5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101, +4 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie & Orange

Member Since 2012
Last Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70428


Hi Everyone!

Yesterday was a lousy day. 2 nights ago if you remember Orange puked up his dinner. I think we had a bad can of cat food. Later I noticed a dent in the one he puked up and yesterday he didn't want to eat much and just looked tired/sick. It took a lot of enticing with treats on his food to get him to eat a decent amount.

Today, I woke up to a much happier kitty! He's running around the house, chasing his sister, and eating much better. And we have a AMPS of 84! I guess I'm staying home from work for a while today :smile: So far so good with the new dose reduction!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84

A nice green start with Orange! Gald he's got over that spoiled canned.
Good luck with the reducie!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84

Hi guys .. what a great start to the morning and a great report on orange! Glad the upset tummy didn't last long and orange is up and ready for an exciting day! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84

After staying up with him last night I fell asleep after his shot and missed the +1 :(

Woke up for the +2 = 63

I made sure he ate more of his breakfast and I'll get a +3.
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61

+3 = 61

Thanks for the support everyone!

I have a good feeling that he's just going to surf the day away :-D I'll definitely be testing him often though just incase.

Thanks for the link Sienne! Always a good reminder! With the amount of time Orange has been spending in the 50s lately (and me worried he might drop) I think I'll have it memorized word for word soon!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61

I'm so glad he's feeling better today and what a lovely surf!!!

Well...we all gotta sleep and you aren't the first to not wake up for that +1. He's looking great. Surf it Orange!!!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61, +5 55

+6 = 63

Aside from the lower AMPS today, his numbers today are almost exactly the same as yesterday

Yesterday's number/today's number:

+3 = 61/61
+4 = 58/56
+5 = 56/55
+6 = 63/63

It looks like he's becoming pretty predictable, but with his numbers always so close to 50 I've been too nervous to sleep or to leave the house during the first half of his cycle. Looking back I haven't had to do anything - he just surfs along all on his own - so its seems like I'm worrying a lot for nothing. Looking forward, I still don't know if I'd be able to leave him knowing that hes headed so close to a low number. I also feel bad poking him so much for so many days in a row.

What do you guys think? Should I relax a bit? Or is my current obsessiveness really called for?
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61, +5 55 - testing freque

If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll quickly realize I'm not the best person to answer your question. I'm of the "more is better" school. However, You might start to wean yourself back. If you get a +2 and think you can stand waiting until a +3.5, you can then maybe at +5, you'd be testing at 1.5 hours vs. every hour. A lot of the issue with when to test depends on where the numbers are, how fast they are dropping, how carb sensitive Orange is, your comfort level, etc. There's no one right answer.
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61, +5 55 - testing freque

Julie & Orange said:
Should I relax a bit? Or is my current obsessiveness really called for?

I'm also not a good one to ask this question of. It is so ECID. We tell Gracie she is not trustworthy ;-) .....she'll be surfing along at a lovely number and we'll give her an hour and boom....she's in the 30s at a time in her cycle when she "shouldn't" be....we just forgot to tell her. So, we are obssessive in order to keep her safe because she seems to like low numbers. I think you know your cat and most important is you being comfortable with his numbers. If you
have to test more to figure out when you can let him go a little longer, it's worth it in the long run.
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2 63, +3 61, +5 55 - testing freque

i have done what sienne suggested - stretch it out to 1.5 hrs if i felt pretty confident that something was going to be predictable.

a lot of how i make my decision is based upon where in the cycle it is. if it's early on and he's low, i don't stretch out tests. if it's later, i do. very rarely punkin surprises me with a nadir at +8 or so, but most of the time he is pretty predictable. this is where knowing your own cat fits in - your job is to know orange and figure out how he will respond as much as possible. gracie and gabby are both less predictable cats, so sienne and marje can't just assume what they will do.

you'll figure out what you can do with orange. might take a little bit longer. if you have to err, in this case, it's better to err on the conservative side.

so glad to hear he's feeling better!
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101

PMPS = 85
+1 = 101

This time I didn't sleep through the +1!

