5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +3 158, +4 117, +5 106, +5.5 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Goooooooooood Morning,

Well this momma bean went back to bed after Leo's shot this morning, it was a late night. My sis is visiting and we went to the casino for our yearly visit and I won some cash! Woohoo! If Leo could wear shoes, i'd probably have bought him some! So we came home and someone was up sitting at the door waiting patiently to be testing, he was high of course 360, even after threathening him with a dosecrease all day.

So this morning its almost like Leo knew i was tired, he didn't try to wake me up and when the alarm went off he was again waiting patiently by his dish.....very hungry i might add and took his shot like a little champ with no grumbles! And back to bed we went for a few more hours of shut eye. I did increase his dose by .25 units, i know i probably should have waited until his bounces cleared, if that's what happened last night or the last few days, i'm not completely sure.

Anyhoo have a great day all!
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +3 330

Happy Mother's Day, Tracy. I'm sure Leo would love to make you breakfast, though I'm sure you wouldn't want one of his mouses he finds so appetizing!! :lol:

I went back to bed too!!! Felt good. Now I'm trying to decide if I really want to get showered and dressed to go to church or if I want to skip and be lazy this morning!!! I know which will probably win cuz I'm a naturally lazy person. :-D

I hope you have a great day with your family today.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +3 330

It looks to me like he probably could have used more insulin but you did increase on a bounce so please watch him closely....it might really kick in tonight. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see I also increased on a bounce on the morning of 5/5 and she started clearing it that cycle so we had a busy pm cycle....but we were expecting it.

Have a superb and wonderful day and enjoy your sis's visit!
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +3 330, +4 256

Thanks for the heads up Marje, i'll keep a close eye on him today and tonight. Usually at night he goes a lil higher than he does during the day. And thanks for the Mothers Day greeting, i've never gotten one before! :lol:
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +10 151 Do i shoot if he's this low?

So i thought i would take a +10 just to see where Leo's at, and i got 151. If he's this low in 2 hours do i shoot the full dose? I've never shot him this low before. Great number to see tho!
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +10 151 Do i shoot if he's this low?

Are you going to be around to monitor him and how comfortable are you shooting a number like this or lower? This is a dropping number and you REALLY have to stay on it. Do you have HC food/karo there and can you monitor closely? Can you post a +11 to see if he's coming up? The thing that I see most is you have no data on how he reacts on dropping numbers but it does appear that he onsets around +2 which is good. Here is the info on low preshots:

Dealing with Low Preshots

Does Leo eat dry food? If this were me, the first time low like this, I would:
1. get a +11 and post it--he might come up (although it looks like he is clearing a bounce)
2. if it's still dropping, stall a bit and see if he comes up...DO NOT FEED (we only feed the 40s or lower)
3. decide then whether to shoot the full dose or a BCS

When is your +11?

eta: looks like Libby and I cross posted and gave you the same info..
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS 355, +10 151 Do i shoot if he's this low?

+11 will be in 20 minutes, i was planning on testing him to see where this number is going. Right now we are at my parents house for Mothers day dinner with the fam and we'll be leaving to go home in a few hours, so....my roundabout way of saying i will be with him all night. I do have some high carb FF and honey and corn syrup. Leo does not eat dry food, we stopped the day he was dx. I'll post his +11 and please let me know what you would do.

Thanks Libby and Marje
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS+10 151, +11 169 Do i shoot if he's this lo

Ok Leo's at 169 for +11. He's coming up. I do want to see him in greens eventually and if it's going to be tonight than so be it, i'm prepared for it. I don't think i would feel comfortable letting him go down to 30-40 tho. Even at 60 i would be leery of it.

I guess i always have the wonderful Lantus Land friends i have made to watch out for us ;)

Will post his PM BG in an hour and see what happens.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS+10 151, +11 169 Do i shoot if he's this lo

Cool....he's coming up!!! If you think you are ready to shoot a number between 169 and 200 (if he stays there) and you will be there to get a +1, +2, etc. AND you are comfortable with it, you could consider shooting on time, regular dose. He might keep coming up after his shot or he might let his dose onset and come back down on you so you just need to be able to monitor closely. What do you think???

eta: we cross posted. Why don't you post a +11.75 or so? If you want to shoot below 200, I'll be around tonight and can help out.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo +10 151, +11 169 Do i shoot if he's this low?

Well thanks Marje, i think i'll hold off to test him at PMPS, i have a feeling i'll be testing alot tonight......so i won't test 11.75 just to save those little ears!

