5/8 Luci AMPS 244,2+ 188,6+235, PMPS 206 3 days until 4-day road trip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Luci's numbers are a bit on the high side - and that PMPS was not very nice at all - but I'm afraid to mess with her dose right now as I just want her as stable as possible for four days on the road. I have her kit packed with all levels of food (HC, MC, LC) - it's just that the testing will be limited...if she'll float along like she has been for the past couple of days - no diving Luci - we'll be okay.

Once we're back in Michigan I'll ask for dosecrease advice - I have a feeling her depot is becoming depleted as she's not going anywhere near the lagoon lately. I do wish she's spend a little more time at the beach...she's got the 'P's covered though and seems happy and content - loves spending her time relaxing on the lanai - she'd better enjoy it as that's the last of that for about 6 months - and then we get to do it all again - only in reverse - maybe she'll be in remission by then? Fingers and paws crossed for that!!
 
I wonder if you missed a green yesterday during the AM cycle, thus the big jump up to pinks last night. Two days before you leave and if you are concerned about her dropping too much on you, tomorrow AM cycle would be a good time to reduce to drain the depot.

Some questions to ask yourself: Will traveling in the car be stressful for her and increase her BG's or is she likely to be a cool cucumber?
 
if you are concerned about her dropping too much on you, tomorrow AM cycle would be a good time to reduce to drain the depot.
Oh my...so you think I should reduce her dosage? I was just getting ready for an increase when she pulled that 59 out of the air on Saturday 5/5. DH said we had too many errands to run to stay home - so I held off on increase...and after further discussion it seemed generally thought to leave dose 'as is' until we get back to Michigan - and at that time start adjusting again - when I can be home to monitor her closely and test frequently (she loves to dive deep soon after getting a dosecrease) Just discussing all this dosecrease is liable to send her into a dive...:eek:

I thought her numbers were too high as it is??? So I was going to leave well enough alone...no? I'm more worried that she's going to be too high for all this time - this week and then for that next four days on the road - poor little girl :( Few tests - all high - can't be good for remission.

Will traveling in the car be stressful for her and increase her BG's or is she likely to be a cool cucumber?
That girl chillaxes big time in the car - as long as she's in her carrier she's relaxed and happy. She sleeps, sometimes with her head turned upside down so she looks at me thru the grill in the upside down format - what must she be thinking? :cool: She seems a little anxious at first - most likely because the same carrier was used to take her to the vet in January - but since then we've taken her along on two road trips to sis-in-laws so maybe the memory of the vet will have faded and she'll only remember going to the sis-in-laws (where she was quite secure and safe in the guest room)...fat chance right?

I got a set of calipers today - and OMG! I can already see the difference in the lines on the syringes! I looked at the one I used this morning and another one that I was going to use tonight - same brand, same size from the same box - and the amount of insulin I'd give would have been smaller than the a.m. dose! Just by a fraction - but there it was! I could see that the dosage would be smaller tonight - so tonight I'll be using those calipers to at least give the same dose tonight as I gave this morning; DH has set them up to match the a.m. dose exactly - 1.5 u. - or at least I'll be trying to get the doses to be the same every time using the calipers.:kiss:
 
Oh my...so you think I should reduce her dosage?
No, not necessarily. I wasn't sure if you were more comfortable with leaving her dose as is or if you felt you should decrease her. I probably would leave her where she is if she were my kitty. Between now and the day you leave, that could change because she are dealing with Luci LOL The Quick Change Artist.

Glad you got the calipers and see how exact they are. It is crazy the difference in markings on the syringes.
 
Ask yourself the question, how low are you comfortable with her going while in the car? She got to 59 on this dose. What if she got to 55 in the car, close enough to 59. Does she eat in the car if you needed to carb her up? If that's out of your comfort zone, then lower the dose for the trip. I would start lowering at least three cycles before you leave, to drain the depot.
 
