5/8: Sammy - AMPS 73; +2 84; +4 93; +6 98; +9 101; PMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

So I am starting to think that this is Sammy's pattern. I know wouldn't it be lovely if we could figure out a pattern for all of our sugar kitties. Sammy's numbers had been slowly creeping up since earlier this week after I slightly decreased his dose and I was very tempted to increase back to a solid .1u last night, but based on everything that has been told to me in the past we can't base increases on one test. So I held the dose as is and Sammy is back down again this morning.

He did a similar thing last week, were his numbers were creeping up slowly for a couple days and I held the dose then also and he came back down. It is very weird.

Anyway, I am still planning on decreasing Sammy down to the Zero line, I just don't know if I should wait through the weekend, which would be 14 cycles at the skinny .1u, or if it would be appropriate to do it tomorrow morning. Any suggestions.

Hope everyone has a fantastic Friday.
 
Last edited:
Well, I am not really sure what Sammy is doing with the insulin today, but he has only gone up since AMPS. Hopefully he will come back down or at the very least surf through PMPS. DH is home testing today, which means I don't have to keep running home every few hours, which is nice. He will get another test at +6 and then at +9. I left specific snacks this morning for each test time as well, and I don't think Sammy has eaten much this morning. His schedule is thrown off due to DH being home. LOL!
 
With the TR Protocol, you hold the dose for 7 days/14 cycles before reducing if your kitty is in normal numbers. So, wait out the 14 cycles and then reduce. The pattern you noted makes perfect sense and it's why you hold the dose for a week. Sometimes the kitty's system has to adjust to the dose reduction. (It's the little kitty that could approach -- pancreas is busy repeating, "I think I can!")
 
Well, he is still rising. I just don't know what he is up to today. I will probably stick with this dose until Monday morning unless someone has some other advice. It looks like we might be headed into an inverted curve, or could this possibly be a bounce? And if it is a bound what could it be from. He did have a quick drop from PMPS to +2 last night, but it was less than 50 points over two hours. I think Sammy is just trying to confuse me again.
 
Sammy is on a slow rise today. What is up with that? I just hope it is because DH is home sick and Sammy is picking up on how he feels. I will be home in a few hours and hopefully will see a lower number for PMPS. I definitely didn't like seeing that 132 last night. Hopefully he will at least keep it under 120 to make me feel a bit better.

Sammy has been eating well today. He at most of his snacks, well everything that Crystal didn't scarf up. I saw that she did eat quite a bit of his 12:00 pm snack today. Bad Girl! She had her own snacks, but apparently she always wants to eat Sammy's.
 
I am not exactly thrilled with PMPS tonight, but it is definitely better than 132. Hopefully Sammy will still come down nicely tonight as he did last night. I am going to hold the .1u SKINNY dose until Monday morning unless he hits a low in the next 48 hours.

I am sort of wondering if his numbers are fluctuating because it is possible that the dose isn't exactly the same every time. It is such a small dose and I would assume that even one tiny drop difference could be a problem.
 
Some days I'd almost swear our kitties do this sort of thing just to freak us out and get extra attention! He's so, so close to being green all the time and he rarely gives you anything outside of normal range...but he does keep you on your toes with those blue numbers. Hopefully he settles down over the weekend and gets all the way back to where he needs to be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top