Maybe I'll try to wean myself off testing a little bit, we'll see. Probably not tonight though :smile:
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101

psst - i've only gotten a +1 maybe 5 times in the past year and a half . . . you should get one when you shoot a new lowest number ever, but that's probably one i, personally, would let go of, unless there were some reason i was extra worried.
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101

Julie & Punkin said:
psst - i've only gotten a +1 maybe 5 times in the past year and a half . . . you should get one when you shoot a new lowest number ever, but that's probably one i, personally, would let go of, unless there were some reason i was extra worried.
Nope. Not me. And skipping a +1 on a low pre-shot is not something I would ever tell someone else to do. Personally, I think getting the +1 and not having to deal with the utter panic of finding what could be a dangerously low number and then starting to shovel HC into my cat when that situation could have been avoided by diligently testing is far more appealing than skipping the test. And I would feel horrible if I advised someone to skip that test and caused harm to their cat.

Safety is always, always a key concern. It is obviously your decision when to test. It is crucial to be data ready to shoot low. If you are going to shoot low then you need to insure that Orange is safe. What keeps him safe is your glucometer and strips and a supply of HC. Testing at +1 and +2 (and sometimes points between) gives you a sense of where the cycle is going and when you need to intervene.

Gabby is one of those cats that has fast, early drops. I've seen Gabby drop from 98 to a 48 from pre-shot to +1. I dread to think where her numbers would have been if I didn't get that +1. Not every cat does this. However, it's important to learn your cat's pattern and to always keep safety as the paramount issue. There is a section in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky that addresses becoming data ready and why getting certain tests is important. It's recommended reading.
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101

Yeah, I don't do many +1s and I wasn't planning on starting often.

I was counting tonight as one of those lowest number shot days. Today was the lowest I've shot so far - although that was in the AM. I missed the +1 then, so I thought I'd make up for it now - I guess it doesn't quite work like that :smile:
 
Re: 5/8 Orange AMPS 84, +2,+5 55, PMPS 85, +1 101

And of course, Orange would give you a food spike! The higher +1 is the most likely scenario. The problem is we're dealing with cats and they are inherently unpredictable!! Personally, I'm not a big fan of surprises or panic attacks.
 
Yes, so far it has seemed pretty easy to bump up his numbers or keep him surfing with food. I would be pretty surprised if I had seen a lower number with him at +1. I completley understand the you never know aspect of this (which is why I have been testing soooo much).

Thinking about it, he keeps hitting lower and lower PS numbers which are spurring my testing spree - He can't get too much lower on the PSs from here right? At some point he's going to stablize. Then maybe I'll get more comfortable shooting and testing less. I do think hes one of the more predictable kittys out there.
 
actually I think tonight's early cycle data was very valuable. From the +1's you have done in the past, it looks like Orange tends to have a pretty good +1 spike (30-50 points) and then an early onset. Tonight's +1 spike was only 17 points, less than his usual, and he headed down from there. Good info to have, so whenever you shoot green you can get a +1 and get some idea of where Orange is going. ;-) For many cats, we suggest getting a +2 to show where the cat is when the insulin starts to onset, but Orange looks to onset before +2. Tonight's numbers may or may not be significant, but as you start to gather more of them you'll be able to piece together his patterns.

About weaning off of testing, normally I don't think people need to test every hour of every day once they know their cat's patterns. However, when patterns start to change is when you need to step up the testing so you can get a grip on the new patterns. Orange is changing, even just in the past couple of days, so this might not be the time to back off very much. Just sayin'. :smile:
 
I have LC out for him - I keep reminding him its there after each test and he eats a bit. I'm not pushing food on him yet, but if he drops below 50 I'll make sure he eats more. We might see a <50 number tonight, but he's been pretty good at surfing on his own.
 
Jeez, I'm chatty tonight...

One other thought. Even though this is a food spike, when you look back to other days when you got a +1, it's not as dramatic of a food spike as you've seen. Providing all of the other issues like what you're feeding are constant, having a smaller food spike is also data. It may clue you in to what you saw at +4. In other words, a more modest food spike lets you know that you've going to still see greens and that Lantus onset may be a little later.
 
That's ok Sienne, you can be as chatty as you like - more good info for me :smile:

+5 is at 57. I'm pretty confident hes not going lower tonight - this is his normal +5 over the past few days and he usually starts to rise a little for +6. And I really need more sleep, so I'm going to call it a night. I made sure he ate a good amount more and left more LC out for him just incase.

Goodnight everyone!
 
Julie

I know you are tired and may feel confident on his nadir, but nadirs can change. I think it's best to get two rising numbers before you totally call it a night. Can you set an alarm and check him again in a bit to make sure he's coming up? Right now he's just surfing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top