5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4, 101 @ +5, PMPS 445 Bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Looks like we surfed the 300s all night (at least till I fell asleep).

Her appetite was great this morning. This is unusual for her. I mean, she wasn't ravenous or anything, but she did eat most of a can of FF Turkey and Giblets without me trying to spoon any in her (and she loves to be spoon fed). Last night she ate dinner and then ate her normal nightly snack of 2 Tbsp shredded turkey (or chicken) - but instead of nibbling on the turkey over the course of 6+ hours, she ate it all within a couple hours and asked for more. Which she got, of course.

In fact, the way she's acting, you would think her numbers were lower - she's feisty and seems pretty happy (happy for Kasha, that is - which means she could shred your hand down to the bone on a whim - LOL). Hmmm...

She did have this weird neck/head tremor/spasm thing today - she's had this once before, just before my trip. I flipped out and called one of the vet techs and she asked some questions - she in particular wanted to know if the spasm or whatever bothered Kasha. I said that Kasha never stopped eating and the vet tech/nurse told me that was probably a good sign. So - it's only happened twice that I know of, lasted maybe 10 or 15 seconds and both times I've been feeding her from a bowl while she lounged in one of her beds (same bed both times). I kind of wonder if it could have anything to do with her head and neck being in a strange position while she tries to eat without getting up (she thinks she's the Queen of Sheba or something - I'm going to have to get palm leaves and fan her with them when the weather gets warm at this point). At least, that would be the kind of answer that wouldn't worry me more. I does remind me of the jaw/neck spasms I get at the dentist sometimes.

Yesterday
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391

Happy caturday :mrgreen:

Although her numbers are high, there more stable and that will make her happier. Kitty's with bg's high and low can often feel quite crabby (think of your sugar rush after a bar of chocolate and then lethargy later)

If after 3 days (6 cycles) the .5f isn't moving her numbers much, look at an increase to a .75u.
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4

Are you questioning my decision, Sienne?! ;) Do you just want to call me a wimp?

Actually, Jill mentioned yesterday when I asked for advice that she would probably go up to .75 but in the past that dose really made Kasha tank. And if you recall, I later realized that she wasn't even getting .75 at the time - it was more of a fat .5, so that made me a little nervous. Also, her numbers dropped into the 300s over the last day or so - if she had still been in the 400s, going up a full .25 wouldn't have phased me too much, but since she was in the 300s, I was thinking that maybe she was still kind of settling in to me being home and everything going back to normal. And perhaps I'm overly cautious, but I've just got so much going on that I didn't want to have to hover over her all weekend.

(As I'm typing this, Blue, my kitty with the foot tumor, just practically went into convulsions while dreaming on the couch and I woke him up and he just gave me this look like "why'd you have to wake me up?" . Now he's awake and pawing at me to pet him constantly (a little trick my BF thought was cute to encourage). Now - I realize if KASHA had been sleeping and started to jerk around and twitch like Blue just did, I would be flipping out. But this is Blue, he just does stuff like that).

Monday we find out if there are any options for Blue's foot. I'm trying not to think about it.
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4

More my memory and I didn't think to go back to yesterday's condo, although now that you mention it, I do remember the exchange between you and Jill.

You need to changes doses so you are comfortable with what you're shooting. The balance I strike with Gabby is similar since her numbers can plummet. What I try to look out for, though, is that Gabby isn't getting too comfortable in higher ranges because if that's the case, you don't want a cat to build up insulin resistance. (This is why we get such bouncing because the liver becomes acclimated to the higher numbers and once you break through the resistance, things get bouncy.) Kasha may be one of those kitties who needs increases in micro doses and that's OK. Just be attentive and aware and don't let her get too comfortable. Those 300s are still above renal threshold -- and those blues are looking very pretty!!

I hope all goes well at the vet on Monday.
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4

Yeah - I just had this feeling that she might already be heading slowly lower and didn't want to give too much and start her bouncing all over again. Some days it looks like her "curve" is more a "V". Kinda waiting to see what the next few hours or days show.

I also realize that in the past right at the time I start thinking she needs a dose increase, her current dose has sometimes kicked in and improved her numbers. Don't want to jump the gun too much, but I really want her out of the 400s - and 300s... and then the 200s... lol...
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4

101 at +5... Gave some FF for a snack, cuz she's dropped quite a bit today. Even though she's been snacking on turkey all morning.

So far, so good.
 
Re: 5/8 Kasha AMPS 391 , 163 @ +4, 101 @ +5

Maybe the Queen of Sheba shouldn't eat in bed from now on. I know, I know..it's SUCH a bother to have to get UP...but seriously...it might not be the best position... :lol: Let me know where you find your palm leaves... I will need a few here too for my Royal pair. :lol: Numbers are heading in the right direction! yay!!
 
Looks like we're having a little bounce. If my car bounced as much as we have lately, I would take it in for a checkup...

Ok - went to pet food store to stock up on FF and Wellness for kitties, went to Trader Joe's to pick up turkey and chicken for Kasha (some to freeze and some to use this week), fed the cats, checked Kasha's BG, gave Kasha her shot, gave Big Cat his prednisone, checked to make sure Blue wasn't tearing at his bandage again, put bitter apple on the bandage, gave Kasha her turkey, cut up and shredded 2 days worth of turkey for Kasha and stored it in the fridge... Hmmm... what am I forgetting. I feel like I'm forgetting something. Hmm... Fed the cats... Wait - I know! I forgot to feed myself! That's right! Ok - guess there's some day-old pizza in the fridge...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top