Between now and the day you leave, that could change because she are dealing with Luci LOL The Quick Change Artist.
You're getting to know Luci all too well! I'm sure learning a little more about her patterns - anytime I change the doseage or even discuss it for that matter she seems to respond - I'm hoping she can't read my mind because I'm not saying the words out loud :D only typing!

I'm going to leave the dosage as is - keep an eye on her between now and then and watch her in the car to make sure she seems like her usual self (sleepy) and sometimes upside down in her carrier :D I've been debating giving her MC foods in the a.m. just to make sure she's not doing any diving - so far so good - but I understand about traveling...but she's made this trip a few times previously and seems to handle it all like a champ. The first time she traveled to Florida she was on a plane - and never made a peep! I was so impressed by her calm demeanor! I was more freaked out than she was - I had her in a 'thunder wrap' because I had to remove her from the carrier at the airport for Security to pat her down - and I was terrified that she was going to try to slip away (although she was wearing her leash and body-collar at the time)...I asked for a private room with the agents so if she slipped out of my arms or started to claw her way to freedom at least we'd all be in a confined space. As it turned out I over-reacted (is that starting to sound familiar). I took her out of the carrier and she was a perfect lady. Strange man patted her down and gave her the green light (no bombs, no drugs)...and sent us on our way. She was a perfect lady the entire trip!

And has always traveled just as well in the car - DH and I are both impressed that she's so calm and quiet! Me, I'm a train-wreck by the time I get in the car - nervous and freaked about having forgotten something or missing getting to our reservations (hotels) on time - have lots of numbers, directions, you name it! Good thing DH is relaxed - I carry all the anxiety in this family! :arghh:
 
What if she got to 55 in the car, close enough to 59. Does she eat in the car if you needed to carb her up?
I see...the problem is that I wouldn't know it if she got to 59 or 55 - as I've mentioned previously there will be no removing her from the carrier while we're moving - and not at any rest stops or gas stations for fear that she will try to slip away. If the concern is at this point, she's still likely to drop low; then I'd better start reducing tomorrow PM?

In response to your question of if she'll eat in the car - yes, she will eat those kitty crack treats if offered through the carrier door. So with that in mind, should I reduce her insulin AND offer those kitty crack treats - to make SURE she isn't going too low?
 
I always kept all the windows completely up and did not open any car doors, and would take J.D. out of his carrier and rest him on my lap and test him. I did have to HC him once when setting off on a 6 hour car trip. Luckily he eats fine in the car. I also have my cats micro-chipped, and keep them in their collars with ID and my cell phone number and keep them in a very snug fitting harness (2 fingers can barely fit between the harness and the cat) at all times with leash handy if not attached to the harness.
 
I always kept all the windows completely up and did not open any car doors, and would take J.D. out of his carrier and rest him on my lap and test him. I did have to HC him once when setting off on a 6 hour car trip. Luckily he eats fine in the car. I also have my cats micro-chipped, and keep them in their collars with ID and my cell phone number and keep them in a very snug fitting harness (2 fingers can barely fit between the harness and the cat) at all times with leash handy if not attached to the harness.
First day on the road - about 9 hours.
Second day on the road - about 7 hours.
Third day on the road - about 8 hours.
Fourth day on the road - about 7 hours.

I'm not comfortable with the idea of taking her out of her carrier - but I can certainly give it a try when we stop for lunch - if I first let DH out of the car - and we sit quietly while I get her out and test her - then return her to the carrier - just to get a reading of how she's doing. She will eat treats but in the past hasn't seemed very interested in eating her real food or drinking water either...not sure what that's all about. Luci will have her collar on for the entire trip - but I don't usually keep her in her harness while she's inside of her carrier.
 
I too did up all the windows and let Neko out of the carrier to test. She went back in the carrier if we were going to open a door or window. Used air con instead. Our trips were 9-10 hours for 3 days.

I do think it'd be safer to reduce for the trip, especially if mid cycle testing is in doubt. She'll get back on track fast enough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top