet blood glucose results? Did they do a fructosamine test or something? And I assume they sent out the labs or you would have info. I'm so happy that Susie didn't seem to mind the vet much (just the carrier, right?!)
I'm not sure what all was involved in the testing. Something about checking the liver and kidney function, glucose and I asked for a CBC to check her white blood cell count. We are looking mostly to see if her ALT has come down. The labs were being done in-house and I should hear something sometime this afternoon. Susie doesn't seem to be bothered inside the vets. It is the carrier that she does not like.
 
Hi Summer, Looks like Susie is working the new dose already, you go girl, surf safely.
I hope her labs have improved. Have a good day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I am very surprised, Diane. Normally, Susie takes several days to reflect an increase. She has never responded this quickly to an increase. I just hope it wasn't the old dose finally kicking in and now I have increased it.
 
You are a dear friend, Cherryl. So happy for you and your Mouzer and will keep my fingers crossed (and say some prayers) that he stays in remission for many, many, happy, healthy years!

Thank you, Summer! And I have the same desires for all of you with your kitties. This is a most horrible thing, I do believe.
I have dealt with a lot and all of it has taken my life but I do consider diabetes at the very top of the list of life consuming and life threatening ordeals, and I do not wish this upon any kitty or any person.

If my vet ever ventures into speaking of this with me, I am going to make sure he knows there are people who have had to give up their entire lives because of what diabetes does, and the veterinarians have been no help, and they have even caused many to have to go through this because of their lack of knowledge and lack of caring enough to gain the knowledge. This must be made known!!!!!!
 
Thank you, Summer! And I have the same desires for all of you with your kitties. This is a most horrible thing, I do believe.
I have dealt with a lot and all of it has taken my life but I do consider diabetes at the very top of the list of life consuming and life threatening ordeals, and I do not wish this upon any kitty or any person.

If my vet ever ventures into speaking of this with me, I am going to make sure he knows there are people who have had to give up their entire lives because of what diabetes does, and the veterinarians have been no help, and they have even caused many to have to go through this because of their lack of knowledge and lack of caring enough to gain the knowledge. This must be made known!!!!!!
I agree with you about diabetes being life consuming but I do think think that kidney disease, in a cat, is a more tragic diagnosis. I now have had back to back cats with #1 kidney disease and now #2 diabetes. I have never had these problems in my life with all the cats I have owned. I truly believe it has to do with the food we are feeding them.
 
I agree with you about diabetes being life consuming but I do think think that kidney disease, in a cat, is a more tragic diagnosis. I now have had back to back cats with #1 kidney disease and now #2 diabetes. I have never had these problems in my life with all the cats I have owned. I truly believe it has to do with the food we are feeding them.

The kidney diagnosis that I have had take place with kitties, sadly came too late for the kitties. I do not know what is done if it is found early enough to do something about it. I do have a friend who is in Australia whose kitty has kidney disease and her kitty has other issues along with that. I hate it for both of them.

I would not find it hard to believe that the majority of issues are to do with food and also the rabies vaccine. I have to keep up with rabies vaccines on these because it is our county law and I did not do it until I got my 501c3 and am forced to do it, but I do have to do it and not one of these kitties lives out in the open. They are all contained. I hate it.

Most rescues do not like having to do the rabies vaccines for the animals. Too much to do with cancer is taking place with the majority of rabies vaccinated cats and rabies vaccine can cause hip dsyplasia in dogs, which it did in one of mine but I was fortunate to find a supplement that brought her out of it.
Our vet hates when I have to bring all of the cats in for rabies shots ... he has told me that they have seen the increase in cancers with kitties who get the rabies vaccine.
 
The kidney diagnosis that I have had take place with kitties, sadly came too late for the kitties. I do not know what is done if it is found early enough to do something about it. I do have a friend who is in Australia whose kitty has kidney disease and her kitty has other issues along with that. I hate it for both of them.

I would not find it hard to believe that the majority of issues are to do with food and also the rabies vaccine. I have to keep up with rabies vaccines on these because it is our county law and I did not do it until I got my 501c3 and am forced to do it, but I do have to do it and not one of these kitties lives out in the open. They are all contained. I hate it.

Most rescues do not like having to do the rabies vaccines for the animals. Too much to do with cancer is taking place with the majority of rabies vaccinated cats and rabies vaccine can cause hip dsyplasia in dogs, which it did in one of mine but I was fortunate to find a supplement that brought her out of it.
Our vet hates when I have to bring all of the cats in for rabies shots ... he has told me that they have seen the increase in cancers with kitties who get the rabies vaccine.
It never dawned on my that the rabies vaccine might be the cause of the increased diseases in cats. It really sucks because we have to give them.
 
Hi Summer

I have been out of town and just saw the tag from a couple days ago about her BG and how you’ve been increasing per SLGS. Unfortunately, I can’t see the labs you posted above to tell you much about them. It’s best to put them on the lab tab so we can see them better and compare to previous labs.

