5/8 Max AMPS-113- should I shoot?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

tremblant

Member Since 2013
Hi Everybody,

Max was 103 last night at 10:30 p.m. (lowest number documented yet), and now this a.m. 113 preshot. Very low for him. He ate breakfast but I wonder if I should give him insulin???????? Luckily I am around today and can monitor him closely. So, second question- should I test him every 2-3 hours then? Have not had this happen yet. Chart attached...

Thanks for your advice!
Mary, Wade and Max
 
First, please remove the candle from your subject line. The candles and the rainbow indicate a cat has died (crossed the Bridge). I nearly had a panic attack when I saw the candle!

You have 4 choices:
  • Stall. Do not feed. Re-test in 20 min. to see if numbers are flat or rising.
  • Skip. This will have the biggest impact on the depot.
  • Shoot a reduced dose. This has an impact on the depot and there's no guarantee you'll see the effects this cycle.
  • Shoot
I'm not a big fan of stalling or skipping. Since you're going to be home, I'd give serious thought to shooting providing you have a good supply of strips and HC food should you need it.
 
If you look at your initial post, above the text box is an "Edit" button. Click on the button. Then, in the line where the candle is, click on the "None" radio button. Then click on the "Submit" button below the text box. It's the same way that you'd edit your subject line.
 
I have a call into my husband so we can decide what to do but he's underground so I gotta wait tiny bit. BTW what do you mean by HC food. Either I am shaking too much for my brain to work or I need coffee.
 
HC would be High Carb food - the stuff that will bring their numbers up if they start to drop really low.

How is Max getting on?
 
Correct -- HC = high carb (LC = low carb). Any food that has "gravy" is typically higher in carbs than pate style. If you don't have HC on hand, adding a few drops of corn syrup (Karo), honey, maple syrup, etc. to a teaspoon or two of LC will also work.
 
Hi Everybody,

Ok, thanks for HC and LC clarification. Serious newbie here.
Max is 158 now. First reading at 8ish was 113. He has had food. Sienne and Gabby suggested 4 methods. I think we want to give him regular dose now and test him all day. Is it too late to give him his full dose an hour later than usual?

Thanks! Mary (on behalf of Wade and Max)
 
You can shoot an hour late with his full dose -- no problem. However, Max's PM shot will be due 12 hours from whenever you shoot.

You can start to work the time back to your preferred shot time either by shooting 15 min. early at every shot time or by 30 min. once a day until you are back on schedule.
 
That looks more like a food spike with that 158. It takes 2 hours for the insulin to start working. May I suggest getting a +2 test to see what his # is. You don't want him diving. You want a surf from him (or try to get him to surf, that is). Unfortunately, I won't be around to post any further. I hope that someone will come by to continue to help you. You're doing a wonderful job, and just remember, we all started where you are. :-D Welcome! :-D
 
You guys are wonderful, I can't thank you enough for the support. I am going to read that section now. Thanks!
 
Hi guys .. wow, great start to the day! I know it's nervous shooting these first few "low" numbers but you have lots of helping hands here so no worries .. we won't steer you wrong!! have a great day guys!
 
Hi again!

I decided to be more conservative this time and shoot lower, then test often (maybe learn from the numbers for the future- also I was too scared to shoot full dose). I got these readings (also see chart attached): AMPS 113, +1 154, +2 273. I shot a half dose insulin at +2 which was .75 units Lantus. I will keep testing him often but now I want to double check with advice regarding tonight. He normally gets PM 1.75 dose around 8:30 p.m. Should I give him his reg dose (if his numbers aren't too low again) at 8:30 or wait til 10:30 p.m.? I ask since I only gave him half a dose this a.m.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top