5/8 Max PMPS182+3=52+3.8=43++5=41+5.5=50+6=46+6.5=54+7=58+8=

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
YESTERDAY'S #S
AMPS 240 +3 162 +6 77 +9 85
PMPS 98 +1 116 +2 139 +4.5 147 +9.5 145

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118368

Max woke me at 4 a.m. again wanting food. I gave him a little fancy feast and he was meowing again. I ignored him and he drank so water and started up again. I picked him up and put him on my bed and he actually stayed. He got on my chest and put his face on mine and purred loudly. He stayed for a pretty long time and then left for his low condo to go back to sleep. This hasn't happened in a long time. I hope this progress continues.

Have a fabulous day!!
 
Re: 5/8/14 Max AMPS 181

Awww...there is nothing like a purring kitty in the middle of the night. It's one of the best sounds and experiences ever! Very nice start for Max today!! And thank you for your continued help with Trix!! Have a great one, Elise!
 
Re: 5/8/14 Max AMPS 181+1.5=193

Hi Elise,
I'm so happy to hear that Max is feeling good!
And nice numbers too!

I love the face on face with purr.
That must have been such a treat. :-D
 
Re: 5/8/14 Max AMPS 181+1.5=193

Very nice start to the day! :-D It's so sweet of Max to snooze on your chest for a while. He must have heard you reminiscing in Neko's condo yesterday that you missed those behaviours. I bet he feels better with the flatter cycles too.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+1.5=193+4=107+6=82+8.5=102

hi elise! woot on these great cycles for Max!

I just read your comment in yesterday's condo about a person who said they got a cat OTJ without ever shooting under 200. My reaction to it is that some newly diagnosed cats go OTJ almost no matter what you do. they need a little insulin and a switch to lower carb food, and bingo, there they go.

but we know that for most cats, getting their BG under 120 and holding it there is the path to OTJ, especially if they're not brand new diagnosed, ie, less than a couple of months. I think you're smart to be shooting lower - and you are gaining experience in seeing that it's not plummeting Max, but it is, instead, flattening out his cycles.

the other exciting observation on his spreadsheet - i think he's holding this reduction! look at how good his numbers have stayed since you reduced to 2.0. It's been 11 shots and he's had green all except for the bounce cycles. Fingers crossed that this continues.

are you using the calipers all the time for dosing now?
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+1.5=193+4=107+6=82+8.5=102

I agree with everything you wrote, Julie. Yet it still scares me to shoot low. Hopefully the more I do it the easier it will get. I am cautiously optimistic that he will hold this reduction too. I'd feel better with a little more green but maybe this way he will hold the reduction better.


I am trying to use the calipers but frankly I haven't seen much of a difference in the syringes I have used since I got them. I think I also need better light. I hate these new lightbulbs. They aren't nearly as bright as the old ones. Maybe I need a magnifying glass and then it won't matter.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+1.5=193+4=107+6=82+8.5=110PMPS182

Sorry for my late post - the board was wonky again for me this afternoon. It's wonderful to see Max hit green today! :mrgreen:

We actually bought a magnifying lamp, which really helped us. We got it at the local office store, but it was similar to some of the ones that are listed on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/SE-MC353B-Table-Magnifier-Fluorescent/dp/B000OGU87A/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
I've actually left it out since going OTJ. It's come in quite handy for removing splinters from mulching!

Max, let's surf safely again tonight!
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+1.5=193+4=107+6=82+8.5=110PMPS182

Thanks, Shelly. I will check it out.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+1.5=193+4=107+6=82+8.5=110PMPS182

Max's SS the last few days is looking great! Nice and flat and mostly blue and green! Fingers crossed (and anti-jinx) for you two that something has "clicked." :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+4=107+6=82+8.5=110PMPS182+3=52

Thanks, Jen. I just tested him at +3 and he is at 52. I gave him some lc food but I am worried that he will drop lower. It's too early for him to be this low. I'm wondering if I should give him some higher carb food?
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+4=107+6=82+8.5=110PMPS182+3=52

Hi Tiff,

I'm not 100% sure, but it does seem to me that's a little low a little early. Hopefully the LC will keep him surfing in the greens, and if not, maybe a slightly higher carb to bump him up a bit.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+6=82 PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43