@Suzanne & Darcy, I believe, said if you look at Susie’s SS, you will see improvement and I agree with her. You have been methodically and correctly increasing her dose per SLGS. The only thing I can tell you to get her into better BGs faster is to switch to TR. That has to be a personal decision for you. The main issue with SLGS is even though you can see a dose is not working for the kitty, you have to hold it an entire week. This allows a bit of glucose toxicity to build; not a lot but enough that it will likely take her a higher dose to start bringing her BG down routinely than it would if you were using TR. This is no criticism. We each can do what we can do but if you ask me how she might improve, I’d say, “try TR”.

I hope you are all doing well.
 
Susie was at 152 tonight at PMPS. I am not one of those people that want to stay up all night to test (sorry folks). I went ahead and gave her her 3.25 unit shot and 1 can of FF chicken but would like some advice on how to get her numbers up tonight. Should I give her 1/2 can of medium carb food after her +2 test? Any advice is appreciated. I have a big family dinner to go to tomorrow and will need some sleep. @carfurby any advice?
 
Last edited:
her +2 test
I'd grab the +2 when it comes and post if you need help - she may bounce from her nice cycle today...just look back in your SS to similar cycles (that's all I do as a novice SS reader - I personally went and looked at 04/29 when you shot after a similar day time cycle). Also, when asking a question on the board - instead of referring to a post #, just say "PMPS 152, Need Advice" or something like that - anyone reading just scrolls to the bottom of the thread to find the details and by putting a "clue" in the title it allows people scrolling on the board to see if they have anything to add (or not lol).

And you may have read this already, but here's the logic on +2/+3 tests:
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for the kitty
 
Hi Summer

I have been out of town and just saw the tag from a couple days ago about her BG and how you’ve been increasing per SLGS. Unfortunately, I can’t see the labs you posted above to tell you much about them. It’s best to put them on the lab tab so we can see them better and compare to previous labs.

@Suzanne & Darcy, I believe, said if you look at Susie’s SS, you will see improvement and I agree with her. You have been methodically and correctly increasing her dose per SLGS. The only thing I can tell you to get her into better BGs faster is to switch to TR. That has to be a personal decision for you. The main issue with SLGS is even though you can see a dose is not working for the kitty, you have to hold it an entire week. This allows a bit of glucose toxicity to build; not a lot but enough that it will likely take her a higher dose to start bringing her BG down routinely than it would if you were using TR. This is no criticism. We each can do what we can do but if you ask me how she might improve, I’d say, “try TR”.

I hope you are all doing well.
Thanks so much, Marje. I stay with the SLGS because it usually takes Susie many days to reflect an increase. In fact, I am wondering if this dip today was more about the 3 unit increase 6 days ago than it was about the increase today. She never shows signs of an increase on the very day she gets one so where did these numbers come from? I can't post the newest labs because the "in house" ranges do not match up with the other reference ranges I have always referred to. I think my vet screwed up with todays test. Also, there are so many missing reference ranges as well. I need a thorough explanation of this test as it does not look right. Please look at Susie's spreadsheet for today. She really dived and I don't know where these numbers came from. I am not one of those people that wants to stay up all night testing - especially with a big Mother's Day celebration going on tomorrow. I went ahead and gave her the 3.25 dose at PMPS when she was at 152 but am hoping to bring this number up tonight so I can sleep. Any suggestions? I know it goes against the grain of you folks trying to reduce numbers but right now I need to raise them. Thanks, Marje.
 
I'd grab the +2 when it comes and post if you need help - she may bounce from her nice cycle today...just look back in your SS to similar cycles (that's all I do as a novice SS reader - I personally went and looked at 04/29 when you shot after a similar day time cycle). Also, when asking a question on the board - instead of referring to a post #, just say "PMPS 152, Need Advice" or something like that - anyone reading just scrolls to the bottom of the thread to find the details and by putting a "clue" in the title it allows people scrolling on the board to see if they have anything to add (or not lol).

And you may have read this already, but here's the logic on +2/+3 tests:
  • If the +2 is about the same as the Pre-shot, usually they're going to have a fairly "normal" cycle...slowly dropping to nadir and then slowly heading back up until the next PS
  • If it's higher than the PS, that can indicate the beginning of a bounce and those are the cycles where you can usually get by without testing as much
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning"....those are the cycles where it's important to try to get more tests in...but if you can't, you might want to leave some higher carb food down for the kitty
I am hoping that the +2 will be higher than the PMPS but if it is about the same then I don't think I can rest on my laurels - like you said. I will feed some medium carb food and get up at +4 and retest and take it from there. I'm just so surprised with Susie's numbers today. I don't know where they came from - especially after a vet visit. Thank you, Susanne.
 
Last edited:
It's actually not too late if you want to remove your lab result containing all of your personal info. You can edit your post and remove the attachment. You can even delete the entire post if you want to.

And yes, I actually took butters from .5u up to 4.25u before I broke through her glucose toxicity. That was on TR so I was increasing every three days like clockwork.
 
