5/8 Papaya AMPS=517 +3=266 PMPS=318 +4=182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yestereday's Black and Blue

Sigh. I was hoping the blue I saw at yesterday's nadir would show again at PS - these numbers are hard to explain at the vet's and we have a checkup this AM . . . she's down to yellow already an hour before the vet's, though. Hmmm, I just realized in previous vet visits I was using exactly the same meter as he does, but now I've switched to the Relion Prime. I wonder how much difference there will be.

Colder, rainy and windy here today, but as long as there's no snow we're happy ;-) Have a great day whatever it takes you!
 
Re: 5/8 Papaya AMPS=517 +3=266

the alpha trak that vets use is generally about 30 higher than your human glucometer.
if you take your meter with you , you can do a comparison with your vet.


Your +3 is significantly lower so you may be having an active cycle ... you'll want to do another spot check soon.
If your vet tries to change your dose... be sure and come get an opinion or two here.
Many of the vets get nervous when they see green numbers.

But green is good.
 
Re: 5/8 Papaya AMPS=517 +3=266

Hi guys .. nice drop down at +3! I hope for a good vetty visit for you guys .. probably would not be a bad idea to take your new meter and do a comparison .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/8 Papaya AMPS=517 +3=266

rhiannon and shadow said:
the alpha trak that vets use is generally about 30 higher than your human glucometer.

Actually he uses a human one, the OneTouch Ultra (2?) which I was also using initally - until I crossed the border to grab a Relion with its much cheaper strips. He got a reading at +4 that was about 60 pts higher than the one I'd taken at +3, but she'd eaten between shots plus possible vet stress so I don't think the difference is significant. I'll see where she's at a bit later in the cycle, as she's definitely dropping quickly again today.

Happily he agreed with me that reducing had been the right call, considering all the below-50s I was getting at 2.25. Green is good but that was a little TOO green even for TR! I figured he'd just see the high preshot numbers and say increase (not that I would have listened ha ha). He's definitely not as focused on nadir as the TR Protocol calls for, but I think gives it and preshot values equal weight so could be worse. At least he doesn't mind pretty much leaving dosing decisions with me - although that may partially be because Papaya's numbers are so wonky he has nothing better to suggest anyway :lol:

Guess it's the "patience pants" for a while here! Thanks for stopping by, Rhiannon (hope you're feeling well) and Devon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top