I really didn't want him to need a reduction this soon. Even with food he dropped to 43 so I just gave him some gravy lovers. I sure didn't see this coming until I did the +3 test.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+6=82 PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43

elise, now that you've got the calipers, you might be able to successfully shave this dose instead of dropping a full 0.25u.

another option is for you to go to the "go 3 times under 50" before you take the reduction. if you go with that strategy, then you need to take the full 0.25u reduction when he's done the 3 times.

since he has a history of not holding reductions and you're still having some higher numbers, i would try something other than taking the full 0.25u just for getting in the 40's.

it's up to you, of course. his spreadsheet is looking a whole lot better this week!
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+6=82 PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43

It's been 20 minutes since the last test and he was at 40. I gave him a little gravy this time. If he drops more I guess I should add karo.

Julie, I was so happy with his numbers the last two days and thought since he was not going too low he would stay here for a while. I don't think I could have prevented this if I had tested at +2 because he did eat then.

I agree that I need to try something different than a full .25 reduction. I need to think about this. If I wait for him to drop 3 times under 50, I would continue with the current dose? Another option would be to shave down the current dose by less than .25?
 
Re: 5/8/14Max AMPS 181+6=82PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40

yes - if you choose the 3 times under 50, you'd stay with his current dose. if he gets in the 30's tonight, though, you really need to take the full 0.25u reduction and hope it holds.

if you look at the protocol page it says that if a cat has trouble holding reductions, those two options are suggested. You just don't want to mix and match, ie, don't choose to have him go below 50 three times and then just shave the dose. i'm not sure which is "best" for Max - it probably depends some on your schedule and comfort zone.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40

This is a tough decision. I'll have to think about which way to go. He was still at 40 after eating a little gravy lovers 25 minutes ago. This time I gave him a teaspoon of gravy lovers with a drop of karo. I don't want him to go lower regardless of which way I decide to go. We are still between an hour and 10 minutes to two hours and 10 from his Nadir. I really thought he was not going to do go under 50 this time.

Update: +5=40 I fed him a teaspoon of gravy lovers with karo. 5.5=41
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40

Up Max UP please! :mrgreen: Often they'll nadir earlier if they are going lower. I hope Max gives you a break tonight.

The other thing to consider, if it takes a lot of work (food) to take him up and keep him up tonight, he might really want a reduction this time. Or if he gets into the 30's then the .25U reduction is really recommended as Julie says.

The other thing you are balancing is you want him to spend as much time as possible in the healing greens. And keep in mind your schedule the next few days. If you wait for the 3 times under 50 (or once under 40) rule, then often you'll see action exciting cycles after the first low.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=40

Hi Wendy. I'm a little confused. Are you saying that if I go for the 3 times under 50 that he will likely stay in green tomorrow? I'm not sure I understand what you mean about action exciting cycles. If I take the reduction he will likely go back up. He also might bounce from tonight and be high tomorrow. It seems like I shouldn't take a full .25 but at minimum shave a little off the 2.0. What would you do?
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=40

Sorry, I wasn't clear. I just mean if you don't reduce now and wait for him to go under 50 again, it likely won't won't be a long time until he does. He may still bounce but who knows.

I think you have to try to see what works best for Max. I have calipers so it's easier for me to measure a dose part way between .25U and that's what I prefer because that's what works for Neko. Some people wait for 3 times under 50 if their cat's don't take reductions well because that's what they've found works well for them.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=41+5.5=50

I think I understand. So I either go for 3 times under 50 or shave down the dose. I have calipers too but I'm not sure I am using them correctly, even after watching Marje's great video. If you shave the dose, would you do half of the .25?
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=41+5.5=50

Yes, when I shave down the dose, I do half of the .25U.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=41+5.5=50

Thank you Wendy. I'll see how the rest of the night goes and I guess decide in the morning what to do.
 
Re: 5/8/14Max PMPS182+3=52+3.75=43+4=40+4.5=40+5=41+5.5=50+6

Well, he didn't have a early Nadir. He dropped under 50 again. I am leaning toward shaving the dose this time. If that doesn't work then next time I might try the three times under 50. I am having to work too hard to get him back up. I just gave him a little more gravy lovers this time without karo again. He is getting tired of the ear pricks and started to go under the bed but I caught before he succeeded.

Update: +6.5=54 fed more gravy lovers as I also did at +6 +7=58 and fed more gravy lovers

+8=70. I think I can sleep now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top