Let you know how we do at PMPS!

And for surely i'll be testing every hour on the hour tonight!!! I'm so excited he's finally coming down! And thanks for the offer to watch out for us Marje, it means alot to me ;-)
 
Re: 5/8 Leo AMPS+10 151, +11 169 Do i shoot if he's this lo

Tracy: I didn't mean to test at +11.75 AND +12 (PMPS). Only one....as long as you test, feed, shoot within 15 mins, you are fine. The +11.75 is just 15 mintues before your PMPS and it just gives you time to check in here especially if he is lower. Ann does this and so do I if I think Gracie may be falling and I want a little cushion if I have to stall few minutes to see if she's coming up or if I need to post and ask questions. Sorry I wasn't clear.

Also very glad he's coming down...great news!!! I bet he's going to give you a perfect PMPS. I'll check back in a few.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175

Ok he's at 175 and i was kinda leery to shoot him with 2.25 so i just shot a very fat 2.00 U. I'll watch him closely and test and keep you posted!!!

He was very very hungry and is still stuffing his kitty face at the moment.

Fingers and paws crossed all goes well tonight!!!
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175

Great 'hootin' Tracy!!! Nice that he didn't go up too much between +11 and PMPS. Prolly want to do a +1 if he's easy to poke so you can collect some data on what he does .....great job.

eta: forgot to tell you that alot of times, you won't see the effect of shooting a lower dose in this cycle....he will probably do what he was going to do at his regular dose so that's the other reason I say to watch him until you can see if he'll come back down or if he's going to go up.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175

I'm freakin at the moment!! Thinking to myself......what the hell did i just do?!?! LOL Knowing Leo he will probably bounce in a few hours. You know a few months from now i probably won't flinch at shooting a 175, i probably won't flinch shooting a 100. But there is a first time for everything i suppose.

We have an hour drive ahead of us tonight to get back to Saskatoon, so i'll try to time it to test, drive home really fast and test again. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175

:lol: :lol: I remember as a newbie, I was in AWE when people shot 150 and I thought "I'll NEVER be able to do that". You will. And you'll eventually shoot much lower. The first time I shot a 54 I was thinking "OMG!!! I hope I didn't just do something I can't deal with". But you learn how to deal with it LONG before you shoot it and you learn your cat LONG before you shoot a number that low. Still...it can be a little scary!! Have a safe drive.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226

Bummer on the +1 but it could be a food spike!!! He could come back down....paws crossed!
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226, +3 158

Annnnnnnd we're back down again!

Someone is just as happy as could be right now.....and its not me! (well ok i'm pretty happy too) Purring and acting silly, he must be happy to be home again.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226, +3 158, +4 117

Tracy...how you doing with this? If you are ok, I was thinking of going to bed but if you are worried he might come down and you won't know what to do, I'll take a quick nap and stay up with you. I'm cool with that...not working tomorrow. He's looking great.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226, +3 158, +4 117

Awwwwww thanks Marje, but i'm feeling pretty good about this now. I've got all the supplies if he goes low, so i think we'll be ok. I'm thinking he will probably go down to 50 or 60 by the time +6 rolls around, if Leo does go that low i'm thinking i will probably feed some HC then, just to be sure and so i can get some sleep!

Have a good sleep and thanks so much for staying up this late with me! It's much appreciated! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226, +3 158, +4 117

If you get into any situation which makes you uncomfortable, just post. I'll have my husband check on the half hour (I think that's when you test) and he can either help you (he's REALLY good at dealing with low numbers) or he'll come and get me up. Like I said, I don't have to work tomorrow. Keep in mind that if he goes down and you give him HC, he could go up and then come back down again unless you know for sure he won't. Gracie does this and so when she is down at night, I have to sleep, test, sleep, test sometimes all night....she's been known to go back down on me at +9 or +10....little stinka!

Anyway, have a great night and get some rest but please do not hesitate to ask for help. I'm thinking Mike will be up at least another hour but longer if Gracie comes down.
 
Re: 5/8 Leo PMPS 175, +1 226, +3 158, +4 117, +5 106

All is good Marje and hubby!!

Leo always seems to increase after his +5 so i'm thinking this is as low as he's gonna go for tonight.....it was a great day for us!

Thanks for keeping an eye on us, i appreciate it.

PS Ok just tested his 5.5 and he's started to come up already, i left out a can of 13% FF for overnight so he can nibble and i won't have to worry about him and get some much needed zzzzz's
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top