It never dawned on my that the rabies vaccine might be the cause of the increased diseases in cats. It really sucks because we have to give them.

I do hate having to do the rabies vaccine for the animals.
I do not get vaccines for myself and I do not appreciate being forced to do it to my animals.
I suppose if a kitty must live outside or spend time outdoors, then the kitty probably needs the rabies vaccine, as much as I hate the vaccine.
But I have provided a way for those in my care to be contained and they have not been uncontained in many years and the chances of their becoming uncontained are slim to none, so I see no reason for the rabies vaccine, except that the county loves the law of it and the law that we pay to register the animals with the county.
They make a lot of money that way. I have had so many cats to pass away just within a month or two of having to pay to register them for a year, and just a month or two of also paying for a three year rabies vaccine. So, they are in it for the money, more than they are in it for the sake of the animals.
I always keep in mind, the majority of the world does everything based on the dollar they can gain. I never let myself be fooled into believing that they care about the animals, not even the veterinarians. It is all about the money with them.
 
It's actually not too late if you want to remove your lab result containing all of your personal info. You can edit your post and remove the attachment. You can even delete the entire post if you want to.

And yes, I actually took butters from .5u up to 4.25u before I broke through her glucose toxicity. That was on TR so I was increasing every three days like clockwork.
I removed the lab work but have always felt comfortable with this group so I wasn't worried. The lab work was "sub par" to begin with and I need answers about it. I will not be going to TR anytime soon. I am more comfortable giving Susie time to adjust to an increase. As I stated a couple of times earlier - this dive was unexpected today. It usually takes her many days after an increase to reflect it. I am just hoping that this wasn't the result of the dose increase to 3 units, several days ago, and now I have increased it again.
 
One thing to keep in mind is anyone can create an account and see things posted here. Even spammers do it occasionally. I'm glad you removed the lab report with your personal information.

As far as tonight goes, if you're worried she'll comes back down you can feed some MC or HC food to get her numbers to stay up. It looks to me like she was clearing a bounce today from however high she went last night. Since there is not a night time test last night, this is only a guess. On bounce clearing cycles the cat can have a nadir that is lower than normal. That combined with the dose increase could account for the greens today.
 
One thing to keep in mind is anyone can create an account and see things posted here. Even spammers do it occasionally. I'm glad you removed the lab report with your personal information.

As far as tonight goes, if you're worried she'll comes back down you can feed some MC or HC food to get her numbers to stay up. It looks to me like she was clearing a bounce today from however high she went last night. Since there is not a night time test last night, this is only a guess. On bounce clearing cycles the cat can have a nadir that is lower than normal. That combined with the dose increase could account for the greens today.
I know I should have gotten at least a +2 last night. I just felt like she had been high for so long that is was not necessary.
 
She dropped from 162 @+1 to 126 @+2. I fed her a whole can of FF gravy lovers roasted beef (m/c) and will check her again at +4. Does this sound like a good plan? I haven't eaten my dinner yet so I am going in to do that and then I'll lie down until +4 (10:00pm). Seems like a big drop from +1 to +2. Should I just stay up and check her again at +3?
 
Susie was at 152 tonight at PMPS. I am not one of those people that want to stay up all night to test (sorry folks). I went ahead and gave her her 3.25 unit shot and 1 can of FF chicken but would like some advice on how to get her numbers up tonight. Should I give her 1/2 can of medium carb food after her +2 test? Any advice is appreciated. I have a big family dinner to go to tomorrow and will need some sleep. @carfurby any advice?
I don't know what time you shot, Summer? Susie is in very safe numbers right now. If I knew what timee it was and what your expected nadir was, I would stay up with you. If I REALLY needed sleep, I would give either high carb food or karo syrup -- you need to know how Susie responds to both. How does she respond to high carb food? How many points of an increase do you get from feeding her high carb food? Food will keep Susie up in her numers longer than Karo. So... the question is, will she eat high carb food? You may need to set an alarm this evening around her nadir time. Can you wake up and test her/feed if necessary... and get back to sleep?
 
She dropped from 162 @+1 to 126 @+2. I fed her a whole can of FF gravy lovers roasted beef (m/c) and will check her again at +4. Does this sound like a good plan? I haven't eaten my dinner yet so I am going in to do that and then I'll lie down until +4 (10:00pm). Seems like a big drop from +1 to +2. Should I just stay up and check her again at +3?
And hopefully, she will flatten out... Darcy really seems to flatten out in the latter part of his cycles?
 
She dropped from 162 @+1 to 126 @+2. I fed her a whole can of FF gravy lovers roasted beef (m/c) and will check her again at +4. Does this sound like a good plan? I haven't eaten my dinner yet so I am going in to do that and then I'll lie down until +4 (10:00pm). Seems like a big drop from +1 to +2. Should I just stay up and check her again at +3?
I don't think that is too steep of a drop. I see those a lot. Bless your heart, Summer. I know what it's like!! I'm with you, girl.
 
Back
Top