5/8 Merlin AMPS 240,+3/131,+4/109,+5/106,+6/100,PMPS 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
5/8
AMPS 240: 1.2U

Oh no, I don't know what to do. I can be home all day to monitor. I tested twice and the second reading was a 265 so this is a true reading. The vet wants me to give him 1.4U even if he is in the 200's but I don't feel comfortable but on the other hand, how will we know what this will do? Why would it go down so low after all these 400+ pre-shot readings?

The only time that I got a 200 in the AM was back on 4/22 and I gave him a .4 and his number didn't even budge throughout the day.
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240

It could be that he is a cat who takes awhile to react to a new dose, Cindi. On 4/29 you gave one unit on a 200 and he did fine. How about trying that and monitoring a little?
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240

Oh yeah I did then but at night he usually runs higher and flatter too. The next morning he was 340. So are you saying try the 1.4 and of course monitor and see what he does?
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240

I think I'd think I'd do one unit; that dose worked well for that number before. Since you will be home and if you are feeling adventuresome, maybe 1.2?
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240

Well I went ahead and gave him 1.2 (but slightly under...I guess called a skinny). Check my reasoning but I did the 1.2U because 1) like you said he did okay with 1U last week when he was in the 200's, 2) I can be home to monitor, 3) I read in a few other threads that you need to push it sometimes in order for them to get into the "lower" greens so they know that this is an okay number to be at, 4) it has been 30 minutes since I took that number so chances are, he probably has increased a little, and 5) good time to test him with close to the amount (1.4U) that the vet prescribed. Thanks again for being there...I shouldn't be so panicked to see a lower number but should be thrilled! I was already to go into the vet's office this morning too. I guess that will have to wait.
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240

Who knows? It may be that he does need a higher dose. It is confusing because the numbers are similar for higher and lower doses. Maybe a few numbers today will help figure it out.
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240,+3/131

5/8
AMPS - 240; 1.2U
+3 - 131

Hopefully not a too big of a drop for a +3 test. I am planning to test again in an hour.
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240,+3/131,+4/109

5/8
AMPS - 240; 1.2U
+3 - 131
+4 - 109
+5 - 106
+6 - 100
 
Re: 5/8 Merlin AMPS 240,+3/131,+4/109,+5/106,+6/100

5/8
AMPS - 240; 1.2U
+3 - 131
+4 - 109
+5 - 106
+6 - 100
PMPS - 388; 1.4U

I was truly expecting a number in the 400's. With a 388 number, do you consider this a bounce? Also, if I should get a 240 again, do you think I could go ahead and shoot a 1.4U?
 

I was truly expecting a number in the 400's. With a 388 number, do you consider this a bounce? Also, if I should get a 240 again, do you think I could go ahead and shoot a 1.4U?


I'd think it's a bounce- up 288 points in last half of cycle, down 140 first half? If you will be around, 1.4 could be fine. The only thing that interests me is that you got that amps after a couple higher cycles on the same dose. Could be he does have to settle in a dose.
 
Gorgeous cycle today. :-D

I like Sue's suggestion - maybe he's one of those kitties that likes a little bit more consistency. Hopefully, he'll settle into the 1.4 on those bouncy pre-shots so you start seeing more of those lovely yellow pre-shot numbers. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top